We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All the slowly cooked food was excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cuisine

La Cuisine
Ranked #116 of 3,106 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Gastropub, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“All the slowly cooked food was excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

I am passionate about Steak Tatare, and quizzed the waitress to ensure that it was the classic dish.
It arrived with grilled cheese. I had to return this dish. The rest of the evening was excellent. All our party chose slow cooked dishes, duck, beef, and veal. An extensive wine list and the recommend wine was of good quality. The decor was not warm. Overall it was very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DAF55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    71
    23
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were greeted with a friendly and professional manner upon our arrival.
The restaurant's decor and table setting added to the lovely ambience.
Our starters were duck parfait and foie gras. Both dishes were perfectly cooked. Our waiter ensured that there was a nice gap between courses. For the our mains, my partner ordered beef cheek and i ordered steak (probably one of the best fillet steaks i have had in a long time). The vegetables came cal dente and the steak was perfectly cooked. My partner ordered a mixed ice cream (caramel and chocolate). Both were really good. I ordered the chocolate fondant with macerated strawberries. This was a superb desert (usually with an estimated 20 minutes wait). It arrived at our table in less than ten. We finished the meal with a few excellent espressos and xo armagnac (you get a choice of bean for the coffees and the restaurant provides a standard selection of whiskeys and brandies (alongside other spirits).
The wine and water were topped up regularly throughout the meal service in a discreet manner.
I would recommend this restaurant to everyone. It is only a shame this is not my local restaurant as i would be here every week.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrporky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

Cute little restaurant. We went there earlier this month. Good food, wine selection and great service. Emailed a America day reservation and they responded within a couple of hours.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful restaurant. The hotel recommended it as the best French restaurant in town and we went on their recommendation. It is super. It's a cozy place with white tablecloths and white napkins.

The menu is generous and the portions are good sized. Three adults shared 1 appetizer and each meal ordered was divine.

Very highly recommend this restaurant.

Helpful?
1 Thank AKabani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“not impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

After reading the reviews, I was looking forward to this dinner. My husband liked his osso bucco. I ordered the duck "medium rare", the waiter suggested "medium" so I said that would be fine. It came too rare so I sent it back and it came back still too rare and drowned in a tarragon cream sauce. (?) Also on the plate were some potatoes, that was it. We were the only people in the restaurant for 2 hrs. until a large group of 10 came in about 8:30 p.m..Not a good sign.Pricey for HCM but not by American standards.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank allison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing