We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK I suppose”
Review of Long Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
andyr8603
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's OK I suppose”
Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

For the money you pay it's OK. The location is central enough but it is down a dark and dirty alley just off the market, which is a fairly typical Vietnamese one with the smells and associated mess. However, Ms. Long is lovely, she is helpful and caring. The rooms are pretty basic and the shower was tepid and of a low pressure. It is clean and the brekkie pancake was delightful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyr8603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    174
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
236
198
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Mrs Long is simply precious, this goes equally so for all her family and staff.

The hostel was a bit out of the way, it was quite an experience finding it down a narrow alleyway, however, after walking around a bit this wasn't too unusual for Saigon.

Location is close to a pub street as well as some decent (Local) restaurants. The rooms were a little small with the TV's awkwardly on the desk in the corner but then again if your like me and your plans involve seeing the city and not sitting in your room this isn't an issue. Good AC, as well as a strong fan, ensured a comfortable climate in the room at all times.

WIFI was dreadful in the rooms, could always use the lobby computers or use WIFI in the lobby.

I had an amazing experience with (I believe, Mrs Long's) Grand daughter. We drew a couple pictures together. I made the stars, she made them shine. This was such a wonderful experience.

Overall good choice, was happy to get my first Vietnamese haircut two stores down the alleyway. Trying to explain what I wanted cut was a riot. I actually started to cut my own hair to show the length I wanted it. Somehow I ended up with am 2 extensions, spread a lot of laughter at my expense for the next day.

Room Tip: Sign the guest book in your rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FilOsOphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The main thing is the Long family's hospitality. The accommodations are good, taking in consideration how much the rooms were. The path to the hostel is smelly because it's located in the market area, but if you can get past that, then you're good. It's not smelly in the hostel itself.

We arrived in the wee hours of the morning, but we were very graciously accepted. In the morning, checking in was sorted out quickly. Mrs Long gave some tips on where to go in Saigon. Beware of the map she gives out though. It's not very detailed and we were lost in the city for an hour when we followed it. We got a better map at the tourist information center (near the City Hall) and finally found our way.

Beds and toilets were clean and wifi was okay. However, when we asked the staff if they can book us a bus ride to Siem Reap, they were not able to deliver. They assured us in the morning that they'd make the booking but when we came back at night, they were not able to do it. We had to make the booking ourselves (which we originally planned to do).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Schmerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012

my wife and i booked at the Long G/H in Saigon for 4 nights after reading the great reviews on TripAdvisor.
The family that runs the guesthouse is very friendly and helpful and generally easy to deal with.
The accomodation and the location were very disappointing. Long G/H is situated in a narrow ,dirty lane and to reach the lane you walk through a "wet" market, which was not very nice. It is also not very close to restaurants and the Sinh Tourist Office.
We thought we would book the $24 room as it showed 3 beds instead of two and we assumed it would be a larger room, but they had just squeezed another bed in the same size room, which left very little room to move and you could only watch the news on TV by sitting sideways on the bed. The shower had very little hot water pressure. Also we had to climb 3 flight of stairs. WIFI was non-existing in rooms.
We looked at some other guesthouses, in a better location and found there is better value than Long G/h/
Vinh Chung Hotel @ $20 per room had lovely rooms with small balconies. Bich Duyen G/h also was a better alternative and has good reviews in T/A
Nam Long Hotel also had nice rooms at $22. All theseG/H Hotels show the same address (Pham Ngu Lao Str) as Long G/H but the actual address is the number of the lane off this road. The last 3 G/H were in a much better location and the lane was very attractive as all the G/H and hotels there
have combined to keep the lane clean with attractive flower-pots etc giving it a nice atmosphere
So although the Long Family is very kind there are better accomodations available in better more attractive locations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GoldCoastBatik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Did a one night stop in HCMC before moving on to Cambodia. The taxi driver had trouble finding the place as it's down a lane way behind a small market. After ringing the hostel someone come out to help the driver find the right place to stop and also helped with our bags and crossing the road! We were greeted with ice tea and fruit which was just lovely. We were shown to our room and shown where to go and pay for our bus tickets, needed for the morning. We were also given some directions for dinner with honest interest in our likes and wishes. The room was clean and comfortable with a small patio and lockable cuboard. My recomendations: if intening on using a suitcase be prepared to Carry it upstairs or ask for a 1st floor room. Other than that enjoy! Well worth the money to enjoy the help and hospitality of the Long family.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eBunny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Long family is really hospitable and makes sure you have a great stay. They are happy to give recommendations, book tours and are very warm and friendly.

The hostel is safe, clean and secure. Plus, it comes with a yummy breakfast.. It met all my expectations!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCSanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We spent 6 days at the Long Hostel in late June 2012. We really liked the hostel and spent time talking with the Long family who were happy to talk about their country and answer all of our questions. The room and bathroom were clean and tidy and the air-conditioner worked well.

Mrs. Long had sent great directions for getting to the hostel from dealing with the taxi ride from the airport to finding the hostel. She even gave us instructions to have the driver phone her so that a family member could come out to meet us on the street. We were provided with a welcome drink and some lovely fresh fruit on arrival. Mrs. Long provided us with a map of the area and plotted on it all the things to see as tourists on our first visit to Saigon. She was also able to provide a folder with various tours in it at discounted prices which we made use of.

They were very helpful when we wanted to find out about places to eat and when it came to booking bus tickets to Cambodia they sorted it all out for us and picked up the tickets as well at no charge. The night before we left we found out that we apparently needed more passport photos than we had on us and they ran me around by motorbike at 9 o'clock at night to get these sorted.

The breakfast provided was simple but quite adequate.

We would happily recommend the Long Hostel to others and will definitely go back ourselves if we are back in HCMC/Saigon as we really enjoyed our experience. It was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#37 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#3 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
286 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#6 of 616 in Ho Chi Minh City
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hostel

Property: Long Hostel
Address: 10 373, Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 616 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing