We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything is good, except breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The location - fantastic. It is in district 1 - the centre of the city. Everything in a walking distance: river, shops, market, bars and etc.

The rooms are good, clean, well equiped.

I didn't like the breakfast. The food trays are almost empty. They fill them, but very slowly. For example, there are no egss. You ask for them. They bring 2 eggs. Somebody comes and takes those eggs, so if you are not fast enough, you must ask for another 2 eggs. The same with a bacon.
Maybe it is OK in Vietnam. Similar situation in other hotels we've stayed. Probably they try not to waste the food, but it is not wright for the guests.

Room Tip: Request higher floor - beautiful views of Saigon :)
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SigitaVilnius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (454)
There are newer reviews for Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 454 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were booked to stay in this hotel for 2 nights at the end of a memorable 11 days in Vietnam. Unfortuantely we only lasted 1 as it was a major dissapointment. The rooms were in poor condition, mould throughout the bathroom. Carpet in the hallways in a shocking state.
Despight the fact we had 2 small children and requested a non-smoking floor the smell of stale smoke was everywhere.
Breakfast was average to say the least in a non a/c room on the top floor.
HCMC has a competitive hotel market and there are much better value options out there as we found when we shifted for our 2nd night.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

As part of a 11 day tour of Vietnam, my husband and I stayed at the Asian Ruby for 3 nights. The rooms are on the small side but were very clean, a bit noisy but as soon as you get used to the honking horns from the street you don't notice too much. Maybe use ear plugs for the first night. The hotel staff all very friendly, happy and helpfull, most understood and spoke basic English.
The breakfasts were okay, good basic food. We had dinner in the dining room on the top floor, which has a small balcony with tables and chairs, our first night there. The meal was excellent, no complaints. The hotel is within easy walking distance to a large shopping center with a food court and a food market on the bottom level, where we got some snacks, soft drinks and extra bottled water. Good location and a good start to our wonderful Vietnam tour.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the hotel, away from the noisy street.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Leigh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2012

Nice hotel, rooms decent sized, breakfast very good. Yes, windows are to the side with no view. If you want a view, stay outside of the downtown area. Our room was very clean and nice. WiFi available.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Handywoman9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent two nights at this hotel. Our "Deluxe room" was small, dark and claustrophobic. It had small window to the side which did not let in much natural light. The room had a dirty floor, and the grotty attached bathroom was full of mould. There was a cheap tap badly attached to the bathroom sink which did not function as it should have. Breakfast was in a spartan room on the 10th floor.There was a good choice of options available including omlettes made to order but the overall quality of the food was poor. The receptionist who I dealt with was rude and unhelpful, the rest of the staff were friendly and wanting to please.
The hotel is well positioned for walking to many of the tourist attractions of HCMC.
This hotel seems to be used for large tour groups.
I do not recommend this hotel, there are many hotels in this area which provide better value than this one

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WiseOwl72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

The hotel was in a decent location near a park which helped keep the hotel relatively quiet in the evenings. When we checked in with our children late our first evening the rooms we requested to be next to each other were 2 floors apart. They told us they would look into moving one of the rooms the next morning, however the next morning they would only move one of the rooms with a $26 additional upgrade charge which was really high considering the room originally only cost $33, even though there were 4 empty rooms out of the 6 on the same floor as me. The only difference I could see in the upgraded room was wallpaper on the wall. The beds were typical hard Asia beds, and hot water could be had if you shower in the evening or at an odd time during the day, but there was no hot water in the mornings. Breakfast decent and so was the elevator on day 1. However the elevator broke by the evening of day one and was still broken the next day which made it very difficult for the 2 people in our group with foot problems who had to make it to the 9th floor. Staff was friendly other than not helping straighten out the room situation that they put us in. Given our particular experience I don't think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank custravel_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asianrubyhotel H, Manager at Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear our partner,
Warmest greeting from Asian Ruby Hotel system and I hope this mail finds you well,
Thank you for your corporate,
Help us remove this review because they put wrong hotel, this review at Asian Ruby 4
Please feel free to contact if you have any request.
Many thanks with my best regards
Long Pham (Mr.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and loved the location to attend the Tet festivities. The staff were very helpful, Wi-Fi in the room and very clean and quiet. When my husband told reception it was my birthday, they gave me a bottle of wine. Totally unexpected and a generous gesture.

Room Tip: We booked through Agoda and got a great rate, but we had the one room on the floor without a window...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank martha2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
Bong Sen Hotel Saigon
#122 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
526 reviews
0.1 mi away
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
Silverland Sil Hotel & Spa
#79 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
293 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
Blue Diamond Signature Hotel
#133 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Spring Hotel
Spring Hotel
#135 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
457 reviews
0.0 mi away
May Hotel
May Hotel
#175 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel)
Royal Hotel Saigon ( Kimdo Hotel...
#97 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel

Address: 26 Thi Sach Street | Ben Nghe Ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $41 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel is well-known as the professional and friendly hotel in HCM Downtown, especially with Japanese customers. We have 80 rooms decorated by the harmonious combination between classical and modern design. Featuring with designing light makes Asian Ruby Hotel more elegant and luxurious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asian Ruby Luxury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing