We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice venue and good food”
Review of Hoa Tuc

Hoa Tuc
Ranked #35 of 3,241 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $17
Cuisines: Vietnamese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
London, England
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice venue and good food”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Great location in courtyard, so sheltered from traffic. Good for eating outside. Quite a broad menu - wider than Vietnamese. Food well presented, and decent wine list. A nice spot, although not the most traditional local eating experience. I had a mild stomach upset after eating here, although my wife was fine and no one else seems to have a problem. Nonetheless, I think we'd go back, but be careful with washed salads etc.

Helpful?
Thank HolidayJunkie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    626
    170
    54
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been here 3 times and have never been disappointed. We have been with friends and with kids and each time it has been fantastic. The staff were very helpful as they recommended dishes we would have overlooked. They were great with the kids. The food was outstanding. We will definitely be back without a doubt!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EilidhCKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Vietnamese salads”
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We had two salads. One with lightly boiled or steamed flowers (forgot the name) and crab in fish sauce dressing. Absolutely delicious. But even better was the beef salad on beautiful lettuce leaves and slices of white eggplants. To die for!!!

What impressed us most was how freshness of the ingredients, the balance and delicacy of the taste.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Boomsita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Nice setting but shame about the service”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We returned to this restaurant after having enjoyed it on our last visit in March this year. The outdoors area is beautifully set up and quite a romantic setting with fans cooling the tables on warm Saigon nights.

The food was disappointing and for Vietnam, expensive (US$109 for 2 of us including wine). We shared the mixed platter for entrée and only the spring rolls were tasty. For main course I had BBQ Bass, which I had to send back as it arrived stone cold. My wife had the skewered prawns which were OK dipped in the sauces provided. We didn’t bother with dessert or coffee.

We had a bottle of the restaurant white wine special of the month which we found almost undrinkable so we ordered their cheapest French Riesling and wrote off the special.

The manager is a very nice, efficient man but sadly this doesn’t flow through to all his staff. Whilst a few of the waiters are cheerful and friendly, the waiter we had was surly, quite rude and aggressive. Spoils it for those who are trying and as regular visitors to Saigon we wouldn’t bother going back.

The restaurant was almost full, 99% of the customers Western Tripadvisor readers and in our opinion is overpriced and overrated.

If you want authentic Vietnamese food at half the price try the Hong Hai seafood restaurant in District 3 in Pasteur Street. You won’t see many Westerners there but the food is amazing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieWestCoasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Level Contributor
238 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was my second time here. Had a good experience last time and this time was no different. Smooth and attentive service. Nice food (love the soft shell crab), reasonable wine list, nice atmosphere, slightly more expensive, but compared to Western standards very reasonable and a great place to go.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 1andTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hoa Tuc also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Hoa Tuc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing