We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Hotel is "sucks"!”
Review of City Star Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
City Star Hotel
Ranked #445 of 963 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2014

based on what we experienced last Jan.9-12 in this hotel we are all disappointed with my workmates. We booked through agoda and its confirmed i called the hotel before we left here in Cambodia i called a long distance to the hotel to confirm again that we booked in their hotel and they say YES. We never taught that the problem will start upon our arrival until we check out. They will transfer you to other hotel because they don't have available room and they know already that we had a booking. The management is very poor! the staffs are Rude!never book to this hotel guys!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank era111081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

The rooms are actually quite nicely decorated, modern and clean.. The bathrooms were also modern and pleasant ( except for the shower head that kept wanting to angle upwards towards the ceiling) what spoiled this for me was the behaviour of the night receptionist. They rotated receptionists through the day, and the morning and afternoon receptionists were communicative and helpful, but the night receptionist was downright hostile. We got back to our room one Afternoon to find that the air conditioner had leaked all over our clothes and my makeup bag and contents was literally dripping with water. The afternoon guy was extremely apologetic and helped us find a different room, which was an upgrade, although we were required to pay the upgrade cost. The next morning I went downstairs early to ask if they would safekeep our passports at reception in the safe he pointed to when we checked in. When I greeted this night receptionist who had not logged off his shift, he did not even look up at me until I repeated me greeting when he reluctantly looked up. When I asked him to safekeep our passports he sullenly accepted it, then shoved the passports into plastic sleeves, opened an unlocked drawer by his side that contained several passports, dropped it in there and shut the drawer right next to the swinging flap to reception and made no move to even lock the drawer... And became quite hostile when I expressed that wasn't exactly safe, and questioned why he wasn't using the safe he pointed to when we checked in to safekeep such an important document.

From that time on I intentionally avoided having to deal with reception during the night - the afternoon guy was lovely and even helped me order pizza one night when my husband and I were laid up with gastro. I would only stay there again if that man was no longer at the hotel.

Point to note, the standard rooms are next to the fairly clanky lift shafts so if you are a light sleeper it pays to invest 10 USD more in one of the rooms at the end.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are next to the lift shafts so are pretty noisy - the higher grade rooms are very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieBennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

The room was good. It was clean and was cleaned daily. The room didnt have any windows but it was ok. We could hear a little bit of traffic outside but it didn't disrupt our sleep, it's situated on a busy road. Air con was excellent and there was always hot water.
The staff were really good, very helpful and seemed like lovely people, were always willing to help us.
Also free wifi which was really good and fast. Free use of computers downstairs if needed.
We used the laundry service and it was a bit pricey but then again we had a lot of washing.
Breakfast was ok, Buffett style. Rice, noodles, eggs, bread, tea, coffee, juice.
A few restaurants down the road but worth working an extra five minutes to the back packer area for lots more choice.
The location was good, we don't mind walking so could get to the main attractions on foot.. Sky Tower, independence palace, war museum, Ben thanh markets etc.
Ho Chi Minh is a very busy city, the hotel room was a nice place to go to once we'd had enough of the scooters and craziness! I thought it was good value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natasha K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

The Customer Service was excellent! They were very nice, friendly and warm! I truly recommend this Hotel. I have been travelling to HCMC for more that 12 years and stayed at many Hotels, and im my opinion, this was one of the best and most affordable.

There might be other customers who might have had a different experience, but it all comes to what kind of attitude you project... project yourself with a good positive attitude and a friendly personality, without being so demanding just because you might feel that you are superior. Shine anywhere you go!!!

Room Tip: Plan ahead what you can afford and stop demanding or expecting environments from the developed count...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2009

The receptionist tried to charge us on leaving,even after all paperwork pointed out that we had paid prior to our arrival. She was adament that agoda had not paid and this was the normal procedure, Even when shown this not to be true. this spoilt the stay in Saigon for us. the hotel can arrange tours which are reasonable priced, other negatives are the breakfast is fried egg or Jam toast, And the rooms are small and musty smelling. Overall we think the hotel is overpriced

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

For 30$$US a night me and my husband where really pleased about the cosyness and the friendly staff. Although the surrounding has some 'massage' spots it's very quiet inside, we had a windowless room, great for a quiet sleep, fantastic kingsize bed and a good bathroom with a wide glassframed shower.
Right opposite are some very good small vietnamese restaurants, we liked the food very much and the Saigon beer really serves the dedicated beer lover like we are.
We left an expensive leather wallet in the room with no credit cards and no cash but some important overseas member cards, we only found out after some days and we emailed them and it was found and given to the reception desk!!!!!!! so we will pick it up on return.
Walking distance to all important places and going by taxi is very cheap and reliable,everything on reach within 10 minutes by taxe.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magmur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2009

For my recent trip to HCM city, we stayed 2 nights at this hotel. with USD32 per night for the deluxe room, it is really value for money. we were paying USD50 the night before for a 3 stars hotel on Thi Min Khai road which was 8 minutes away on foot.

City Star hotel, the room is new and with modern setup and cosy. the front desks assistants were very helpful.

we would recommend this hotel for budget travellers.

on foot, it took about 10 minutes to reach the Reunification Palace and about 15 minutes to Ben Thanh Market.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ewein L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.1 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Riverside...
#20 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,744 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nikko Saigon
Hotel Nikko Saigon
#5 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
3,562 reviews
1 mi away
The Reverie Saigon
The Reverie Saigon
#1 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#38 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint Hotel
Liberty Central Saigon Citypoint...
#12 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
Alagon Saigon Hotel & Spa
#51 of 468 in Ho Chi Minh City
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Star Hotel

Address: 13 Bui Thi Xuan Street | Ward Ben Thanh, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 84, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #445 of 963 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $21 - $38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Star Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City Star hotel, the newly two star hotel standard, is conveniently located in the heard of Ho Chi Minh Entertainment Shopping Business District, it takes few minutes to Ben Thanh Market, Opera House, Shopping Mall and Restaurants...Only 20 drive to Tan Son Nhat International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your City Star Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing