We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“City center standard” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ngoc Linh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ranked #71 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Stony plain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“City center standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

This was a very nice hotel. Very clean rooms, lovely breakfast just like most. 2 drawbacks I found during my stay were that there was no safe in my room (to keep extra cash and valuables). Also there is no elevator, not that this is a dealbreaker, it just makes going up and down 5 flights of stairs a chore.

Room Tip: Lower, because of the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robynepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    127
    40
    5
    3
See reviews for
28
128
60
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

We only stayed for three days and two nights in ho chi min (wished we could've stayed longer). Its quite tricky to find the hotel at first. It is actually located in an alley in pham ngu lao street. The taxi dropped us off in the area and kept on pointing at the entrance to the alley. Good thing the building numbers were visible, so you just have to look up and check the signage to get to the alley. A nice thing about their location is that its not directly on the main road so you're spared from all the noise coming from the street.
Upon check in, the staff was very accommodating. The room was very clean and very well maintained - hot and cold shower, a/c, cable tv, free wifi, mini ref, personal safe, and very comfortable bed. We had no problem with our room.
Both male receptionists were very friendly and attentive to our needs. They assisted us in our tours and airport transfers - hassle-free. Even went out of their way to remind me to sling my bag and check my stuff before leaving :)

Highly recommended! And, we will definitely come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tet_rev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 4 nights. It was by far the best place we had stayed in Vietnam. Very friendly, helpful staff who are always at front desk and very professional. Lovely clean rooms. Brillliant location quite central but located down an alleyway so easy to get a good nights sleep away from all the noise. Really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, this place is great! Very clean, well equipped, perfect location, and friendly staff.

We booked online, and having read other travellers reviews, saw that they offered airport collections. I emailed them to enquire about the collection service, and had a reply within a couple of hours. They quoted $15 which I thought was a bit steep so opted against this in favour of hailing a cab at the airport, but the airport prices were very similar, we only managed to get a cab for $10 doing some serious negotiating (and we only has $10 on us as the ATM in the airport wasn't working). On reflection, I would have used Ngoc Linh's collection service for ease of use!

We arrived at Ngoc Linh at about 10pm. The hotel is down an alley, but it's a very busy alley with lots of other hotels, and our taxi driver had no problem finding it when we gave the full address.

The man at reception met us very warmly and led us up to our room on the 4th floor. He offered to take our bags as it was a bit of a hike, but it really isn't that hard work to carry a bag up a few steps!

The room was excellent. A really good size with ensuite bathroom with toiletries provided and a shower with hot and cold water. The rooms have air-con and cable TV as standard. The bed was super comfortable and we got a great nights sleep, if we hadn't been in such an exciting city, we could have slept all day!

In the morning they offer breakfast inclusive of the price. They give you a number of options which all come with a freshly baked mini baguette and REAL butter (none of that horrible margarine that's so prevalent around Asia). I had the omelette both mornings and it was delicious, make with onion and tomato as standard.

The day we were leaving we were getting the overnight bus at 9pm and the hotel were happy for us to leave our bags in reception all day and even use the staff toilet to brush our teeth before we left.

100% recommend this place!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lili S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

Having booked 2 nights here, we were impressed with the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff- especially Tom, who went out of his way to help us.
The room was what we needed and came with toiletries in the bathroom and towels. Breakfast was lovely- served on the rooftop by the friendliest lady.
We booked an extra night on our return to Saigon and once again the staff were very helpful in organising airport transport and giving us advice and tips. Would wholeheartedly recommend a stay here!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kt882014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chigwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staf f ere friendly here and the room was clean and big. It is in a good location, not located on the main street that has a lot of restaurants on but only a couple of minutes walk away. This makes it quiet enough for a good nights' sleep. There is not lift in this hotel but the staff will help with your bags if needed. Breakfast was good too. Taxi drivers seem to get confused about the location of this hotel as it is down an alleyway. When you walk down this alleyway, make sure you look at the hotel names properly as some of them are named very similarly!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KO O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Hotel inside an alley along the backpackers street which is not noisy at night is a plus. Stayed at level 4 though we have no issue of climbing up and down, good for exercise. Room is reasonably sized and cleaned every day, paid around S$30/night for twin room. Staffs are very friendly, 5 choices of simple breakfast but good enough to start the day. Recommended for budget travelers.

Room Tip: 5 levels of rooms hence choose lower level if do not want to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AhNix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#30 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#75 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#104 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#73 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Linh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Linh Hotel

Property: Ngoc Linh Hotel
Address: 283 / 21 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ngoc Linh Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOC LINH HOTEL is a new modern building with beautiful architecture, situated conveniently in the heart of Saigon, you are just minutes away from City Centre and just minutes away about anywhere in the City. With the staff is friendly and the rooms have basic amenities like air-conditioning and cable TV, Wifi Internet, mini fridge and private bathroom with cold/ hot water. Our room rate includes a public computer and breakfast each day. NGOC LINH HOTEL is a good choice if between trips to the Mekong Delta and onward travel to the north, as you can make your travel plans easily through the tour operators just outside on De Tham.NGOC LINH HOTEL is an alternative to a guest house or bed and breakfast. Our hotel is family owned and operated as a mini hotel. NGOC LINH HOTEL has many kind of room consisting of Single, Double, Twin and Triple rooms. At NGOCLINH hotel, our warm hospicality and friendly reception will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Ngoc Linh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing