We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location In pham ngu lao”
Review of Ngoc Linh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ranked #76 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is clean and nice. Helpful and kind receptionist. The hotel is in a narrow road that grants silence during the night, but inside the amusement of pham ngu lao.ask for low floor if You have any problem with stairs. Recommended

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassimoOttone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (364)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 364 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

I simply cannot believe this hotel is supposedly ranked in the top 20 hotels in Ho Chi Min City!

Apart from the cold and indifferent staff attitude, the small rooms, the noisy construction during the day and the drunk guests slamming doors all night, the clincher was when we simply tried to request a taxi for the early morning trip to the train station.

The hotel refused to book this for us, as they wanted us to use their driver service for double the cost. Never in any of my stays around the worldhave i encountered such a ridiculous attitude.

In conclusion, for us our stay at this hotel has been utterly regrettable.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Viki273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

That hotel is recommended for who want to find a clean room and helpful reception when u need something :)
The price for double bed was 18 usd and good 4 what u get! So take it without spend your time in pham ngu lao...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lior B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We got to stay at the Ngoc Linh for 3 nights because the hotel we had originally made the reservation at was fully booked when we arrived. At least they immediately organised for us to stay here.

The location is very good. It's just off one of the main streets in a nice and relatively quiet side alley. At night it gets closed by a gate. The city centre, the bus station and the main city attractions are easily reached on foot from here. There are many eateries and restaurants nearby.

There are 5 floors and no lift, so if you can't or don't want to take many stairs you should make sure you get a room on one of the lower floors. Our room's windows gave way directly onto a wall. We didn't mind as we didn't spend much waking time in
the room anyway.The size is absolutely ok. There isn't much room to shelve or hang your things though if you are travelling with lots of clothes (which we weren't). Bathroom was decent, too. Hot water at all times, with sufficient presure for a nice shower. Everything was very clean. We had aircon as well as a ventilator but they make some noise, of course. I came prepared with good earplugs. It seems there a very few quiet aircons in Vietnam (or quiet things in general) and this was by no means the loudest A/C we had (that was in a 5star). Like in many places, they turn off electricity while you are out. This simply makes sense and the aircon was strong enough to cool the room down quickly once it was turned on again.
There's a fridge with a mini-bar in the room and also a big one with a good choice of beverages in the lobby. We found prices to be very reasonable. Free wifi is available in the rooms and it worked fine. Two computers in the lobby for guests if you need one.

The staff is very friendly and helpful and all those we got to talk to spoke pretty good English.The price for getting laundry done is very reasonable and the clothes actually did get really clean. That wasn't always the case. If you want your things ironed you must say so explicitly. Otherwise it's just washed.

Beakfast was included with fresh omelette, juice and baguette. Again, very much ok for the price.

On our way back we spent another day in Saigon and went back here. This time it was them who were fully booked and took us to another hotel. But then, our flight had been delayed by several hours so it got pretty late in the evening (after 10 p.m.) before we arrived. We had forgotten to call in advance and didn't have any reservation at all.So our own fault and not their's. But even so they took the time to call some hotels nearby to find something for us - very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and I had a great stay at here with the helpful and friendly family that running this hotel.

One of the major problem staying in backpacker area is the noise that comes from the street (ie the horns and music from pubs and clubs around), and Ngoc Linh Hotel is located in a small alley on Pham Ngu Lao street, which means we are away from the noises come from the main street. Besides that,Ngoc Linh hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from Phuang Trang bus office and some local tour service desk; 7-10 minutes from the Crazy Buffalo Bar and 15 minutes walk from Ben Thanh Market.

We stayed in the triple room at USD26 per night. The room is clean, neat and in appropriate size.The actual room is no different from the one they posted in their official webpage.

They offered us with great service. We bought the night sleeping bus to Dalat and they let us took our shower at their living place and they treated us with corns when we were hanging around while waiting for bus departure time.

Overall, thumbs up to the hotel staffs and I will recommend this hotel to those budget travellers.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with the elderly and children or with big luggages, then pick a room at a lowe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m33iyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a couple of nights and had a lovely time. Firstly it is located in a great part of HCMC, close to a lot of restaurants, bars and shops. The man who greeted us at reception was incredibly polite and even more helpful, from carrying some of our bags to giving us useful information about the city and booking buses and tours for us. The room itself felt clean and modern and included a TV and fridge which was a nice touch. Breakfast is also included in the room-rate, and was a fruit juice, tea/coffee, a large omelette with the best bread in Vietnam (felt like an actual French baguette!) with butter and jam. On the day of checking-out another member of staff offered us a free drink to pass the time while we waited for our coach to Cambodia. All in all a very good stay, and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights, first time in Saigon. Rooms are clean, cleaned daily, wifi in the room works great, they offer free breakfast, and easy to find. The hotel staff was nice as well- telling us to guard our belongings from potential motorbike thieves and offered information about sightseeing as well as maps. Only gripe is the fifth floor walkup to the room. Good exercise though.. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fushigisushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,213 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
540 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#82 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
122 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#47 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
1.0 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#95 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ngoc Linh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ngoc Linh Hotel

Address: 283 / 21 Pham Ngu Lao Street | Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $19 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Ngoc Linh Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NGOC LINH HOTEL is a new modern building with beautiful architecture, situated conveniently in the heart of Saigon, you are just minutes away from City Centre and just minutes away about anywhere in the City. With the staff is friendly and the rooms have basic amenities like air-conditioning and cable TV, Wifi Internet, mini fridge and private bathroom with cold/ hot water. Our room rate includes a public computer and breakfast each day. NGOC LINH HOTEL is a good choice if between trips to the Mekong Delta and onward travel to the north, as you can make your travel plans easily through the tour operators just outside on De Tham.NGOC LINH HOTEL is an alternative to a guest house or bed and breakfast. Our hotel is family owned and operated as a mini hotel. NGOC LINH HOTEL has many kind of room consisting of Single, Double, Twin and Triple rooms. At NGOCLINH hotel, our warm hospicality and friendly reception will make you feel right at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ngoc Linh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing