We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple and quite hotel in a great location of Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #53 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simple and quite hotel in a great location of Ho Chi Minh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Cat Huy is located in the heart of backpacker area in a very small street which makes it away from the noise of Saigon. We've stayed there 3 nights and if we come again to Saigon for sure we stay there again. Our room was on the last floor which is 6th level and there is no lift so could be a liitle problem for those who don't like doing some exercises. Room was quite big, very clean and bright with small balcony (we booked deluxe). There is a choice for breakfast Pho soup or different types of eggs. I really recommend Pho soup. As the hotel is in a narrow street which in the morning became a small food market you can watch during the breakfast trading between Vietnamese (especially fish selling which is exactly in front of the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ania100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    206
    40
    5
    9
See reviews for
43
284
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

You might not find it on your own, it's hidden down an alley off the main road. We arrange a pick up from a late flight so we were dropped off on the main road and the staff came to help us down the alley with our bags. Arriving late after a long flight from NYC the service and location of this hotel was just perfect. The Pho for breakfast had the most delicious broth of any Pho I ate in Vietnam. And the market everyday outside of the hotel in the alley made for a great introduction to HCMC. Cat Huy is in the Backpacker district but is just far enough away from the hustle and bustle to not feel so hectic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekanheran, Riau, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at the Cat Huy Hotel and found it very good value. Its a little out of the way but that keeps it quiet. It is located on a side street which is home to a thriving market during the morning which is interesting to walk through on your way to the sites. The women at the desk was very helpful with directions and booking tours and the breakfast was good. All in all a very nice stay. Just hope you don't get the rooms on the 6th floor unless you need the exercise no elevator.

Room Tip: Stay on the lower floors if you have the option
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lance W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Campbell, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Great hotel made even better by the staff who were very very helpful throughout our stay. We were here towards the end of our 9 week trip in Asia, we found the city a little difficult to deal with after being in so many friendly places thank goodness for this hotel and the staff they made our time there much easier.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank quack2129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

The Cat Huy is well described as "a gem" in HCMC. It can be a bit hard to find as it is tucked about 50m in to an alley. It is quite a small hotel, that does lock the doors later in the evening. I felt bad having to ring and wake the hotel staff for re-entry each night - though the service was always prompt and with a smile.

My room on the 4th floor was spacious, modern and clean. There was a small desk area, large armoire for storage, small fridge/mini bar, small sitting area, large bathroom, two windows [no views of note] and a flat screen TV.

All in all, decent value [an extremely basic breakfast included]. It is a 5 minute walk to the core of the tourist and backpacker-oriented bar/restaurants, and the major sights are within walking distance. If just arriving by air [especially in the evening], I would recommend contacting the hotel prior to arrange a taxi from the airport - save yourself a lot of hassle, and guaranteed that they will know the location!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_the_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to Ho Chi Min city so did not know what to expect from this price range of hotel.
Cat Huy is a clean and very friendly hotel ,all our needs were catered for and the staff go out of their way to help
The rooms are a good size and aircon installed , tea making facilities and a room safe are also supplied within the cost
The hotel is situated down an alley that sells fruit and meat products and is busy in the mornings , situated in the heart of district one
It is easy to find all what you need very close to restaurants and bars . Highly recommended hotel I really enjoyed my 4 nights there.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I liked this hotel a lot. Extremely good location with many restaurants in surrounding area and walking distance to most of the central city attractions. Easy to get to travel agents and bus pick up points for all the tour and inter-city departures as well as taxis. A wide range of restaurants both in price and food types nearby. All the above 5-10 minutes walk away and if you like people watching, then a long narrow park between the two roads at the end of the alley have the locals out getting a bit of space, exercise and just generally being people enjoying a bit of fresh air and each other's company. A good place for a long slow walk to enjoy Vietnamese people at home and get a flavour of their life. Outside in the early morning is a local market which if you're not used to this kind of street scene is well worth a slow walk to just see the real life of ordinary people. Be careful and courteous with the use of your camera. Some people are a little sensitive about photos.I can't speak too highly of the hotel staff. Very helpful and obliging at all hours of the day and night. Spotlessly clean rooms and good showers (A must for me) Quiet and comfortable.I liked the breakfast as well included with the room price, but if you feel the need to get back to more familiar food, no problem to walk to nearby eateries. The alley away from the busy street close by is a real plus. No danger of sleep disturbance at all. The one thing while I was there was that the air conditioning went off twice in different rooms (I stayed again when I came back from Cambodia. A good recommendation) and they were a little slow getting it fixed, but that is a very minor criticism. If I go back to Vietnam this is where I will stay. A word of warning If you want to stay here. Get organised and book as early as you can. I wasn't and had to stay elsewhere one night when it was booked out. Clearly, lots of other people think it's a good place to stay as well.

Room Tip: No lifts in the hotel, so it's all stairs. The hotel staff will help you get your bags up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Heliboy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#27 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,140 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#43 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#52 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#68 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Property: Cat Huy Hotel
Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing