We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Cuisine

La Cuisine
Ranked #113 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Gastropub, French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Barcelona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

Limited menu which is fine. Food good, wonderful wines, nice decor. Pricy but good value.!........!.!............................

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laforja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    71
    23
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“French Gem in Saigon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

I had a lovely meal with excellent service at this Miele Guide-listed restaurant in District 1. I loved the crisp semi-casual, semi-formal interiors. It felt cozy, but not out of place at the same time. The atmosphere had a great vibe with locals and expats a like that made it seemed like it comfortably belonged in the city and was not just a tourist hangout. I had a lovely tuna tartar followed by the special beef with morel mushroom sauce. Being from the northwestern US, I was sold at morel. For dessert, I had the chocolate and vanilla duo in a nice pistachio sauce. Accompanied by a glass of Coppola Pinot Grigio, it was a nice break from the fabulous Vietnamese food I'd been having through out my vacation. My meal with service fee and VAT was 1.2 million dong or about $60 US and was well worth the splurge. Although pricey for Vietnam, it was not out of place for the same caliber of restaurant back home and was well worth it. I highly recommend.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bigskymj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“I expected more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

This is my first visit to HCM. Hotel recommended this restaurant highly and it is mentioned in Miel Guide. It is a pleasant place to have a business dinner. Food is above average and service good. Decent selection of wines.

Helpful?
Thank BigDadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wrongly cooked & overpriced - Cuisson non maitrisée et bien trop cher”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Tried the salmon and it was not cooked, at all, in the middle.
Took one dessert that looked delicious on the menu but when it arrived it was different from the description and it really disappointed me :'(
The service was poor and the music (electro) inappropriate in such a place.
Considering the prices, I will never recommend this restaurant to anybody who wants to eat French in Saigon.
En un mot, à éviter.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hcmc
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

nothing special except the "foie gras poele" which is very good. Main courses are served soaked in sauces and overall overpriced compared to similar or better quality French restaurants in the same area

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cuisine also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to La Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing