We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base for HCMC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanouva Saigon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Ranked #43 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great base for HCMC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sanouva for three nights and found it a great base for sightseeing around Saigon. The rooms are modern, clean, and comfortable. We had a room on the 7th floor and had some street noise, but not enough to wake us up. You may want a room on a higher floor (5th +) if you're a light sleeper. I am a bit of a snob about having a nice bathroom and I found Sanouva's facilities to be very modern and clean.

They offer a breakfast buffet with eggs, bacon, salad, fruit, cereal, toast, and coffee, which was not extravagant but definitely enough to set you up for a day of sights and shopping. The breakfast area is small and I noticed people occasionally had to wait for a table or share with others. If you're having a quick bite for breakfast and don't mind sharing a table, I wouldn't let this put you off.

The hotel is located just a block away from the Ben Thanh market and many other shops. It is close to, but not right in, the area where many luxury hotels and shopping are located. I enjoyed that we were not surrounded by other tourists, but it's still close enough to have great shops and restaurants all around. I also found this place to be a great value compared to some of the other high-end hotels I researched. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSquirrelG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    767
    173
    25
    13
See reviews for
162
590
91
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our Cambodia/Vietnam trip which concluded with a three night stay at the Sanouva.
This hotel is great value with very helpful staff, clean spacious rooms and a good breakfast with which to start the day. Highly recommended.
Dave and Liz

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank wkdtroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

This is a clean hotel at the right price in a great location ! Staff are great and happy to help !!
I find Ho Chi Minh a great place to visit, so many of the people are friendly and happy to have a laugh, and there is great shopping close to this hotel, especially around the Ben Thanh Markets which are only a few minutes walk from the Sanouva Hotel !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_B528931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
146 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staff was great, breakfast area too small for size of hotel, but breakfast is good. Location is good, away from the large hotels but close enough to walk to restaurants and markets.
The rooms are clean and well equipped and the beds are comfortable. I would return here.

Room Tip: room over the breakfast area is a little noisy from 6 a.m. on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KitRaetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean and comfortable. The service was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was a little crowded. The room was a little noisey at times. I suspect traffic noise would e bad if you were on a lower floor. Location is good and not too touristy unlike the area around some of the bigger hotels.

Room Tip: Higher floors for less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zulqster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth Town
Level Contributor
330 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is just around the corner and a short walk from Ben Thanh Market. All of the major District 1 sites are with in a 15 - 20 min stroll. Lots of good restaurants are also not far. Non promotion prices of 50 - 60$ make the hotel a good value option. We had a premium deluxe room. Premium is a bit of a stretch but from our observation it wa better equipped than the basic deluxe. The rooms are not large, 20 m sq for premium deluxe and 25 m sq for sanouva deluxe. If you are not active then take the sanouva as the bed in the premium is pushed against the wall on one side to give more space in the room. As previous reviewers indicate the rooms are clean, good standadr fittings, the air con works really well, the bathroom is clean with an excellent shower and a good size tv with most of the options. The better rooms also have windows, our had a view of the neighborhood. We also were not disturbed by the traffic noise. The beds and pillows were comfortable, so all in all a good nights sleep.
The breakfast area is small but we always had a table and seats available. Small choice but reasonably good breakfast - prepared off site. our only hassle was the wifi. At times it worked really well whilst others it kept dropping out. Very annoying.
Overall a good value hotel, that i would return to for a short HCMC stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbfun48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the sanouva,staff were very helpful and the doorman went out of his way to be helpful.We found the breakfast had everything you need to start your day.For the price we paid we were very impressed.The highlight was on international womens day they presented all women staying in the hotel with a little gift.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bearle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Avanti Hotel
Avanti Hotel
#24 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.1 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#53 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
Silverland Central Hotel and Spa
#52 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Anpha Boutique Hotel
Anpha Boutique Hotel
#21 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#34 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,881 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Alcove Library Hotel
The Alcove Library Hotel
#20 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sanouva Saigon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sanouva Saigon Hotel

Property: Sanouva Saigon Hotel
Address: 177 Ly Tu Trong Street | Ben Thanh Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sanouva Saigon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sanouva Saigon is a newly established hotel, at the heart of Ho Chi Minh City, one block away from Ben Thanh market, the most famous traditional market in Saigon. Our 53 elegant rooms are all equipped with center air-conditioning system, cable LCD TV, IDD Telephone, and free Wireless Broadband Internet at your fingertips. Each room also has its own bathroom with shower and built in hair dryer, a well stocked mini-bar, safety box to guarantee comfort during guest’s stay. Our hotel provides our guests with a luxurious restaurant with professional chefs to deliver you the finest cuisine. We put our very best effort to ensure guest stay at our humble establishment, Sanouva, a pleasurable, comfortable and enjoyable one. We wish to make guest’s experience with us as mesmerizing as their visit to our city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sanouva Saigon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing