We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A cut above” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoa Tuc

Hoa Tuc
Ranked #35 of 3,104 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A cut above”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have eaten at this restaurant several times now and it is one that we are always happy to take friends who are visiting. We like to order 'tapas style' and sample many dishes to give our guests a good idea of the food of the area. If no wine is ordered, then it is very reasonable but always remember that there is a luxury tax on wine which can bump up the price. Still, even with wine it is not going to break the bank and if you are looking for somewhere to go for a special occasion, there is nowhere better in District 1.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank craigpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    873
    600
    164
    53
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Truely local food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

If you need a restaurant with truely Vietnamese food in Ho Chi Minh City, Hoa Tuc is a best choice.
Almost the food here keep fully origine tastes, delicious and nice displayed. Locates in the downtown, close with Opera house, this is a easy place to go.

Also, you can join to the cooking classes here with any local food you want to learn.

Highly recomment.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VietnamMotorbikeTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Hoa Tuc Blossoms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

WIth a great cooking school upstairs, Hoa Tuc offers delicious food and great service in a convenient downtown Ho Chi Minh City location. The soft shell crab, clay pot fish and many other dishes are outstanding, and they have one of the better wine lists of any Vietnamese restaurant we've tried. Definitely a place worth enjoying for lunch and dinner, and highly recommended.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is central, buzzy, open air and away from traffic because it's in a nice courtyard. good place to start if you're not familiar with Vietnamese food. The service was speedy and the Provence rose we had nice and cold. The flower and crab salad was a highlight of my trip. We had roll your own handrolls with a great demonstration from the waiter. It's fun. Not all that authentic I suppose. But full of local middle class young people as well as tourists. Two courses with a bottle of wine was $50 for two.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate-Adie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
114 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food, ambience and service, loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We had dinner here. The location is just great and the food was amazing. Loved it. Good value for money

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoa Tuc also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hoa Tuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing