We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great staff”
Review of Catina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Catina Hotel
Ranked #107 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 13, 2013

great breakfast one of the best we have encountered in the 2-5 star hotels we have stayed in. overall great hotel. They allowed us to stay in the same room even though we accidentally book a lower standard room. Excellent move on their part as this is very very rare in Viet Nam as people and places are always trying and lying to get every penny out of you. It improved our impression on Viet Nam. Very professional and smart business move. This in itself tells you it is a great hotel. Some rooms with no windows, but you absolutely want this (trust me unless you find a 30 story building to get away from the noise. very slow internet unfortunately one of slowest. They need to fix this. we have stayed in other saigon hotels and the internet was fast.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jolastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear jolastar,

Thank you for taking time to share experience about Catina Saigon hotel.

We are thrilled to hear that you enjoy your stay with us. For the internet connection, we have updated the system to make it smooth in connecting.

We hope that Catina Saigon will be your next choice in HCMC for next trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 335 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

Was on a girly trip with 2 other ladies so safety was our top priority as we heard stories about snatch thieves etc. Dong Khoi Street is a pretty street, with nice shops and restaurants right in French quarter and is just a short walk away from Opera House and other historical sights. Alongside, are the other big international hotels(so we walked to check out their swanky rooftop bars too). Ben Thanh market is little further (abt 15 to 20mins by walking) but we are happy to be away from the hustle and bustle and took a taxi to and fro instead. The room is almost spotless. Spacious with comfy beds. We chose a room with no windows as recommended by other reviewers.The room came with a 'fake' window with curtains which lit up the room and makes the room looks sweet haha. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Specifically Mr Cuong, who was at the reception desk. He assisted me with a restaurant reservation and also gave a good recommendation of a nice little French restaurant (which is very near the hotel too). Appreciated that he took an extra mile to make our stay a delightful one :) The hotel also has tours everyday to Cu Chi tunnel (which is combined with other hotels) at USD 20 per pax which included entrance fee to the site and transport from hotel and back. So, good location, checked. Nice rooms, checked. Helpful staff, checked. Value, checked. Can't ask for more, really.

Room Tip: Personally I think the street view is missable. We chose the non-window room and the one which is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear p0ny,

Thank you for choosing Catina Saigon as your accommodation in HCMC.

We are glad to hear that you felt comfortable during the stay with us. We have sent your greeting to our receptionist - Mr. Cuong as an encouragement.

We are looking forward to having a change to welcome you and your friends in next trip in HCMC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The rooms are a nice size, with room to put bags and still move around. Shower was great. Bed was super comfy. Most of us had no view to the outside which suited me fine as that kept the noise down, but the walls are fairly thin, and I got to listen to a lengthy conversation of some guys phone call and ringing door bell...

It's in a great area of town with lots of shops, massage & nail places as well as restaurants in walking distance. I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyfulgrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 18, 2013

Dear joyfulgrrrl,

Thank you for staying at Catina Saigon hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my two parents. The room was clean and spacious and the beds were very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and offered incredible service and advice. It is in the heart of Saigon and not far from a lot of the main locations including the Ben Thanh markets, notre dame cathedral, opera house, shopping malls, post office and the museums. Check in and check out was quick and the breakfast offered a great variety. Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kymberley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Kymberley M,

Thank you for staying at Catina Saigon hotel and taking time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed the vacation in Vietnam.

We are looking forward to have a chance to welcome your family back in next trip.

Best wishes to your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Firstly let me say if there was no mix up with our room rate, which was partly my fault this hotel would have scored higher marks. We are travelling with our 10 and 13 year old children, so we required two rooms, and when confirming our booking we asked for a total price and were given what we thought was a total price only to find it was a per room price, meaning we paid twice as much as we thought for our 3 nights. Whilst acknowledged this was partly my fault, this was the only mix up we had when booking four other Vietnamese properties on out April trip. Now the good, you can't beat this location easy to walk everywhere and close to all major attractions. The Breakfast were great and both the western style and Vietnamese style foods were good quality with omelettes and pho both beautiful. In isolation the staff were fine and good and provided any assistance we needed but in comparison to the other hotels we stayed in throughout Vietnam they were mot us friendly or engaging as other hotels. Our room smelt musty but by the first morning we no longer noticed the smell and it in no ways impacted on our stay. The pick up service from HCMC airport at $30 seems a little expensive but I would recommend it to avoid the initial airport chaos, there is a taxi rank right under the building and when leaving HCMC we easily took a taxi For a third of the price. I would recommend this hotel if booking via email confirm the total price and enjoy the location and the breakfast, two of the really important things when booking a hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms without windows are fine and we all slept soundly and didnt miss a street view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BromleyJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear BromleyJules,

Thank you for staying at Catina Saigon hotel and posting your valuable comments.

The location in centre of the city is one of our strength to attract guests. Beside that, we are trying to improve our services to make guests more comfortable when enjoying their accommodation with us.

We hope to have a chance to welcome your family back in next trip in HCMC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Perfectly situated on Dong Khoi Street, just a short walk from the Saigon River and many of the sights in the centre of the city.
Very polite and helpful reception staff who spoke very good English. Check-in and out were completed quickly. Our room was very comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was good with a wide variety of Vietnamese and western food. A perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Todd S,

Thank you for sharing your experience about Catina Saigon hotel on TripAdvisor.

We appreciated that you felt comfortable during your staying.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back on next trip in HCMC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Catina is in the heart of Saigon, walking distance to a lot of tourist destinations like The Opera, and the shopping strip of Dong Khoi. Clean and of quality at par with really expensive hotels. Breakfast was good. Service staff are attentive. Satisfied guest here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaymedr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Jaymedr,

Thank you for taking time to share your feeling about Catina Saigon hotel.

It is our pleasure to be heard that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back on next trip in HCMC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#121 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#64 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
546 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#55 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#162 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
462 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#102 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#163 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Hotel

Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $56 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing