We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”
Review of ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar - CLOSED

ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar
Price range: $8 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Food is great here and the atmosphere also great. Location on Dong Du is perfect, service is good and prices a little above average.

Also, you should try this place for their weekend brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Many thanks for your very positive review!

Yes, we do have a very popular reputation for brunch in the weekends .... and (by the way) it's available every day (not just weekends), with breakfast being served all-day starting at 7am.

Kind Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 51 of 178 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

Zan Z Bar has a great little out front patio to have a drink or meal and people watch. It's a very plesant place to spend an hour... or two or three. The staff is very attentive and pleasant, and the food is good. But it is pricey for what it is, and without the patio and people watching, not really anything special. If your time in Saigon is limited, there are many more interesting places to go.

Thank Ira M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hi and many thanks for your candid review - we do understand that every customer's opinion counts!

Yes, we do have a very loyal following of people that only like to spend their time in the al fresco patio area - and frankly, there aren't many places in the very central city that boasts an area like ours.

Your comment about "value" is well-noted; however please understand that it is impossible to compete with other establishments that are not located in the very heart of the city - the rents are simply astronomical, and our prices do need to reflect this reality. We can't compete on price, however we certainly strive to provide the best quality coffees (Lavazza), the best teas (Ronnefeldt), the best cocktail (just ask any regular guest), daily adn weekly-changing menus, as well as a safe place for food/beverages (better-than-WTO water safety standards, HACCP training for kitchen staff, and international chefs teaching best practices). Many of these items are not important to other establishments, however our loyal guests know that they can trust us to think of them first.

Again thanks for your comments, we do apprecite it.

Warm Regards,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

A fantastic restaurant with the most amazing tapas I have ever had! There is a happy hour with 2-4-1 selected cocktails and they have a children's menu.

So good we went back a second time, and are planning another visit when we head back to HCMC in January.

Thank Aaron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZanZBar_Saigon, Owner at ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Aaron,

I am so glad you liked our tapas (which are available all-day if you ask the staff nicely). Many people I know come only for the tapas (or the side dishes - like truffled mac'n'cheese). My personal favourite is the tuna rolls (filled with crab-mayo) - so delicious.

You have also touched on a little-known secret - our kids' menu. We have items not available anywhere else (like corn dogs [for Americans] AKA hot dogs [for ANZACS] - a battered sausage on a stick!). My kids (aged 8 and 10) always order Mu Lan's Chicken Noodles, Junior Pizza and the Croque Monsier.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Cheers,
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Friendly staff, delicious cocktails and good food

It's a great place to work in the daytime or to have some drinks and/or dinner at night.

The staff is well trained and very friendly
They really try to make you feel at home.

Thank Conjunju
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Here you will find value great food excellent service in a sophisticated decor. The food presentation, flavor and texture was excellent.

1  Thank SoloGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ZanZBar Restaurant, Cafe & Bar also viewed

 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing