We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene Riverfront Oasis”
Review of Villa Song Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Song Saigon
Ranked #2 of 476 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Villa Song is an elegant and beautifully appointed small hotel on a bend in the Saigon River. The hotel faces undeveloped parkland on the opposite bank and provides transport by motorboat for the 15-20 minutes trip to a dock in downtown Ho Chi Minh City adjacent to the central Me Linh Square. The hotel’s location provides a wonderful respite from the hustle and energy of the more commercial and densely populated districts of the city. Going back to the hotel to relax at the end of a busy and hot summer day was the perfect way to retain my equanimity.
My hotel room was very comfortable and its terrace provided the opportunity to sit outside, watch the water hyacinth islands flow up and down the river with the tides, and listen to the birds that chirped in the morning and swarmed in the evening seeking their dinner. And speaking of dinner, the hotel has a restaurant that serves a competent mix of Vietnamese and Italian food.
The grounds are carefully maintained and the pool is hidden away from the riverside garden. Here one can take a filling and delicious breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, coffee, and a hot Vietnamese or western dish on the bank and, later, a drink or Vietnamese iced coffee at the small bar.
There is a professional spa on site that offers comprehensive services.
The hotel has recently undergone a management change and the staff was still in training during my stay. They were solicitous and should be ready to provide high quality service when the hotel officially re-opens in August.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a terrace facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RHeimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

712 - 718 of 912 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Having stayed in 5 different hotels while in Vietnam, the restaurant in Villa Song really sticks out. The breakfast here was the best breakfast we had throughout our stay. In addition, two steaks for dinner one night came to approx. 30euro - again the best quality beef we had and for such good value.

The room was lovely and faced onto the pool, my only gripe would be that it was a little small for the price we paid for the 3 nights and certainly appeared smaller than the pictures available online.

In saying this, we were accommodated by the staff at all times, in particular with a late check out when our flight was changed at the last minute. Staff are friendly and helpful...one lady in the restaurant, Y, stood out for her level of fluency in English.

The pool area is lovely and also quite quiet, making it very easy to relax.

The boat into the city, a mere 8 minutes or so, was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to chill out and stay somewhere slightly removed from the mad rush of the city.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

If you'd like to be away from the buzz of a million swarming motorbikes in a tranquil setting on the banks of the Saigon river, then this is perfect. Lovely garden, wonderful swimming pool, excellent service, great food, beautifully designed rooms. Teak floors, crisp linen. I wouldn't stay anywhere else. Easy to get to the centre by taxi or on the hotel's complimentary speed boat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank abager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Our stay at Villa Song Saigon was the best compared to all hotels we've stayed. The managers and staff were attentive to our needs. Breakfast was the best as it was by the Saigon River - i miss the eggs benedict and the big breakfast! In the afternoon, it was nice sipping our drinks while watching the ships pass by. The pool was fantastic as they use salt and staff come to bring cold water without being asked. The room especially the bed was very comfortable it was difficult to leave it in the morning. The shuttle boat transport was something different. In this hotel, they listen to you and they try their very best to accommodate which is the essence of hospitality. We will definitely go back and we have no qualms in recommending the hotel to anyone looking for an oasis in Saigon.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel has a very nice location, right on the river bench, but it is too far from the city. So I would recommend it only for people who want quiet time and not really into exploring the city.
For us, it was average, as we needed to be in the heart of the city to do all our tours.
One can get to the city by speed boat, provided by the hotel, last boat back would be at 8.30 pm.
Or by taxi, but that proved to be challenging, as taxi drivers didn't know where hotel was so needed to stop for directions on several ocassions.
Room was nice and very clean, windows a bit too small, but the view of the river is very nice.
Internet was very bad, it dropped every 30 seconds. Hot water was running out very fast, so second person taking a shower could only get luck warm water.
Breakfast is a la carte, approx. 10 dishes, not great and takes very long time to serve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oana_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yega T, General Manager at Villa Song Saigon, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Clara_15,

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you liked our quiet location, by the flowing Saigon River, which is out of the hustle and bustle of the main city center and yet we are just a 15 min boat ride away from the heart of downtown HCMC (via complimentary boat shuttle) or about 15-20 min by taxi, depending on traffic.

2 of the most popular tours that we recommend to our guests, the Vespa Adventure Tour and the Cu Chi Tunnels actually start from the Villa itself. The tour operators pick you up from our doorstep.

Upon check in, all of our guests are provided with a taxi card which shows the location of the hotel and our pick up point downtown for the boat shuttle. You are correct that not a lot of drivers know our location yet, which if why we provide the card.

I do apologize for the sketchy internet service, we had problems with our internet provider which affected the entire district for 2 days. We actually had informed all of our guests about this via a letter which was placed in all rooms, (and we also verbally informed all guests whom we met) informing that we have alternative 3G Wifi enabled USB's available for your use. We are also able to create temporary wifi hotspots from these USB's if you are using a tablet device.

I am also distressed to hear about the hot water situation in your room. If you could please email me directly at yega.thiyagarajan@villasong.com with your room number and date of stay I can follow up much better with my maintenance team.

Finally, I am sorry that you did not like our ala carte breakfast. All of our breakfast items are cooked to order, and made fresh as opposed to sitting on a buffet counter for hours. We begin with a fruit plate, limitless coffee and tea (including lattes, cappuccinos etc) and then you can order as many items as you like from the menu. I am truly sorry that you were not happy with breakfast as its actually very popular with not only our Villa guests but also regulars from the surrounding neighborhood.

I do appreciate your comments, and I will share them with my team members, to improve ourselves so that we can hopefully serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Yega Thiyagarajan
General Manager
Villa Song Saigon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Having just returned yesterday from an impromptu trip with an excellent choice of accommodation made a great birthday weekend for me. Thank you Yega and your team members for making it possible. Aside from the facilities, suggestions and great ambiance of the resort, it is truly a team effort which makes a great home such as Villa Song. Keep up the great effort! I shall return ..... JChee

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JChee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is a beautiful property with amazing gardens. Stayed four nights here and loved every minute. Staff were attentive and the manager friendly and helpful. Our suite had the most amazingly comfortable bed and the bathroom was beautiful and functional. Air conditioning was great, especially after a day out in the heat. The salt water pool is in a beautiful setting and my husband tells me that the gym was also great. The spa treatment that I had was very relaxing and the meals that we had here were the best we experienced in saigon.

We had an amazing balcony off our suite with ever changing views over the river.

We also stayed at Nam Hai in Hoian for twice the price of Villa Song and Villa Song was the outstanding winner between the two.

Villa Song is, thankfully, only a boat ride or short taxi drive away from the noisy and bustling city of Ho Chi Minh and no hassle travelling back and forth. We were grateful to get back to the tranquility of Villa Song after a hot and busy day out.

Villa Song reminds me of the Eastern and Oriental in Penang and it is definitely a hotel that we would revisit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hazards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
3.5 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
894 reviews
3.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,604 reviews
5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#4 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#5 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,311 reviews
4.2 mi away
Silverland Yen Hotel
Silverland Yen Hotel
#7 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
410 reviews
3.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#19 of 476 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Song Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Song Saigon

Address: 197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street, District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#1 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#4 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $196 - $439 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Song Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Song Saigon is a lovely boutique hotel with 23 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, located in District 2, along the banks of the Saigon River. Recently underwent a major renovation and total refurbishment exercise in December 2013. Suitable for romantic getaways as well as corporate board meetings. Rejuvenate in our in house Spa. Eclectic food and beverage options with all day dining at Bistro Song Vie, classic cocktails at our bar and a very good wine cellar; all coupled with a stunning view of the Saigon River. River transfers available from our private pier at the Villa itself, direct to the heart of District 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Song Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Song Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing