We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very worthwhile stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Saigon Mini Hotel 5
Ranked #163 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We've booked the Deluxe room for a 3-night stay. Central location, clean rooms with comfortable beds and shower, good breakfast, very friendly and helpful staff members.

Special thanks to receptionist Nicky for recommending and arranging local tours for us, and the doorman (didn't catch his name) who always made an extra effort to take care of our needs on top of flagging down taxis for us.

Great value hotel indeed, we would definitely stay here again if we visit HCMC! *two thumbs up*

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meng Yean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

124 - 130 of 560 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was the second time I'd stayed at this hotel (first time was in November 2010) mainly for the location and price and I remember the beds were very comfortable.

This was still good on second visit although everything is a little worn and needs some attention. The walls have peeling paint, woodwork is scuffed and the bathroom fitings weren't working that well. But this is still a decent place for one of two nights. Breakfast on the top floor has nice views and the choice is great for USD3.

Room Tip: The ones at the back are a bit quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank talltaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

No complaints, well worth the price. Me and my friends stayed here for 3 nights last 2nd week of Nov. 2012 . We found the staff at the reception helpful, nice and friendly... We especially enjoyed the breakfast and everyday change of towels... Would definitely book again when we come back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhys729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good little hotel, friendly staff, clean rooms, right smack in the middle of the excitement, an overall pleasant experience.
Low-Mid range hotel in a good location. Tours available, and a restaurant on the top floor. Breakfast is basic but there are 4 choices. For lunch and dinner be sure to eat street food or at local restaurants.
Free wi-fi too!

Room Tip: Get one with AC as it can get hot in your room (more so than outside). Also sleeping plugs help to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZSTAGNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I originally booked 2 nights at this hotel and found the staff nice and helpful and the hotel to be very well located and clean with good size rooms, great value for money.
For this reason we decided to book a further 2 nights!
I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Ho Chi Minh, close to shops, nightlife, restaurants and within walking distance of the city's main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights in november 2012. first, we found out that our hotel was changed from saigon mini hotel 6 to saigon mini hotel 5 - without our consent - and we couldn't change it back. the rooms are tiny but clean. the best thing about this hotel is its location - touristic centre of saigon. free wifi and very good breakfasts. not the best but ok.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catareenas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

the rooms were ok for size and cleanlieness . If you want quite do not take a street front room as this hotel is on a busy street with lots of traffic . i was a little concerned as they had the elevator fixed while we were there and even after it was supposedly fixed and it didnt work very well . the bell staff and security are great . the receptionist desk needed a little help . we had booked for 5 days and on day 4 we were told we had to move to there sister hotel. it was a big task and the new rooms were smaller than what we had so we went to another hotel . PS the brekfast that is included is not good at all . it is provided in a sweat shop like room on the roof top and it was not impressive at all . we paid $32 a night if you pay anything over that its not worth it .

Room Tip: if you want quite at night dont take street front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevortolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#99 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
820 reviews
0 mi away
Meraki Boutique Hotel
Meraki Boutique Hotel
#186 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
31 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#76 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
DDA Hotel District 1 (BIZU)
#157 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
274 reviews
0 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 475 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saigon Mini Hotel 5? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saigon Mini Hotel 5

Address: 196 Bui Vien Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 848, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 475 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $22 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly convenient and accessible, SAIGON MINI HOTEL 5 is centrally located in the heart of the backpacker area on BUI VIEN Street. The location offers varied choices of eateries and shops, as well as various sightseeing offices and departure points for out-of-town tours and short trips, all within walking distance (some are just across the street). So, there are plenty of choices even late into the night. Also, the famous Ben Thanh market (around 15 minutes walking) and other well-known places of interest are all easily accessible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Saigon Mini Hotel 5 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing