We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fantastic find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is a great little hotel with a lot of character and individuality. Set in a quiet back street a short distance from the city centre, it was a little haven away from the chaos of the city. We were so well looked after- the owners are super welcoming and made us fell so at home. Our room was beautiful and the little court yard is a beautiful place to have breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Verity H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    114
    33
    11
    9
See reviews for
53
325
43
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, UK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

What a lot of varying opinions about this place. We arrived late evening to be greeted by the delightful owner, a retired teacher, a respectable and gentle soul. We were welcomed and asked to leave our shoes at the door which reminded me of entering a temple and not an issue for us. We were given a refreshing glass of passion fruit juice and our bags were taken to our room on level 3. Everything about the hotel has been thought through with love and care. Our room was beautifully decorated and furnished. Yes, the location at first may come across as a little daunting but if you can embrace the fact that this is a family home that has been lovingly restored to a hotel which is located in a non tourist area of Saigon you will start to feel more comfortable. In the surrounding alleys the local people are just going about their every day lives.
If you want the Vietnamese breakfast the owners do like to know the night before so that fresh produce can be brought in and that it can be prepared ready for you. Philip tried the seafood pho which was the bes the had in Vietnam. I loved the healthy muesli yoghurt and passion fruit then beautiful warm baguettes with butter and jam. Coffee and tea are available at any time of the day/night and can be brought to your room. Mr Ha came with a map and explained the area to us and where to eat and visit in both district 1 and 3.
We decided to travel by bus into district 1 which was an adventure and really easy. One of the hotel staff escorted us to the bus stop which was really helpful. After a busy day exploring we returned again by bus. We ate at one of the local open air restaurants,Sy Phu where we were the only westerners. The menu was extensive and quite different. We had a curry cooked at the table and plenty of cold beers. We really loved the whole experience. One evening we went to the local park which has a small fun fair for locals and an outdoor theatre. There was a small circus performing. Again we were the only westerners and everyone welcomed us and we felt comfortable there. Philip went to the local barbers and had a shave (the best one he'd had) and his ears cleaned! He also went to the local Spa and had a massage which was recommended by Natasha the manager of the hotel. The Spa was clean, respectable and a fraction of the cost of the big hotels.
So overall, if you want a different experience, with a sense of adventure mixing with local people and supporting local enterprise then consider Ma Maison. If you like the security of being in an international hotel in the middle of the tourist area then perhaps Ma Maison is not the right choice for you. We would certainly go back and think that the owners have created something quite special.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs - think of your knees and hips when requesting a room. Look at Natasha's youtube...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaraPhilip39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

We started our South East Asia trip
at Ma Maison and after a long flight, it was definitely worth the treat. The hotel's certainly on the expensive side compared to city prices elsewhere, but it was very clean, comfortable and classy. Excellent, kind, attentive service - we especially appreciated the complimentary drinks whenever we returned from an excursion. Location is approximately 20 mins taxi from city centre but we really enjoyed the authentic neighbourhood feel of surrounding alleys and streets. Iced coffee and local massage parlour come highly recommended.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Girlin177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore
Level Contributor
213 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We arrived late last night, and are very happy with our room. It spacious, very clean and the air conditioning works well. We met with the owner at the breakfast, and he was very helpful with the map. Breakfast was delicious. I chose the Vietnamese breakfast while my husband selected the American one. They have three different choices for breakfast, and I like that. I also like the owner's advice to take a cab for the first three kilometers. The hotel is in district 3, and walking is not always easy as many merchants sell from the sidewalk. Ho Chi Minh is a vibrant, colorful and loud city. The hotel is in a quiet alley, and that adds to the charm.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Ma Maison. We were warmly greeted with juice and fresh fruit upon our arrival. Our room was up 1 flight of steps and the bags were carried up for us. There are black and white spectacular photos on all of the floors worth climbing the stairs to see. They are done by a relative, a famous photographer in Vietnam. Our room was spotless. The bed, as well, the sheets and pillows were extremely comfortable. The shower had hot water. There was 2 windows in the room. A safe in the cupboard. Tea and biscuits in the room as well.

Breakfast is excellent-pho or eggs with fresh bread and fruit..

To get this hotel, located in district 1, you have to walk down an alley. No big deal, it is dark at night but a safe neighborhood, located in a local area. The area around the hotel is heavy with traffic and chaotic with noisy streets. Once you enter the boutique hotel, it is quiet, a relief from the chaos outside. The house has a French presence.

This is a local area and we walked and ate in local restaurants down the street and it seemed we were the only tourists. Many locals were stunned to see that we were capable eating with chopsticks. Keep in mind that it is at least a 15 minute taxi ride to the "preferred" area to walk around. I was not bothered by this because I wanted to be immersed with the locals. Yet the sidewalks (if you can call them that), are an obstacle course and crossing the street is very tricky.

Two notes worth mentioning: when you leave the area and walk toward the main street, if you are a dog lover, do not turn right off the main road! The first cart we encountered were dog carcasses hanging ready to be grilled. We had no idea this area was popular for grilled dogs.

Lastly, our hosts greeted us with kindness and we were treated well. Yet, our guide that we had hired independently, was not offered the same respect. After a couple of days touring, returning to the hotel, we were offered fresh juice and our guide a glass of water. He also asked to use the washroom and they were impolite and only offered because we were standing with him. That left us with a bad taste.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raism1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We really enjoyed staying at Ma Maison. We stayed there for 4 nights and used it as out base for seeing HCM and a day trip to Mekong Delta & Cu Chi Tunnels. The service was very very high standard and very helpful. Long and her team were always on hand to help. The breakfasts were also substantial and tasty. The rooms were great, beds comfy and all was very clean and quiet and we did not hear noise from the back street.

The location however was a little too far from District 1 and the interesting areas of District 3. It took about 20 minutes each time to go into and back from the main part of town (which we went everyday). The area of Ma Maison itself seemed like the locals had never seen foreigners before and my wife (Asian) was always getting heavily stared at at by men and women. I dont mind being in areas anywhere in the world where we stand out as foreigners but this was a little over the top and my wife was not comfortable at all. We have been to many asian cities and never had the heavy heavy stare treatment like this. Although there was lots of clothes and food shops where Ma Maison was located the roads were always far too hectic with no to minimal footpaths and major pollution from motor bikes made it very uncomfortable to want to look around for a second time.

Again we loved Ma Maison, the staff and the service was first class.... if you are only in HCM for 1 or 2 nights then it will be fine to stay there... but not for 4 nights like us..... next time we will stay in district 1 or in the more interesting parts/less hectic part of district 3.

Thanks

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chickenhopack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

This gorgeous boutique hotel is a real charmer! Located 15 minutes from the city centre in a residential area the hotel offers delightful french styled rooms over 4 levels. There is no lift but it wasn't an issue as the doorman carried our bags up – and when required tea can be delivered to your room. We were warmly welcomed by the owner with a refreshing drink, an overview of the hotel and its history and an insight into the surrounds. We loved the location amongst ordinary people going about their lives and we always felt safe and secure even at night walking back down the alley. Our group had 3 single rooms but by far the best are the double rooms at the front of the hotel. Showers were hot and plentiful, bed and linen wonderful and breakfast pleasant. We would stay again.

Room Tip: If traveling as a couple or two singles I would ask for the front double rooms level 3 or 4. Rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lifes4living
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.0 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel L' Odeon
Hotel L' Odeon
#4 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
2.4 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
Cinnamon Hotel Saigon
#9 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
2.3 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#21 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.8 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#23 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ma Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ma Maison Boutique Hotel

Property: Ma Maison Boutique Hotel
Address: 656/52 Cach Mang Thang Tam Street | Ward 11, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 0084, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ma Maison Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short alley from the main Cach Mang Thang Tam Street, Ma Maison Boutique Hotel caters to demanding clients of long-term expats and French art aficionados. Located in a local labor area where Vietnamese daily real life can be reflected in its most truthful way, this boutique house is brought out to be such an extraordinary in every possible way. Leaving behind the bustling daily routines, first impression would be like straying into a totally different world. Sensation of art, peacefulness and nature-friendliness may balance to fulfill its charming. Ma Maison features Provence style in which bright sunshine and decoration theme have been embraced to create a relaxed look in this guesthouse. Antique design, refinement and sumptuous materials combined with standard services and its harmony in decoration would make your stay a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ma Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing