We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in the heart of the city”
Review of Catina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Catina Hotel
Ranked #108 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
284 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Great stay in the heart of the city”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

For the price, you could not ask for more, good service, clean, safe and fabulous location within walking distance of all the major attractions. Added bonus during the run up to Tet is that the flower street displays are one block away. This is the place to see and be seen and really gives you a flavour of the city and its people.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Norman S,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay in HCMC.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay at Catina Saigon hotel.

Hope to welcome you back on the next trip in HCMC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    152
    36
    6
    7
See reviews for
51
120
32
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Have just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hotel Catina. Stayed in a suite with balcony. Hotel room was spotless. Staff were friendly, efficient and helpful. Breakfast was a bit repetitive but that's a personal opinion rather than a criticism of the hotel. The only thing I can moan about is the wi fi is really hit and miss however the reception staff will reset the router on request. The hotel is situated in the heart of the city and within walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigspender1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Front Office Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear bigspender1971,

Thank you for sharing your experience about Catina Saigon hotel on TripAdvisor.com.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Hope to welcome you for next trip in HCMC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Catina Saigon Hotel is a small budget hotel with nice atmosphere. Situated ideally in the Center of Ho Chi Minh City. Where after finishing your work you can have many options to spend evening. Walking through the craft shops and surrounded with A class cafes and five star hotels, you do not get bored.

Room Tip: Rooms in the corner of Corridor are more quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altaf H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Altaf H,

Thank you for sharing your experience about us on TripAdvisor.com.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you on next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I arrived aerly December 2012 at the 4* hotel and a short issue concerning room type was handled professional.
The room was beautiful of decent size and the breakfast was great. all staff was at any time friendly and attentive. I will definitely come back.

Room Tip: dont take the rooms without window
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mm70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear mm70,

Thank you for your good comments about us on TripAdvisor.com.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our hotel location.

We always ready to welcome you back on next trip in HCMC.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed at the Catina in late December for 2 nights and loved this place. Having read previous reviews and having visit Saigon on many occasions we are very well aware of the no window rooms which happen throughout Asia therefore we opted for a room on the front overlooking the street and this certainly didn’t disappoint. Would also mention the great bathroom as well.
Staff were fine, the breakfast was just passable if staying longer you might want to give it a miss every now and again and look for a cheap brekkie somewhere else but for 2 days it worked.
We didn’t use the taxi pickup from the Airport as having been through Saigon many times before we know that you can buy a taxi voucher from a kiosk after coming out of customs for about US$14 big difference from the $40.00 the hotel want – just make sure you have the hotel address written down.
Would definitely stay here but book a room at the front.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MTMTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear MTMTravellers,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience about us on TripAdvisor.com.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us during 2 nights in December 2013. For the airport transfer service that we offer at US$ 30 nett/ way.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you back in HCMC trip.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maisons Alfort
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed there one night on our way to Laos. This hotel is quite good in a standard way. The rooms are fine, perhaps a bit small but the location is great, on Dhong Khoi (or Catina from the French era). The staff is helpful and the breakfast very good. No bad points.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbrillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear jlbrillet,

Thank you for your comments.

It is a regret you were not able to stay longer in our city. We look forward to welcoming you again, this time for a longer stay.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I chose Catina Saigon after reading the reviews at Tripadvisor and I am happy to have chosen to stay there for five nights with my family. The beds were comfortable and room was clean and spacious. The location of the hotel was ideal with good shopping places and good restaurants all within walking distance. The staff was attentive and when I had a problem with our room door, it was immediately fixed. The buffet breakfast changed daily and had many choices. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to my family and friends.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travellingbetty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CatinaSaigon, General Manager at Catina Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear travellingbetty9,

Your kind words are very encouraging for all of us, which we greatly appreciate and will attempt to always improve.

It will be pleasant to welcome you and your family to our hotel again.

Board of Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#119 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Huong Sen Hotel
Huong Sen Hotel
#45 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
566 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#56 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#100 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palace Hotel Saigon
Palace Hotel Saigon
#154 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oscar Saigon Hotel
Oscar Saigon Hotel
#187 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catina Hotel

Property: Catina Hotel
Address: 109 Dong Khoi Street, | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Catina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new boutique Catina Saigon Hotel offers our patrons a cozy and pleasant accommodation, with all the luxurious facilities of a high class business hotel. Located in the very centre of Ho Chi Minh city, near Ben Thanh Market, Notre-Dame Cathedral, City Theatre, Municipal Government offices, Parson shopping center, office buildings, shops, bars and restaurants, Catina Saigon Hotel is an ideal place for both businessmen and tourists. Catina Saigon Hotel assures you a comfortable and memorable stay at an unbeatable price ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing