We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cat Huy”
Review of Cat Huy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cat Huy Hotel
Ranked #67 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Landed in saigon v. late at night (Jetstar - ex Singapore), September 2012.. Had pre-booked Cat Huy for a few nights.

We were/are 50-odd experienced backpackers.

Cat Huy was an extremely pleasant surprise. Staff were very, very helpful. Room was good value.

Location - the thriving local market on the doorstep of the hotel - was what additionally made this situation come alive for us.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tutaikuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 540 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Loved being in the midst of the real Vietnamese action and people, well worth the money and staff have excellent knowledge and will go out of their way to help with anything you need. Delicious breakfast.. Short walk to Ben Tanh markets and walking out to street vendors is amazing, cute lane way. Great shopping area

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TiffLaverack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Was recommended by a friend who stayed at this place. Wouldn't have known that there's a nice hotel hidden in this alley. Very clean and cute room. Also got free wifi! Close to tourist place, just few minutes walk. Will stay here again when in Ho Chi Minh :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trvel_bum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

I am delighted to say that the hotel was adorable, cute, small and clean. The service was exceptional, the rooms were lovely and spacious, very clean. The breakfast was simple and nice. The only thing that I would remark is the location, there is a small market right in front of the hotel which doesn't seem really nice and clean, but otherwise the hotel is really close to the french quarter of Ho Chi Minh. If you choose this hotel you will defenetely not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank viktorijamano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Cat Huy has friendly service and the staff is very helpful. The room(s) are(were) very comfortable and spacious. The price of one night was a bit more than many other hotels/hostels in HCMC, but it is defo worth the money. It was quite and clean and we felt at home. The best part of the hotel is that the local farmer's market is literally right out the front door! A great place to get a glimpse of the day to day Vietnamese life. The market is so colorful (great place to snap some awesome pictures). I recommend this hotel to everyone. :-)

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a balcony that faces the alley so that you can watch the market from above!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 322MelanieL322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I used Cat Huy Hotel for one day in August 2012. Working staff welcomed me in a careful manner in spite of my delayed arrival at night. The room is clean and quiet. Of course, I could use W-Fi network. I impressed that breakfast, pho in which there are many kind of vegetables was delicious with mild taste. The location isn't bad, but I feel a little far from sight seeing spots in Ho Chi Minh City. And the hotel isn't easy to be found because it is located along the narrow street. In whole I feel very good impression and that price was reasonable. I' d like to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ambition-Chrysanth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed there just one night with my family. The bathrooms both had an awful stench but apart from that the rooms were ok. The young guy on the desk was nice enough but after arriving tired after a delayed flight at 9.00 pm did make us wait while he went through the paper work and passports etc... Also when checking out and paying in cash I asked to receive the change from Dong to US as we were leaving to Cambodia. This was no problem but when I asked him if he would mind changing my last 150,000 Dong ($7US) the reply was no we dont change money. Strange I thought.
The location was good for us as it was a 3 minute walk to the bus station in the morning but when we arrived found the hotel near the end of a dark which seemed to come alive in the morning with street sellers.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,213 reviews
1.4 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#45 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
527 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#95 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#50 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,555 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#82 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
122 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#75 of 466 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cat Huy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cat Huy Hotel

Address: 353 / 28 Pham Ngu Lao Street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 466 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $14 - $1,243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cat Huy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Cat Huy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing