We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the river trip was great but”

Day Trip Mekong River Cruise - Sketch Travel
Kangaroo Flat, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“the river trip was great but”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

taking the boat along the saigon river was fantastic, the highlight of the trip in fact. From the river to seeing the delta open up was magic. From then on it became just a commercial trip. selling honey which cures everything. Local songs and basic fruit , the coconut candy making was good and the lunch was OK. The trip was worth it for the boat ride alone

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank jamescheshunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    63
    29
    5
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philippines
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“It's a must!”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

It was almost 2 hours away from Ho chi Minh where we stayed and i thought it was far and would be tiring. To my surprise, it was a different exprience..adventure, something different and i felt like i was in a movie. Nature tripping indeed, beautiful scenic exprience. Indeed a must!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank blackmartini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“You've got to do it”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

You must take a cruise on the Mekong River. With frequent stops to allow you learn about life on the river and the livelihood of the river dwellers it adds to the colour and human interest. We visited a coconut processing factory and were able to pick up a couple of interesting sweet treats. Also along we visited a brickworks which use old fashioned kiln techniques and a local family home. We stopped off to have lunch at a really interesting family restaurant (forgotten the name) whose specialty was Elephant Ear Fish.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank Patricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“one big river, many small tourist traps”
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

one day mekong trip to my tho and ben tre islands. so what did we have?

bees on a hive wall, python snake, singing locals, crocs, coconut candy makers, bike ride, horse carriage ride and small boat ride.

bees, python and singing were at a touristic restaurant type thing. while the bees was a new thing for me and kinda nice (although it's not like going to a beekeeper) the singing was just awkward. and of course they tried selling honey, and wanted tips for the singing.

crocs are in a farm (for eating). but you can try and feed them for 5000 dong. or buy stuff made from their hide.

bike and horse rides were for no reason except they needed to fill the time. nothing to see really.

small boat ride looked like the hanoi motorbike traffic but in boats while all the time they tell you to leave a tip. if you like animals at least try to spot the mudskippers on the side (in the mudbanks you can see their holes).

the coconut factory was of course designed to sell you some more stuff.

all in all, a few stuff to see, you don't have to spend more money than the original price, it's a pretty cheap trip (we did it at 150,000 dong) and it gets you out of the city. if you have time on your hands and don't mind how unauthentic the whole thing is, go for it.

Helpful?
6 Thank itay b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Mekong Delta”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

No-one should go to Vietnam and miss this trip. It is Vietnam. The river with plenty of water hyacinth floating by, their daily way of life, Coconut Island, tropical storms and Vietnamese conical hats

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Heather B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Day Trip Mekong River Cruise - Sketch Travel also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Day Trip Mekong River Cruise - Sketch Travel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing