We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, nice food”
Review of ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockholm
Level Contributor
52 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place, nice food”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Spent the new Years eve hear and had a really good time. Food and drinks were excellent. Maybe a bit pricy for Vietnam, but this is not at typical Vietnamese place, more of a european crossover place.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi and thanks for taking the time to post your experience.

It's always nice when people enjoy one of our events (such as New Year's) - a LOT of time and effort goes into planning these.

One thing you should always expect from ZanZBar is good value for money - while other similar venues marked-up their prices significantly for New Year's Eve (in some cases threefold), we kept our prices exactly the same.

I hope you enjoyed the bubble and balloon party (and some great "old skool" music).

Best Regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    47
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
86 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food is great here and the atmosphere also great. Location on Dong Du is perfect, service is good and prices a little above average.

Also, you should try this place for their weekend brunch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Many thanks for your very positive review!

Yes, we do have a very popular reputation for brunch in the weekends .... and (by the way) it's available every day (not just weekends), with breakfast being served all-day starting at 7am.

Kind Regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
120 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Place for People Watching”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Zan Z Bar has a great little out front patio to have a drink or meal and people watch. It's a very plesant place to spend an hour... or two or three. The staff is very attentive and pleasant, and the food is good. But it is pricey for what it is, and without the patio and people watching, not really anything special. If your time in Saigon is limited, there are many more interesting places to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hi and many thanks for your candid review - we do understand that every customer's opinion counts!

Yes, we do have a very loyal following of people that only like to spend their time in the al fresco patio area - and frankly, there aren't many places in the very central city that boasts an area like ours.

Your comment about "value" is well-noted; however please understand that it is impossible to compete with other establishments that are not located in the very heart of the city - the rents are simply astronomical, and our prices do need to reflect this reality. We can't compete on price, however we certainly strive to provide the best quality coffees (Lavazza), the best teas (Ronnefeldt), the best cocktail (just ask any regular guest), daily adn weekly-changing menus, as well as a safe place for food/beverages (better-than-WTO water safety standards, HACCP training for kitchen staff, and international chefs teaching best practices). Many of these items are not important to other establishments, however our loyal guests know that they can trust us to think of them first.

Again thanks for your comments, we do apprecite it.

Warm Regards,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
“Amazing Tapas and Service”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A fantastic restaurant with the most amazing tapas I have ever had! There is a happy hour with 2-4-1 selected cocktails and they have a children's menu.

So good we went back a second time, and are planning another visit when we head back to HCMC in January.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Aaron,

I am so glad you liked our tapas (which are available all-day if you ask the staff nicely). Many people I know come only for the tapas (or the side dishes - like truffled mac'n'cheese). My personal favourite is the tuna rolls (filled with crab-mayo) - so delicious.

You have also touched on a little-known secret - our kids' menu. We have items not available anywhere else (like corn dogs [for Americans] AKA hot dogs [for ANZACS] - a battered sausage on a stick!). My kids (aged 8 and 10) always order Mu Lan's Chicken Noodles, Junior Pizza and the Croque Monsier.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Cheers,
Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“cheers!”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Friendly staff, delicious cocktails and good food

It's a great place to work in the daytime or to have some drinks and/or dinner at night.

The staff is well trained and very friendly
They really try to make you feel at home.

Helpful?
Thank Conjunju
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing