We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mini but maxi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Ranked #162 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 30, 2013

great price for a nice room. staffs're very friendly and helpful. room is clean and big enough for us (4 persons). cheap and neat. location is accessible, lots of restaurants and bars nearby. breakfast is good, with western and local menu. love the pho noodle!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agustinedwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 560 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good hotel great location right on one of the main busy streets.We had a deluxe room over looking main street but wasnt kept awake with the noise must have been big comfy bed! Close to all tourist attractions and some great food places,very helpful and pleasent staff.Would defantly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debbie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Located right on the fun and busy road and walking distance to shopping areas. Rooms are clean and big, however bathroom have a stale smell.

Wifi password given to us was incorrect and we only managed to get it figured out during the last night of our stay. Airport transfer was a disappointment, despite paying for our ticket voucher at the hotel reception, the staff didn't give us the vouchers. We had to pay the taxi driver in CASH again upon leaving the taxi. We even gotten the driver to call hotel reception, but the hotel staff told us they had forgotten to give us the vouchers. But the taxi driver insisted us to pay.

Travelers, please remember to collect your vouchers from hotel reception if you are booking their airport transfer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nnantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonMiniHotelBOM, General Manager at Saigon Mini Hotel 5, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear our valued guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our service. We were delighted to have you and the party with us. However, we found some issues that you pointed out need to be clarified for a full picture as following:
1. About our WIFI system at our properties, there is at least one wireless rounter installed at each floor. They are always maintained periodic by our IT team. We also offer our hotel guests many useful tips including the instruction how to get the most powerful signal for the internet. Guest can choose many available access points when searching. We are very sorry for your case. Actually, the wifi password is clearly informed to the checking in guest by our receptionist staff. Guest can find more information from the hotel guest directory in room; some short guidance also sticked on the phone set for a glance. Or if you need any assistance during your stay you can immediately contact us for support on time.
2. About the taxi voucher left behind at our front desk after you checked out. They were given to you. But may you and the parties within the group forgot to collect them. How the buyer can leave without collecting the bought thing after the purchasing process completed. Guests are responsible for belongings including documents. However, we acknowledge that we have to give our valued guest a gentle reminder to check everything before leaving to make sure that guests do not leave things behind incidentally. We are very sorry for our staff clumsy performance. She should have been contacted directly to the operation officer of the airport taxi to confirm the missing voucher left behind. The driver who drove you to the airport has confirmed he did not collect your cash, and he just came back our hotel to get the voucher. If he did not tell the truth, please scan the taxi receipt when he collected your money. This will be a solid evidence for us to make a complain the the agency to help them improve the service. If everything is clear, we will try to find the best way to charge back the taxi fee to you. Anyway, we are very sorry for some inconvenient things happened that may affect to your nice experience with us. Please accept our sincere apology for all things that was not going smoothly as they should be.

Please let us know that we should do for your continued support and contribution. Thank you very much. Looking forward to hearing from you soon.
Yours sincerely,
The hotel management board

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

i stayed room 603( standard room without window but small window inside bathroom for air circulation). Room is clean, big enough for single traveler. Shower head, a/c, mini refrigerator and wifi is working well. Airport transfer service with acceptable fees.

Good location, Ben Than market is within walking distance frm this hotel ( probably 15 mins on foot ).

This is great value hotel. definately will stay here for the next visit to HCMC with my family.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caterpillertrakindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Great location, on a fun and busy road. Super helpful staff, and the although the rooms were quite large and clean - they are quite old and could probably do with a touch up! The hotel is great value, and I would defiantly stay here again the next time we visit!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hessienoogen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank neen179
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed one night at this hotel, in room 201 I believe, and woke up with bedbug bites and found two bedbugs in our bed - one of which was alive and full of (our) blood. In addition to this problem, the room itself had a bad odor and the bathroom was cramped. When I showered, water leaked all over the floor and overall it was not a good experience. Needless to say, we cancelled the rest of our stay and changed hotels right away. I will say that the staff was accommodating and kindly did not charge us a cancellation fee. Despite this, however, unfortunately I cannot recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Welp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SaigonMiniHotelBOM, General Manager at Saigon Mini Hotel 5, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear our valued guest,
Thank you for choosing us and giving the feedback. We do apology for the happened thing. Actually, we are seriously to concern about the hotel guests’ safety including the pest control process that we do strictly during our hygiene crash program to ensure the standardized service. Unlucky for us, under some conditions of humid weather or the status of some guests’ luggage or bags traveled from various areas including places having bug epidemic, there are some unexpected cases that we cannot control thoroughly. The only reliable way to ensure beg bug don’t spread into the hotel, we need the cooperation of the checking in guests who just travel from the places having bug epidemic. However, this is belonging to the guest’s attitude and decision. Many guests are willing to do, but some of others are not concerning. At some cases, guests checked out, but left bugs with us. We are facing to the difficulty that is not easy to overcome. But we have to try the best to ensure our hotel guests’ accommodation comfortable and enjoyable. This is also our motto. We do hope you can give us a sympathy as we know that this case is not the unique at our hotel, but many places in the world even hotels and properties in New York city also face to. We are extremely very sorry for the case happened. Although we have suggested that you could choose other same kind of room or take other room at our sister building to stay alternatively. But it seems that we could not persuade you for this favor.

About stopping bug, we have do some necessary process for this: close out the room for a special pest control process for at least two weeks; set up new beds into the room, changed whole mattresses and whole linens… to ensure that this room can be in order for service. Regarless the problem, you still offered us good words about our staff’s attitude. We appreciate it your encouragement.

We did not charge a penalty for your late cancellation; and also discounted more USD to compensate. Hope that our sincere apology and heart felt explanation will clear up your disappointment soon.

The management board of the SAIGON MINI HOTEL group

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#154 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
26 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#76 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,096 reviews
0.0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#137 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#98 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
805 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#175 of 462 in Ho Chi Minh City
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Mini Hotel 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mini Hotel 5

Address: 196 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 462 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $24 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly convenient and accessible, SAIGON MINI HOTEL 5 is centrally located in the heart of the backpacker area on BUI VIEN Street. The location offers varied choices of eateries and shops, as well as various sightseeing offices and departure points for out-of-town tours and short trips, all within walking distance (some are just across the street). So, there are plenty of choices even late into the night. Also, the famous Ben Thanh market (around 15 minutes walking) and other well-known places of interest are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing