We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base but not great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #148 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, Dorset
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good base but not great location”
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

This is a good hotel, welcoming, safe and clean. The only disappointing thing was the location. The hotel is on a busy street and quite a walk to the sights on HCMC. That said the baguette and coffee place next door was amazing!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Customer service officer at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we would like to thank for your review. Our hotel is not located in the city center; however, it takes you only 5 minutes to access District 1. We hope to have another chance to serve you next time. Once again, we would like to thank for your comments.
Best wishes for you!
Mina Dinh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    167
    52
    7
    6
See reviews for
52
137
52
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel was a nice hotel, good location and clean. The room was large, but not so modern. Staff was good but need to be trained more to be up to professional. Breakfast was just average. It was quite noisy in the morning. Anyway, this hotel still good and value of money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imii80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Customer service officer at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your review. Your advice is very important and helpful to us. We will improve to be more professional in customer services. Regarding to breakfast service, we will try to make the dishes become more plenty and variety. We hope this will satisfy you when you come back here.
Best wishes for you!
Mina Dinh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

We came here when we started our adventure in Asia and the staff were so nice and welcoming. We found HCMC to be such a hot, crazy, busy place that we referred to the hotel as our safehaven. Our room could hear the noise at night but earplugs eradicated that noise.

It is a bit of a walk from the main sights, meaning we often took a taxi to them but once again the hotel were great by flagging down taxis for us. They also provide a map which was our saviour!

Room was very clean, all facilities worked (thank god for good air con!), and in general the place was fantastic value for the price. I'd highly recommend.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Customer service officer at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we would like to thank you for your stay. We highly appreciate your comments on Tripadvisor. Hopefully you will come back our hotel again soon and we certainly offer you our special services.
Best regards,
Mina Dinh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
138 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We booked an eight-night stay for our family of four. It was a bit complicated to ask for three separate beds, but when we arrived, we were given a large enough room where the sofa had been converted into a bed and a cot arrived shortly after. Although the kitchenette was not in working order, we were offered mugs for tea and asked if we needed any additional dish ware. The room was clean, the bathroom nice but a bit small and the breakfast was quite good.

Overall it was a very pleasant and comfortable stay. We never had any problem with getting a taxi or transport from/to the airport. The staff answered all our questions about the city in a professional and friendly way. I recommend this hotel for your next stay in Ho Chi Minh City.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Customer service officer at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully when you come back Ho Chi Minh City, you will stay with us again.
Best wishes for you!
Mina Dinh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I was so moved by the staffs in this hotel. I had stayed here before in 2011 and had a very pleasant time. This year in Feb 2014, I booked in for only 1 night so that I could catch the early train (6:50am) to Phan Thiet. I mentioned this to the staff at check-in as a statement of fact and expect no more. Heaven above, we got a wake up call at 5:30 am, when we came down to the lobby, here was the staffs with all the paperworks at the ready for us and 2 bags of sandwiches plus banana plus a bottle of water ready for our early morning journey (I am still emotional at this time of writing). This is more than a hotel, it is really a home from home. Thank you the staff at Thien Thao hotel and please keep up your good work. You are great example of hospitality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hybrid6007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a 1 night stopover with 2 friends in February 2014. Our first contact was before arrival when we emailed them to enquire about the cost of arranging a transfer. They offered us a price and having been to the area before we subsequently decided to get our own cab. When we emailed back to advise this they very kindly provided the names of reputable companies to use and also an approximate cost to ensure we didn't get ripped off. This was the start of excellent service from start to finish. All the staff were cheerful, professional and helpful at all times and happy to hail taxis for us and help us with our luggage. The hotel itself was absolutely fine for a short stay. The room wasn't huge but this was largely impacted by the fact that we had an extra bed in the room for our third person. The bathroom again wasn't huge but was spotless and one of the best we've had in Vietnam. Breakfast was reasonably limited but of a good standard with Vietnamese and Western dishes available. The hotel was in an excellent central location surrounded by restaurants and shops. All in all I would happily stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank little_birdy150484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Thien Thao Hotel
This is a great wee hotel for the price - we paid £46 ( ) for three nights, including breakfast - that's not too far from the main part of town. Once you get the hang of the traffic, walking to the main attractions is pretty much a nice 20 minute walk.

The room was a decent size, with a large, comfortable bed - albeit two singles crashed together, and clean bedding. The bathroom especially could do with some tlc and upgrading, but the shower was hot and powerful.

A nice selection at breakfast, the only thing that let it down was on our last morning when we were leaving at 7am. Breakfast should have started at 6.30, but wasn't set up when we got down a few minutes after. It finally arrived around 6.45 so we had time to grab a quick bite before the taxi arrived (pre-paid thee being before at reception, so avoids any haggling.)

All in all, this is a nice home from home if you plan on being out most of the day.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Sen Viet Hotel
Sen Viet Hotel
#218 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#142 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#59 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#175 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hong Vy 1 Hotel
Hong Vy 1 Hotel
#124 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crown Diamond Hotel
Crown Diamond Hotel
#179 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Thao Hotel is located between Saigon City Center and China Town, two busy areas with full of entertainment, shopping and business centers.More than 40 rooms with our fully luxury amenities and modern design, Thien Thao Hotel is the right place for your both business and leisure purpose.Come to us, you not only enjoy the comfortable and convenience services but also have a feeling of "feel like home" by our friendly and experience staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing