We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem.......”
Review of Catina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catina Hotel
Ranked #109 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
236 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“What a gem.......”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Haivng passed by this hotel several times during my business trips but never had a chance to and finally tried it out myself. First of all, given the hotel's excellent location, was surprised that the crowd was not huge when I was there maybe because of its price which is on the high side for a boutique hotel. Relatively speaking, this hotel can be considered new in Saigon and check in was fast and on entering the room, I was glad I made the choice as the room certianly live up to it's expectation, modern and well kept. Though small, everything was complete and what attracted me was the nice working table which is crucial flor business travellers. Free internet access via LAN cable makes working a breeze. One negative aspect of the room was that the room does not come with a internal lock which means there is no security latch and was a little annoyed when hotel staff entered the room while I was in the bathroom and did not respond to the door bell, an invasion of privacy I felt.

Breakfast was adequate though choices are limited and if you stay for a few nights, it will be a dread but then again for a quick breakfast it is definitely good. There are though plenty of choices for food considering the location the area where the hotel is located.

On the room side, I was given a room with windows but view was horrible so I rather have it blocked by the curtains. Normally for rooms in Saigon, I would prefer one with no windows or if it has good sound proof glass given the heavy traffic there and as the room allocate was at the back of the hotel, it was a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_TravellerSg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    153
    36
    7
    7
See reviews for
52
120
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

Catina Hotel is located in central Ho Chi Minh City and is a superb location for getting
around City. Has long been a popular choice for Business and visitors to relax and traveling at the south of Vietnam. The hotel staff was very welcoming and helpful.
it is great value for money. I would like to recommend it for the traveler go with group.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bern80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Tried the Catina Suite 501 - much bigger but not much better than my colleagues standard room. The suite does have an adjoining door which could be useful for a big group.

B-fast is good but the bacon and sausage needs some serious work.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d16rr702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We couldn't agree more with the prior reviews. This boutique hotel is wonderful. It's location is perfect. Rooms are very modern with excellent beds and amenities. A newspaper is provided in the morning. The free breakfast can't be beat: dim sum, pho to order, eggs to order, waffles to order, fruit, various hot dishes in a very nice setting. The best breakfast that we've run into in Vietnam.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coolcoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This little boutique hotel has a great location on Dong Khoi Street. Restaurants and attractions are a few minutes walk away. Wonderful hotel with great breakfast and very friendly and helpful staff. When next in Saigon, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kel_au
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed at Catina for a total of 5 nights in Jan 2010. Hotel is very well situated just opposite the Sheraton at the posh end of town (which I much prefer to the backpacker district) - most of the sights are within walking distance. Staff very friendly and welcoming as because this is a small hotel you get the personal service which is so often lacking in the larger establishments (reception manager booked me another hotel in Mui Ne and in general showed much appreciated commercial acumen). Standard rooms are a good size with all the facilities you'd expect from a hotel in this category. Breakfast buffet is good. Twin rooms are all windowless which is slightly disconcerting at first - but then again how much time do you spend in your room during the day anyway? And no window also means quiet and excellent for getting a good night's sleep (welcome respite from the traffic outside). Internet booking will secure the best rates here. Only negative is that the doormen hailed a very pricy taxi to take me to the airport - make sure you take a reputable taxi firm like VinaSun.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel during Christmas with our young daughter. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was huge with a huge king size bed. Just nice for the three of us. The bathroom was a good size. Linen and towels were plush. The hotel is like a boutique hotel which is small and personal. The lobby is small and the staff were always friendly and made a huge effort to show our daughter lots of attention. Breakfast is at the restaurant on the second floor which has a nice view overlooking the street. It was nice to watch people going about their early morning activities while relaxing over breakfast. Food was of a high standard. Minimal choices but good all the same. Laundry and minibar prices were expensive like most hotels. Location was excellent. Located centrally and we could walk everywhere. Only negative was our room was right next to the lift and on Christmas Eve the hotel seemed noisier than usual as there was a hotel party being held in the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank touralot03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
521 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#59 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#52 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#96 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#177 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#159 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Hotel

Property: Catina Hotel
Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Catina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing