We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Ranked #163 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed May 31, 2014

located on the backpackers street, and very near to the heart of city in Saigon. I love the room, i love the vietnamese breakfast they have. Easy to manuver, and they have friendly staff at the front desk.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MaiDreamsComeTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 22 of 560 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2014

The hotel offers a good location to explore the City. Breakfast was nice and you are far enough away from the traffic to not be too noisy. Staff were friendly and overall very reasonable travellers hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anonymoose11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We booked this hotel while in New Zealand. We emailed the staff at the hotel to ask questions and to try and book us a taxi for when we got there. They straight the way got back to us and told us they themselves would send one of there staff members to come and pick us up. The hotel is bang in the middle of it all on backpacker ally. So there is a lot of noise, we thankfully were on the 9th floor so you couldn't really here a lot from the street below. Although you did get a wake up call between 5-6 every morning from the cleaning and restaurant working staff on the floor above, as that's where you go to have breakfast. The room was a good size and clean. The bed however was very hard and you could literally feel every single spring in it. The bathroom was also clean, but the shower was terrible we couldn't get it to work properly, the water only came out of about 5 holes in the shower head and it didn't even get warm. That for us was a disappointment. If you are on a budget defiantly stay here, if you can afford to stretch it a bit more find somewhere a little better.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kieran_elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights (two girls in our mid 20's). It was in the heart of it all. we wanted two nights on backpacker alley, and that's what we got! Backpacker alley is extremely loud, but we could not hear any of this once we had gone to bed. The rooms were clean and comfortable and there was hot water in the shower. This is by no means a luxury hotel, but you get what you pay for. We recommend this hotel to young people who do not want to stay in a super budget hostel. It is a great location and the free breakfast includes eggs made to order.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Fine budget hotel in the backpacker district. The room was a fairly small size but fine for our needs. Air conditioning worked well but was noisy. The noise from the corridor was very loud with the staff moving through the hotel. Great view from the dining room on the top floor. Breakfast was average at best. Staff were very friendly and helpful as with all hotels we stayed at in Vietnam, they provide a little map of Ho Chi Minh and will point out stuff to see. They all spoke good English. It's a fair walk from most things outside of the backpackers area but not too bad. Wifi worked very well as did the safe and hot water. We did find a half-dead cockroach by the entrance to the bathroom one morning. I would stay here if you are on a budget and aren't bothered by noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunkysaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights as my first stop for my Vietnam adventure.. The hotel was ok although located in a cramped backpackers area. The room I booked was surprisingly tiny so I didn't really like it. Plus the hotel staff going up and down noisily along the stairs which was next to my room.About the breakfast, it was set style..All in all, it was an ok stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 532glennt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is of course an inexpensive crash pad. If you're looking for a basic hotel in backpacker haven and don't mind blaring club music, look no further. Nice and helpful staff, computers in the lobby for guests to use, conveniently located in the midst of many eateries, motorcycle rentals, bars, and the ubiquitous Circle K's that seem to sprout from every corner in the city. Clean-ish rooms (mold and collected water in the bathrooms) for the most part, but my otherwise laundered sheets were stained with old blood. I can't complain about this because the room was so cheap - what do you expect at this price point?

The only really terrible unforeseen aspect during my stay was all the bars in the alleys with young Vietnamese girls lounging about. Old white men flocked to them, aged and bald, fondling them in the open-air bars, shameless in their pedophilia. Needless to say, this was a tragic thing to witness as I strolled back to the hotel each night, the delight I had just experienced from my dinner river cruise quickly replaced by humanitarian concerns of third world sex slavery and the western male world's continued exploitation of young girls.

If you don't mind being exposed to and surrounded by brazen pedophilia, then you won't be bothered when staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darini_Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#168 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#91 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
812 reviews
0.2 mi away
CCentral Hotel Bui Vien
CCentral Hotel Bui Vien
#15 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Pravina Hotel
Pravina Hotel
#154 of 465 in Ho Chi Minh City
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Mini Hotel 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mini Hotel 5

Address: 196 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 465 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $24 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly convenient and accessible, SAIGON MINI HOTEL 5 is centrally located in the heart of the backpacker area on BUI VIEN Street. The location offers varied choices of eateries and shops, as well as various sightseeing offices and departure points for out-of-town tours and short trips, all within walking distance (some are just across the street). So, there are plenty of choices even late into the night. Also, the famous Ben Thanh market (around 15 minutes walking) and other well-known places of interest are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing