We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we will come back :)”
Review of Nguyen Khang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Ranked #132 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
1 review
“we will come back :)”
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Very friendly, very clean, very helpful, very nice people :) we will come back!
It was very calm, even though the hotel is right in the centre of Ho-chi-minh-city.
breakfast not so good, but enough other possibilities around.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xuan Anh N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    177
    46
    16
    30
See reviews for
59
156
71
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Really enjoyed my 2 night stay here. I was a solo female traveller and I felt very safe. The staff tried very hard to ensure I had everything I needed. I did have to change rooms after one night I was very happy to do so if it helped out a fellow traveller - it is good to be flexible when you are travelling :) Breakfast basic but nice. Restaurants, massages, bars, mini supermarket and shops just 30 seconds walk away but as the hotel is down a large alley (not sleazy or scary) it is not at all noisy. I would stay here again and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deb1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

We availed their airport pick-up service. Just like the reviews here, the driver was there even though our expected arrival was after midnight. The driver wasn't very talkative and i think he doesn't speak English very well. It seems like you won't have difficulty looking for the pick-up drivers as all of them flock in one place outside the airport building. You just have to look for your name among the boards that they are raising :).

The hotel owner was there when we arrived even though it was late. It was hot when we arrived but we were welcomed with free delicious drinks. It is advised to have Dong money with you. It was convenient that the hotel has money changing service.

We were located at the 3rd floor and there is no lift at the hotel. You are required to leave or carry your shoes/slippers as you walk up/down the stairs which is inconvenient. The hotel is located in an alley so it wasn't noisy. This alley has other hotels too.

The room is very clean and ambiance is good but the single bed is small and the AC is weak.
The breakfast menu is limited and just bread, butter, jam, egg, and sausage. I hope they extend their menu and include Vietnamese breakfast. The coffee and juice are delicious.

The owner and the female assistant speak English (I think the girl is the better speaker :)). But, they are only available around 7 am at the reception area. The rest of the staff don't speak English so it might be difficult if you need something at a very early time like asking if your bus will pick you up.

The owner and staff are friendly. We were even given a free large bottled water during our last night as a token. I also liked it when they responded to my emails immediately. The hotel recommended some city tour packages. We availed the shared tour which was cheap but still convenient for a one-day city tour. It is also advisable to book your bus tickets from this hotel to get a discount. We booked our bus tickets very early before booking for a hotel which was a wrong move.

If given another chance, I would still like to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2014

It was a great place for backpackers. The receptionist is very nice and helpful. He was able to arrange everything that we need (e.g., tours, taxis, airport transfers, etc). It was a great deal!

The rooms are clean and well-kept. They will also let you store your luggage when you check out and still want to roam around Ho Chi Minh. It is also very accessible to tourist attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayin r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014 via mobile

According to our booking on the 29th of April they confirmed a deluxe double room for $30 with city view. As we told before, we arrived very late. Therefore, the receptionist said that there is no room available and we had to stay in another hotel for the night (less comfort, loud in the morning and very small room). In the next morning we had the possibility for changing the room but the room that they confirmed was still fully booked. The behavior of the receptionist was very unfriendly and he didnt treat us like costumers. First he wanted to give us another, less comfortable, room for the second night and still for the same price. After our arguments for not choosing the room he argued with nothing but lies.

Regarding to our CONFIRMED BOOKING this was just inacceptable. It seems like another example of a hotel that trying to ripp off and benefitting from the good reviews of tripadvisor.

Just a bad hotel with terrible and customer-unfriendly service.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Pezzika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Great central location.Very clean room with good amenities and air conditioning. We were to
go to airport on check out at 1.30 pm and were allowed to keep our room until then.Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brett E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

Just got off plane nice person to meet us in the Saigon wildness . Relaxing welcome drink and shown to clean room . Nice that shoes are left downstairs. Hotel in quiet sidestreet next to backpacker area and park etc better location than posh areas in financial quarter staff very friendly and helpful all transfers etc worked fine would stay here again good street side bar around corner

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kevthekamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#131 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#96 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#68 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#109 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
785 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#180 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nguyen Khang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nguyen Khang Hotel

Property: Nguyen Khang Hotel
Address: 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nguyen Khang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nguyen Khang Hotel! We are located in the heart of all of the following: restaurants, shopping, markets, banks, parks, history Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, Municipal Theatre, Reunification Palace, Mekong Express bus station and Ben Thanh Market... Everything is within walking distance and our friendly staff will be waiting here to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nguyen Khang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing