We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class restaurant”
Review of Hoa Tuc

Hoa Tuc
Ranked #37 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Top class restaurant”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

A group of 9 of us ate at Hoa Tuc on our last night in HCMC. The courtyard setting is wonderful even though it was a very warm evening. The food and service were first class. As with all our meals in Vietnam we each ordered starters and main courses and then shared them so that we could sample as many dishes as possible. This is a great way to eat and ensured that if someone did not like the meal they ordered they could try something else. Whilst the food was a little more expensive than other restaurants where we ate its very inexpensive compared to the UK.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JDB44R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    643
    171
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Garden dining at its best”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

It is the location that makes this a fun place to have dinner, a garden setting shared with some other restaurants, place full of tourists and locals is always a good sign. Good food, nice attentive service.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gallo03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Superb Dinner, Last Night in City”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We ate here on our last night in HCMC, after taking the cooking class (excellent!) associated with the restaurant a few days earlier. We had dinners in HCMC that were great, others not. I was determined to make our last dinner a great one, and it was! We used TripAdvisor to contact the restaurant for the reservation, and got an email confirmation within the hour.

We told the server the sort of thing we liked, and what we didn't. She helped us with the menu, and we had excellent dishes, more than we could even finish. Great service! Highly recommend. And if you don't understand the menu, or how dishes are prepared, just ask!

It's not easy to find; if you make a reservation and are out in that area during the day, just walk by. It's easier to find in the day-time. We noted that it was next to a fast-food restaurant, which made it easier to identify at night. You have to go through a courtyard, where several other restaurants are also located.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Da Lat, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went there for dinner after reading about it in the Lonely Planet guide - we loved the food and had plenty of it - we had the beef wrapped in betel leaf, the fried tofu, fried spring rolls, BBQ seafood skewers and the shaking beef fillet mignon, evething was very fresh and delicious - the staff were attentive and efficient and all speak good English. The extensive menu is in English too. the price is very reasonable for the quality and location of the restaurant. We were a little surprised to see 10% added to the bill for VAT and 5% for tips. These were unexpected. All in all an effortless and delicious Vietnamese dinner, in a beautiful setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marisol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Just in Ho Chi Minh City for a couple of days and wanted some good Vietnamese food. Very impressed by the service and the food was some of the best Asian food I've had in years. Service was top notch and good value but a little bit dearer than other restaurants but cheap compared with UK prices.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mkinross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoa Tuc also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hoa Tuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing