We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Song Saigon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Song Saigon
Ranked #2 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

It's been 3 weeks and images of Villa Song kept flashing in my head, so much so that I feel compelled to share the mesmerising experience I spent in a lovely villa nestled amongst slender palm trees alongside the Saigon river. I remember when I first set eyes on the place. It was love at first sight, the arresting river view, the exquisite décor with tasteful furnishing from the elegant lampshades to the sofas and the original paintings. It feels like very single item has been individually handpicked and yet the whole ensemble seem so well harmonised.
If you love the exterior, wait till you walk into the guestrooms. The four poster bed with the delicate translucent nettings, the paintings that make you gaze at it for the longest time, huge bathrooms with aromatic toiletries, and the coolest looking bathmat that massages your feet so addictively you don't wanna step out of the shower.
And breakfast is simply divine. You can choose any a la carte item from the menu from eggs benedict and pancakes to local beef pho, they're cooked to perfection with the freshest ingredients and local herbs. The breads and croissants are all freshly baked and I have to mention the jams, they're so good that I overheard some guests requesting if these can be purchased to bring home !
In the evenings sipping a glass of wine or martini by the river, watching the boats go by, away from the hustle and bustle of city living, it not only feels like paradise, it actually is !
And when the skyline darkens one can enjoy the lovely moon and countless stars on the horizon whilst dining alfresco, and here again I enjoyed every savoury bite of the meals.
For activities one can soak for hours or swim in the fairly large-sized salt water pool which is unique unlike the chlorine-tainted ones in most hotel pools. I was also surprised to find a well-equipped gym which is a rare find in a villa setting.
To top it all I was overwhelmed by the service staff. They are warm and attentive yet not intrusive, striking the right balance to make you feel at home. On the day of my departure I can't help feeling a strong reluctance to leave, perhaps my stay was too short. The only consolation is my plan to return for a longer visit in a few months' time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KoonLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    614
    79
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
136
390
29
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed here at the end of our Vietnamese tour and stayed in some great places but this was the cream of the crop. It's a great place to stay just outside of the city (about 150k VD by taxi) and a real haven of calm away from the chaos of Saigon.

We stayed in the Art Suite (203) which had a small sitting room, great bathroom, really comfortable bed and terrific balcony. I know it has only just been renovated but everything was spotless and really luxurious.

The restaurant was excellent with some really lovely local dishes for dinner and a great set of breakfast options.

The pool was great - we spent our last morning lazing here - and the pool was very refreshing - without being cold. We both had treatments in the small spa, an excellent massage and great facial. Nothing to complain about at all.

Overall I wouldn't hesitate to return next time I'm in Saigon/Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank In_Luxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014 via mobile

It's a boutique hotel and then some. The ambience in Villa Song Saigon is that of a mansion with many rooms. One feels blessed to be a resident of this quietly elegant, yet cosy and immensely comfortable space, even if only for a few days. The staff are easy-going and helpful, responding to requests promptly.

Minute attention to detail reminds you of home. Deep, well spung mattresses, soft cotton bedlinen, plush pillows of different sizes - a slightly firmer one to support your head and neck, and a bigger, softer one to hug. Sizeable rooms open out to serene river vistas or tranquil trees and a salt-water pool.

Little thoughtful touches abound. All drinks in the minibar are free. The phone trills as if delighted when it is picked up or put down. A long-handled shoe horn and shoe brush, shoe cream. A French coffee press for your personal use. Personal reading lights on both sides of the bed.

The free breakfast is ordered off the menu and served in the restaurant by the riverside, or in your personal garden or balcony if you prefer. A late riser, I asked anxiously, "What time does breakfast close?" Clara the manager's smiling response was, "It closes whenever you finish your breakfast, even if 2pm." Hallelujah!

Here and there around the hotel, you find nooks with comfortable chairs for reading or tete-a-tetes. One pair of stainless steel chairs looked so well proportioned I felt compelled to test them. Hello! Fits the body effortlessly. I later found out they are creations of the visionary designer Quasar Khanh, whom Philippe Starck admires. In fact, Villa Song itself is a de facto art gallery. Serenely thoughtful Vietnamese paintings hang everywhere, original works that are a far cry from the usual tourist prints. I was beginning to feel that my room rate was very, very good value.

Oh had I mentioned breakfast? I thought the eggs benedict were sublime, then I tasted the translucent Vietnamese rice rolls - so soft they disappear soon after you put them into your mouth. The pho is wholesome and delicately balanced. The tom yam pizza (not on the menu, ask for it) hits the spot. The coffee is deeply satisfying - an Illy sign outside the hotel leaves no doubt what kind is served (the vanilla-infused local coffee is also available and is good too). And I haven't even mentioned the wines...

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank aliosbeybanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Upon arrival we were upgraded for our honeymoon which was a pleasant surprise. The elegant room combined with an amazing view was a great start to a memorable trip in Vietnam. The hotel pool was also super nice and rewarding after spending a day in heat. Furthermore, the hotel served good food and there was also a great restaurant immediately next door. Both with relaxing river side seating. I highly recommend staying here as you will not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ccarlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I logged in to write a review of this excellent boutique hotel on the banks of the Mekong just a short boat ride (but longer taxi ride) from the centre of HCMC but I see that Charlie M has said exactly what I was going to. My only additional comment would be to question the rarity of the events next door.

Room Tip: The suite rooms are well worth it especially those on the third floor with a circular sitting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank t50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel is beautifully stylish and set on the banks of the Saigon river. Easting breakfast in the garden by the river was a lovely experience as was the speedboat ride into town. The staff are friendly and helpful. There is a large pool and the cakes at bedtime were delicious. The peacefulness was spoiled by loud parties at the hotel next door until about 10pm on three nights but the staff tell us that this is rare.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Spent 3 nights with my wife. Lovely room with very comfortable bed with good quality linen and soft pillows. Calm and relaxing alternative to the city which is only 10 mins away by complimentary speed boat. Food and service was excellent and the manager Yega and his wife are very helpful. Massimo also very keen to help with information. Breakfast and dinner were great and the setting by the river is lovely. The pool is huge and a bonus as hotels in the city don't have them.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mortlaketraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
3.5 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
3.4 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#16 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Park Hyatt Saigon
Park Hyatt Saigon
#3 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
Hotel des Arts Saigon Mgallery
#8 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
3.6 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Song Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Song Saigon

Property: Villa Song Saigon
Address: 197/2 Nguyen Van Huong Street, District 2, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#2 Spa Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#4 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Song Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Song Saigon is a lovely boutique hotel with 23 luxuriously appointed rooms and suites, located in District 2, along the banks of the Saigon River. Recently underwent a major renovation and total refurbishment exercise in December 2013. Suitable for romantic getaways as well as corporate board meetings. Rejuvenate in our in house Spa. Eclectic food and beverage options with all day dining at Bistro Song Vie, classic cocktails at our bar and a very good wine cellar; all coupled with a stunning view of the Saigon River. River transfers available from our private pier at the Villa itself, direct to the heart of District 1. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Villa Song Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Song Saigon Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing