We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simplicity & service at their best!”
Review of Ngoc Linh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ranked #74 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Ngoc Linh was a fantastic hotel for what you pay for. Very clean and comfortable rooms, breakfast included for a steal, and above all the staff are amazing.

I thought they were good but on the last morning I slept through an alarm and almost missed a bus back to Cambodia, the staff held the bus, had breakfast packed for me and everything already sorted. On top of generally helpful and outstanding service this was really above and beyond.

Only downsides are that the rooms are not that large, and don't have outside windows, but for what you pay for this doesn't affect my rating.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
7  Thank Tate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
There are newer reviews for Ngoc Linh Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

226 - 232 of 361 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and i stayed there for 3 nights. The front desk staff person was very friendly and carried our bags to our room up on the 4th floor. The room was clean, quiet and simple. The breakfast was very basic but still nice and the lady downstairs who made it was very friendly. It is in a quiet lane so while it is close to the backpackers area it is still quiet. The bus leaves from just around the corner so you dont have to walk too far to catch the bus to your next destination. I would stay there again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Craig B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were reasonably happy with the hotel, it wasn't the best we've stayed in and not the worst either. The bed was not comfortable and the breakfast was terrible. We did like the reception staff who were very friendly and helpful and the location was in a good spot in that area. I don't think we would go back to them area in general really

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheppards28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

After being quite tired of the overwhelming attention and a lot of waste of energy and resources at our previous four star hotel, this simple gem - while austere by comparison - ironically showed us everything we appreciate about a hotel: genuinely helpful but unobtrusive staff, impeccable cleanliness, and even charm. The two guys working the desk speak really good English (refreshing after our battling to get a cup of tea in a $75/night hotel - not because they did not have it, but because of the language obstacles), and are genuinely funny and fun to talk to. They are also SUPER HELPFUL IN AVOIDING SCAMS - something we found lacking in other hotels who seemed to constantly try to sell us something or other at at least 25% more than it was worth even in tourist $$$.

The breakfast is simple, but all we needed, and served in a family-style room.

Did I mention it was impeccably clean?
Oh, and QUIET. Much quieter than that other hotel, and the hotel in Seam Reap we are staying in now.

IMPORTANT NOTE FOR THE MATURE TRAVELLER: "the heart of the backpackers' area" is to be taken seriously. While this works in Hanoi, where the most touristy area is interspersed with the old town, the area immediately surrounding the hotel is very busy with nothing but countless tour agencies, cheating cabs, mediocre overpriced food, backpacks, and, sadly, our first open sight of prostitution in Vietnam. Albeit quite discreet by comparison to, say, Bangkok, we unfortunately arrived the night before Halloween and were overwhelmed not only with the crowds, but also by - what else to call them - dirty old men, squeezing young girls in dark corners of bars. Having said that, on a normal Saturday night, even these streets were easy to walk through and avoid this chaos. MOST IMPORTANTLY, the hotel itself is in a very quiet and safe little alley, so you can squeeze in and out of touristico areas within minutes, and be very close to all good sights.

In other notes: use eatingsaigon.com to find your food.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ivana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Ngoic Linh Hotel has not only the best location throughout Saigon, it has also the friendliest, nicest and most helpful staff I have ever met. My friends and I arrived really early in the morning (around 8) and we could immediately go to our room (which was fantastic after 20 hours on a train and the best - we haven't had to pay an extra night) PLUS we got free breakfast. They offered also help on organizing trips to Mekong Delta etc. I would definitely recommend it to other people. The room was very clean and modern, although it was a little bit small. Anyway, we enjoyed our stay there very much!

Room Tip: the triple room was really good!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Fabienne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Only really used the place for sleeping which was perfect, 4th floor with no elevator but managed fine. Staff were absolutely awesome. Booked bus tickets and gave helpful local info. Close to lots of bars and food joints.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank Ethan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The staff are really friendly and helpful (helped us with getting around, finding buses, restaurants recommendations etc.), rooms are not big (but not small for HCMC) with fan and air condition and the location is great. Breakfast is nice, the rooms are clean and i think that for this (cheap) price i got much more than i expected.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mtz4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,194 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#86 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
836 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#82 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
115 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#46 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Linh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Linh Hotel

Address: 283 / 21 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $19 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ngoc Linh Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOC LINH HOTEL is a new modern building with beautiful architecture, situated conveniently in the heart of Saigon, you are just minutes away from City Centre and just minutes away about anywhere in the City. With the staff is friendly and the rooms have basic amenities like air-conditioning and cable TV, Wifi Internet, mini fridge and private bathroom with cold/ hot water. Our room rate includes a public computer and breakfast each day. NGOC LINH HOTEL is a good choice if between trips to the Mekong Delta and onward travel to the north, as you can make your travel plans easily through the tour operators just outside on De Tham.NGOC LINH HOTEL is an alternative to a guest house or bed and breakfast. Our hotel is family owned and operated as a mini hotel. NGOC LINH HOTEL has many kind of room consisting of Single, Double, Twin and Triple rooms. At NGOCLINH hotel, our warm hospicality and friendly reception will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Linh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing