We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“TerryC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Ranked #148 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“TerryC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice little hotel. I stayed here for three nights. It is centrally located near sites and business. The people here were very nice. They were easy to work with and available to assist in any sightseeing you might be interested in doing as well as places to dine and shop. If you ever get to Saigon and want a nice yet affordable place to stay I recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    214
    85
    22
    10
See reviews for
59
204
85
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Situated in the heart of busy district for tourists. Near in shopping stores and different restaurants. It takes 15 min walk going to the night market.The hotel and rooms don't look like the way it is presented on the website. Hopefully the room and bedsheets don't smell like Chinese scents which made me a lil uncomfortable. Airconditioner was too low to fight the temperature. Something they need to take into consideration for their guests.

Courteous and prompt staffs will brighten your disappointments towards the hotel. Though they are difficult to understand, they will answer you on their best way they could. Due to language barrier, mix up of details and misinformation can be resulted just like what happened to us.

Highlight: they are the who arranged our tour around ho chi minh.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copy_Me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonMiniHotelBOM, General Manager at Saigon Mini Hotel 5, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for taking a valued time to write this comment. We understand you love the location and the service.
Regarding your review on air-con, We are in the high temperature season on which some travelers from western may not familiar with the hottest weather. The air-conditioning sets always on periodic maintenance plan also need a necessary time to get cold. Hope you can sympathy with the status, while we also provide one electric fan in room to push up the process. Anyway, we are very sorry for the inconvenience.

Regarding photos, the whole photos on our site and this OTA are taken from the real rooms by our management and our stayed guests. We are very sorry for not having any room picture taken by your site so that we do not know exactly which hotel and room you stayed. We offer our guests many kind of rooms with its feature so that you may not find out whole room type just within a short stay.

Thank for many contributed comments from our stayed guests that we will try to improve ourselves not only for working skill but at the language skill to gap the barrier; especially with the guests who not use English as native language.

Thank you very much and hope to see and serve you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Noisiest place we have ever stayed....in the world. Location is slap-bang in the middle of the backpacker's area.

We were placed on the 6th floor at the back but the noise from karaoke was absolutely absurd, even on a Tuesday night, and ran till past 3AM. Spoke to the management and they placed us at the front of the hotel but the traffic noise was crazy. Bloody horrendous. In the morning we saw and spoke with a few other guests who also looked shell-shocked from no sleep and pretty unhappy. How this place has good reviews I honestly and genuinely do not know!

Rooms are small, pretty grubby, old, and in real need of a re-furb - our shower had no door, the cold tap was broken and the toilet seat would not close and there was no loo-roll holder lol!

Also, perhaps our mistake, but breakfast wasnt included - an additional $3 each which makes this hotel poor value. Having seen the breakfast, I'm glad we didn't fork out!

There are much, much better options out there....

Room Tip: Erm....try a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonMiniHotelBOM, General Manager at Saigon Mini Hotel 5, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Ben J,

Thank you very much for taking a valued time to write this comment.
We seriously consider and listen to your feedback as well as the other comments from our stayed guests so that we can improve ourselves for a better service. We appreciate whole contributed reviews that helps us to find and fix our weakness and fault.
However, we do not feel that we are in whole ways to blame. We do not try to prove we are right, but would like to ask you to give us an opportunity to explain for a full picture. about your complain about the dirty, we assured that your room was made up by our 5 year experience housekeeper. moreover, to ensure the service, then, our quality control team checked the quality of room sanitary status before letting the guest to check in. for that reason, If guest found something not match with the standardized service as committed or something wrong and happened unexpectedly on the room facilities, guest can ask for re-cleaning or even for moving room. We are always pleased to try for your most comfortable stay.

We were very sorry for the noise as you found. Sorry ! It was not from the karaoke (within our property does not serve karaoke service), but from the band for funeral ceremony from the neighbor house (it is also a custom in Vietnam). We are very sorry, but it is from the outside factor that we are not able to do anything. as the original booking, you have booked a standard room, but because of the problem with the noise, we were pleased upgrade you to the front room DELUXE. This room has with well insulated window to keep the atmosphere quieter from the traffic noise. sorry, but we have to say that we are living in busy downtown central with local life happening daily. So it cannot be quietest as the suburbs. However, many travelers love our location because we are not so close with bars and pubs like many hotels facing, but prime in the center of the tourist area.

We always try to diversify our service to satisfy with many kind of inquiries of travelers about accommodation and service. As you know that some guests do not need breakfast included with accommodation, while they can easily enjoy at surrounding food stalls. Why ask them to book room with higher price because of breakfast charge included. This is the reason we offer the kind of Room Only (no breakfast included), if guest would like to try our service, surcharge will be informed clearly in advance for the guest choice before ordering; and you have booked a room only at the cheaper price.

We management board would like to meet with you to explain for something that should be clarified for the most sympathized. We, many time, offer a complimentary breakfast for our kind guests who booked room without meal included; or offer a Free upgrading to a higher class room if we have it available; or any trouble happened unexpectedly. Whole things we do at our humble property just would like to bring our guest the most comfortable and enjoyable stay.

We would love to hear from you and appreciate your continue support.
Thank you very much and hope to see and serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Travelled here as two girls, stayed in a deluxe double room for two nights. The room was clean,bright and had excellent wifi reception. The breakfast was lovely (try the scrambled egg!) and the staff were so helpful. We wanted a specific place to stay on the next leg of the journey but this place didn't have a website to book however the staff rang the guest house a number of times to make sure we were booked in. Couldn't have helped us more! Highly recommended if you want to be in the centre of it all and want a nice clean place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 301
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

the overall experience was very good
staff were always very friendly and helpful
the breakfast buffet was excellent quality
the room facilities were great, including a large flat panel in the room that was easy to hook up to a laptop to watch movies; the room also included a laptop which was a great touch for travelers :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d3research
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Travelled in a family of 8 including 2 children, stayed in 2 family rooms, each room with 2 double beds. Rooms come with bath and hot shower, toiletries are provided. Location is great - in the middle of the hotel district and within walking distance to the park, Ben Thanh market, Saigon Square & Sinh Tourist where we bought day tours.
The staff are very nice, friendly and helpful - receptionist, supervisor - are great.
Breakfast is on the 10th floor which is the rooftop and is bread, sausage, bacon, eggs, banana, pho noodles, Vietnamese coffee - this hotel actually makes the best pho noodles and Vietnamese coffee - try the iced white coffee. The supervisor even patiently explained to me how to make the coffee myself and gave me a Vietnamese coffee maker as a gift so i could make my own when i got back home.
24 hour minimart right infront of the hotel where you can get snacks and drinks for your room. There's plenty of places to eat nearby and some souvenier shops where you can pick up last minute t-shirts, coffee and other souveniers.

Room Tip: Take the deluxe rooms. One thing though, our family stayed in 2 family rooms, and 1 of our group...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasA687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We spent 2 nights in Ho Chi Minh City and knew we wanted to be down near the bars/restaurants /backpacker area and as such came across this hotel which suited us perfectly. Our room was on the 3rd floor and faced on to the busy Bui Vien street, however the double glazing was so good we hardly heard a thing and slept really well on both nights. The room was clean and the bathroom fine although the shower hose leaked. Breakfast was okay but its better if you are at breakfast when it is not too busy, as the service was a little slow. The bread rolls were lovely and you can only have one drink so we took some water up on the second day. There was a young girl on reception who was friendly and helpful and recommended a good place to get some Pho (noodle soup) which was a few minutes walk around the corner - we tried it and it was excellent and really cheap. If you are looking for somewhere right in the middle of things at a reasonable price then I would recommend this hotel. 7/11 just across the road too which was handy.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisawScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#155 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#173 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#78 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dragon Palace Hotel
Dragon Palace Hotel
#161 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
Beautiful Saigon 3 Hotel
#45 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Mini Hotel 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mini Hotel 5

Property: Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Address: 196 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly convenient and accessible, SAIGON MINI HOTEL 5 is centrally located in the heart of the backpacker area on BUI VIEN Street. The location offers varied choices of eateries and shops, as well as various sightseeing offices and departure points for out-of-town tours and short trips, all within walking distance (some are just across the street). So, there are plenty of choices even late into the night. Also, the famous Ben Thanh market (around 15 minutes walking) and other well-known places of interest are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing