We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great budget hotel”
Review of Nguyen Khang Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Ranked #139 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Daylesford, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great budget hotel”
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

The staff are exceptionally helpful, both Thanh and the night manager Khang, they will go out of their way to help guests. Rooms are kept neat and clean and everything works as it should. Breakfast is basic as you would expect from a budget hotel. I stayed for 10 days while getting dental work done and I loved the life I saw in the little alleyway in front of the hotel. Being away from the main street is an asset as it is quiet. Only 15 minutes walk to Ben Thanh market and another 10 too the heart of Town. Taxis are cheap in Saigon, just get Thahn to call one and it'll be at the end of the alley in 2 minutes.
Overall a very well run business.

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Les P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    177
    47
    16
    31
See reviews for
60
157
72
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

we are older couple from australia we stayed here for three nights while organizing rest of our holiday in vietnam..We liked the place so much we returned for another three nights. The staff helped us organize tours,taxis, meals.Hotel was clean,comfortable and in great location,price great. Looking forward to returning. Len & Carolyn

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank len c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in February. The service was excellent and the staff very obliging. The rooms were large and clean and the beds very comfortable. When we arrived we were on the 5th floor in a very nice room but as there is no lift we were given a room on the 2nd floor for the next 2nights, this was without asking. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jr8509Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in Feb 2014. The location is excellent, the physical plant is very good, and the staff were great. On the staff, the manager was exceptional. She really helped us with everything from tours, restaurants, taxis, ATMs, etc. She was very proactive and friendly. Like Nico said, pay the extra money and get a room with exterior windows...its cheap, you can swing it. As far as budget options go, this is a winner and doesn't feel all that "budget" to be honest.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpenn1498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just stayed at the Nguyen Khang Hotel. The location is great, walking distance from great restaurants, bars, street vendors, and night life. I recommend paying the extra $5 dollars (or so) and getting one of the rooms with windows. The staff is extremely friendly. Kuddos to Hun, the lady at the front desk. She did everything for us. Helped us book excursions, restaurant reservations, train itineraries, etc. She's probably the hotel's best asset. The place is clean and "spacious" given the money you're paying. Also, b/fast is included. Overall, great value for you money.

Room Tip: There's two options: with and without windows. I recommend windows as they're bigger, and ob...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoM1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
white rock b.c.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We are 2 mature Canadian couples. We stayed here from jan.9-13. Most sights were within walking distance. The staff were exceptional, checked us in early, arranged a tour to the Mekong Delta. Went beyond their call of duty, as we had purchased 4 train tickets and only 2 were delivered to the hotel. They also helped our friend get to the hospital as he had hurt his knee. The rooms were very clean and had windows, in a great area, with good options for eating near by. Felt very safe at this hotel, even though down a back alley. The staff made arrangements for a taxi to pick us up at 4:30 a.m., as we had to catch an early flight, they even came out to the street to make sure we got the correct taxi. Will definitely stay again and recommend to all of you looking for a clean, well located hotel, with an adequate breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms were very quiet, even with window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peegeeWhiteRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good budget place to stay, good location and very helpful staff. In a quiet little alleyway (remember which one when you go out!) but right next to the main strip offering lots of bars and places to eat. Staff very helpful at sorting out tours and getting around the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#73 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#66 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saigon Europe Hotel
Saigon Europe Hotel
#97 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#173 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graceful Saigon Hotel
Graceful Saigon Hotel
#129 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#85 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nguyen Khang Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nguyen Khang Hotel

Property: Nguyen Khang Hotel
Address: 283/25 Pham Ngu Lao street, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nguyen Khang Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nguyen Khang Hotel! We are located in the heart of all of the following: restaurants, shopping, markets, banks, parks, history Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, Municipal Theatre, Reunification Palace, Mekong Express bus station and Ben Thanh Market... Everything is within walking distance and our friendly staff will be waiting here to greet you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Nguyen Khang Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing