We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely family, home away from home”
Review of Long Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Long Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely family, home away from home”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have been very unlucky along our travels and arrived at the hostel wounded from a scooter accident. The family were very caring and helped clean and dress our wounds whilst rushing to get us some hot tea and take the bags off our backs. They thoughtfully put us on the 1st floor which was greatly appreciated. They are happy, friendly and caring, we really felt safe and looked after. This is a budget hostel, so don't expect luxury! The room was clean and comfortable and was serviced by the hotel daily. We had another unfortunate/unlucky incident, where my boyfriend managed to lose his phone. The hotel staff helped us and came to the police station with us to translate, the police were so unhelpful and if it wasn't for the staff at the hotel we wouldn't have got our phone back. One of the daughters at hostel used her own phone to dial our international number and to our luck someone answered. They arranged to meet us at Saigon Hospital the following day to hand back our phone. We are truely humbled and warmed by the kind and gracious people we have met over the past few days, and Long Hostel is a huge part of that. Thanks again, Rebecca & Andy, UK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    172
    28
    6
    3
See reviews for
31
231
194
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Selangor, Malaysia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We arrived at midnight and their driver was waiting for us outside the airport, we didn't regret adding additional $15 for the pick up since the place is quite far from the airport.
We were welcomed by their friendly staff and was shown our room, the place is tidy equipped with a hot shower, a fan,an air-con, a TV, and the bed sheets and blankets are spotless.

We have to be picked up early by our tour agent so we requested an early breakfast and they have prepared a nice meal consisting of: coffee/tea with french bread served with their home made jam and jelly. Bananas were also served for dessert.

If you are on a budget and would like to experience a comfortable and friendly staff while in Ho Chi Minh, Long Hostel is the place to be.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blehblehbleh82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We enjoyed very much our stay in Long Hostel. Our room with window was big and comfortable, and is cleaned every day. Breakfast is filling and home-cooked. Mrs. Long and her family are friendly and helpful They give all guests a map and tips on where to go, what to see, where to eat, and where to shop.
Location is in a side street, about 20 minute walk to Ben Thanh market. It's in the tourist district, where there are also lots of hotels, restaurants and eateries, and coffee shops. At daytime, it's right behind a busy market where locals shop.
For the price range, Long Hostel is value for money.
Thank you to Mrs. Long and her family for making our stay in Ho Chi Minh comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderful888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This is a superb hostel! Took a bit of finding down a back street but once I did I stayed for my whole time in Ho Chi Minh City.

Mrs. Long really knows here stuff and sat me down with a cup of tea and a plate of bananas to give me a virtual tour of the city and pretty much set my agenda for the next few days. She can arrange tours, travel and taxis to and from the airport all very reasonably.

Excellent!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Long Hostel is the very best, enjoyed my stay here. Staffs are really helpful, and they're a family based hostel. I will always had a sweet memories of Ho Chi Minh City because of them.
I remember the time we arrived at night, no hassle or anything and in fact, Mrs. Long told us to rest first! Such a great experience and it's a pleasure to know them all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulianneRenfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We really liked this place. Long Hostel is clean and comfortable. It is in an ideal location for sighseeing, shopping, pubs and eating shops. The Long family and welcoming,friendly and helpful. They do not "gush" all over you in the hope that you will write a good review for them. Their hospitality is genuine and sincere. The rooms are basic with ensuite and a/c, a bar fridge and a TV with clean linen provided daily. The breakfast is simple but good. The coffee is great. Long Hostel has everything you need. Thanks to Mrs Long and her lovely family for all the advice about buses, walks, parks, markets and restaurants. Nothing is better than local knowledge! Mrs Long recommended a really great walking tour for us that included the local bus. She also organised bread rolls to be delivered for us so we could pack a lunch for a day out! This hostel is suitable for kids we travelled with our 7yr old son.We would highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeannine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed for two nights in Single room. Booked through email, paid 28USD upon check in. It’s on the 4th floor and don’t expect elevator. Single room comes with private bathroom, one queen size bed, 2 pillow, blanket, dressing table, fan, AC, small fridge, TV, as well as 2 slippers and even hanger, wow it’s a complete facilities for a guesthouse standard. Two bath towel, soap, shampoo, toothbrush also provided….Great and plus point!!! They accept both USD and VND, so no need to worry about currency exchange, as well as VISA.

Location is quite yet far from hassle and bustle Pham Ngu Lao main area. Lots of tour travel along the way, if you want to book bus ticket or Cambodia/Vietnam tour. On the departure date, you can book airport transfer, cost you only 160,000VND, it’s very easy, no need to stop the taxi in the street that might cost you more.

Just FYI that you can book a tour with them:
• Chu chi tunnel tour, cost 100.000VND, pick up @8am, and returned approx 3pm. Had Mr. Nam as my tour guide, and to be honest he is the BEST guide I had so far. He’s so informative and taking care of his entire group member. He makes sure that we are in the right place and we all feel the journey as it should be. Two thumbs up for Mr. Nam.
• Saigon-My Tho-Ben Tre tour, cost 210.000VND, pick up @8.30am, and returned approx 6pm. I had Mr. Bande as my tour guide and he is the WORSTTTTT guide ever!!!!!! Along the way, instead of provide us with tour information, he keeps on selling his returned tour by boat. As I counted, he announced this returned boat tour for more than 7 times. You have to pay another 16Euro in order to have this tour. No specific information given, most of the times we just following him with no idea where are we and what the place are. What a bad experience!!!
• Saigon-Cai Be-Vinh Long (price: 320.000 VND/pax), departure 07.45hrs,return 19.00hrs

My advice to get here, once you are in airport arrival exit, go to the taxi counter that comes with fixed price, give them the details address/ map, it cost 180,000VND with no additional cost, they will assist you start from the counter until you get into the taxi, very comfortable and the most important is SAFETY, especially for those single female traveler

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank menicr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#33 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,976 reviews
1.2 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#17 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#10 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,505 reviews
0.1 mi away
New Saigon Hostel
New Saigon Hostel
#2 of 572 in Ho Chi Minh City
283 reviews
30.0 mi away
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel
#3 of 572 in Ho Chi Minh City
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Long Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Hostel

Property: Long Hostel
Address: 10 373, Pham Ngu Lao street | Dist. 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 572 Specialty Lodging in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Long Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Guesthouse Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing