We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and wine.”
Review of ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 10, 2013

After being away for a week and eating local food it was nice to have a change and have something a bit more plain and without rice. The wine list was good and
the meal I had was nice, although the people who had the Lamb commented that it was tough.

The service was a bit slow and we had to wait a long time to be asked if we wanted a drink when we arrived. I went 2 years ago to Zan Z Bar and I enjoyed it more last time than this. There was nothing wrong, it just wasnt as slick and the food wasnt quite as good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jigglywuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi and thank you so much for taking the time to provide such valuable feedback.

It is always difficult to compare a restaurant with a two-year time gap - so many things can (and do!) change - including the demographic of the normal regular guest, the menu, the chef, the crew, the cost of doing business (etc., etc).

In fact THE hardest thing to do in any restaurant is to be CONSISTENT. Really, this is very, very difficult.

Even so, consistency is something we strive for, and it is disheartening to hear that perhaps our standards have slipped over time. This acts as a mighty big incentive for us to reconsider all of our product offerings and our service delivery systems. To this end, we have just revamped our dinner menu, and I think some of our new items bring us back to our former 'glory' days.

Again, thanks for your comments - your experience is very unique to objectively compare a "then" versus "now" experience.

Kind Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2013

Visited for New Years and the atmosphere was superb with balloons everywhere and fantastic mood lighting. I have dined here before for special occasions and it is one of my favourite places to go for a special night out. The lamb and steak dishes are delicious and the bar and restaurant have a great vibe and set a great mood. The manager is hands on and attentive and the staff are well trained, happy and polite. Pricey but not over the top and certainly worth considering especially for an intimate evening with your partner or close friends. Great selection of wine and beer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank WillieVN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi Willie,

After reading your glowing review, there really isn't anything else to say except "THANK YOU". We can't get everything right, all of the time - but we certainly hope that we can find ways to ensure guests leave us happy and satisfied - and it sounds like we got most things right on your visit.

It's always wonderful to read such positive reviews - so again, many thanks! The staff are on cloud nine :)

Warm Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent the new Years eve hear and had a really good time. Food and drinks were excellent. Maybe a bit pricy for Vietnam, but this is not at typical Vietnamese place, more of a european crossover place.

Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi and thanks for taking the time to post your experience.

It's always nice when people enjoy one of our events (such as New Year's) - a LOT of time and effort goes into planning these.

One thing you should always expect from ZanZBar is good value for money - while other similar venues marked-up their prices significantly for New Year's Eve (in some cases threefold), we kept our prices exactly the same.

I hope you enjoyed the bubble and balloon party (and some great "old skool" music).

Best Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food is great here and the atmosphere also great. Location on Dong Du is perfect, service is good and prices a little above average.

Also, you should try this place for their weekend brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for your very positive review!

Yes, we do have a very popular reputation for brunch in the weekends .... and (by the way) it's available every day (not just weekends), with breakfast being served all-day starting at 7am.

Kind Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Zan Z Bar has a great little out front patio to have a drink or meal and people watch. It's a very plesant place to spend an hour... or two or three. The staff is very attentive and pleasant, and the food is good. But it is pricey for what it is, and without the patio and people watching, not really anything special. If your time in Saigon is limited, there are many more interesting places to go.

Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi and many thanks for your candid review - we do understand that every customer's opinion counts!

Yes, we do have a very loyal following of people that only like to spend their time in the al fresco patio area - and frankly, there aren't many places in the very central city that boasts an area like ours.

Your comment about "value" is well-noted; however please understand that it is impossible to compete with other establishments that are not located in the very heart of the city - the rents are simply astronomical, and our prices do need to reflect this reality. We can't compete on price, however we certainly strive to provide the best quality coffees (Lavazza), the best teas (Ronnefeldt), the best cocktail (just ask any regular guest), daily adn weekly-changing menus, as well as a safe place for food/beverages (better-than-WTO water safety standards, HACCP training for kitchen staff, and international chefs teaching best practices). Many of these items are not important to other establishments, however our loyal guests know that they can trust us to think of them first.

Again thanks for your comments, we do apprecite it.

Warm Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing