We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just dont look down”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Ranked #148 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“just dont look down”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

we stayed in the front suite of the hotel on the 7th floor and although the room is bright and clean the floors are disgusting ,the bathroom is large and the surfaces are clean but the lack of a clean carpet really does spoil the whole effect . we stayed here for 5 nights and found the location awful , if you want to walk into the city it is a good hour away , we are the walking type of people who like to mix with locals and see the "real vietnam " oh dear ... the pavements are the parking lots for all the motorbikes and as they use the space to also ride along , not the safest place in the world , a taxi from the hotel takes about 10 mins and costs about 50.000 dong . (taxi to airport is about 150.000 dong)
the smell of urine is also very strong in alot of places around the city

the breakfast is fine , although it would really help if the staff smiled , as with the rest of vietnam nobody smiles or welcomes you to anything .
there are a few good food options close to the hotel but they envolve crossing the streets so not so easy . i took the "mulan " granmother approach in the end , just dont look and keep walking .
the best coffee -in my opinion can be had by going to the junction of cao thang and 3 thang 2 , not to far away , the place is easy to spot as it has a large pot outside and the music is making the cups jump ! (28.000 dong per cup ) another good place for food is ao coffee on dien bien phu (only need to cross over the road and walk around the corner a bit ) the food selection and taste is very good and the coffee shake is wonderful .

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dawnDohaQatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThienThao, Director of Sales at Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City, responded to this review, February 14, 2012
On behalf of Thien Thao Hotel, we highly appreciated your reviews on here. We are planning to remove this carpet next month because last few months we had high occupancy. We knew that we could get problem if guest feel not happy with our three years carpet in room 701. But unfortunately we have no enough time to do it early than your arrival. We thought if we did not finish before your arrival we will get complaint from you. About Ho Chi Minh city street, it is crowed same with your opinions on here. Surely you could not walk properly even close or far from center. Almost world travelers felt tired if they tried to walk in this city, a lot of traffic, motorbike look like to cover you all the time. So the best way to reach somewhere you like, use a taxi. Otherwise, we saw you are happy with our hotel staffs, food and dining around, it is a target we would like to offer our lovely guests. We would like to make you happy, enjoyable in our hotel and explore specific lifestyle in this city which you never see around the world. Surely, if you come back to stay with us in the same room next time, you will see how we doing well than.
Hope to see you again in Vietnam.

Best regards

Kevin Nguyen(sales@thienthaohotel.com)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    167
    52
    7
    6
See reviews for
52
137
52
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Hue, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

Very nice staff and the rooms beautifull .
We'll come back soon

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Clean, small and professionaly run! Rooms are kind of small but with good bed and nice flat screen. We were first directed to rooms 201/202. Right at the front of the street which it could be a little noise and didn't like the smoking sme, bell man kindly called front desk and they moved us to 203/204(not connected but ok).
Mr Kevin was very kind and awarded us with free pick-up at the airport. Simple breakfast but ok, too! Not at the frenzy area, but for a small amount you can have a taxi arranged within 10 minute ride!

Room Tip: The higher the better! 204 big king size bed and 203 no window room, but ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troosters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2012

my wife and i stayed at the thien thao in early january, 2012. when we arrived we discovered that our room was not available due to an air conditioning problem and that they had made arrangements for us to stay at a different hotel (boss hotel) for the first night. the staff apologized profusely and promised that we would be shifted to a room at the thien thao the next morning. when we arrived the next day, they had upgraded our room to a suite and knowing that it was our honeymoon, they had scattered our room with rose petals and even delivered a cake to our room. the service was excellent and the staff were very helpful. it definitely made up for the room mix up on the first night. the room was clean and the bed was relatively comfortable (for asia). the only downside is that the location is not the greatest and the guest staying in the room next door decided that smoking in the hallway was an acceptable practice, and so our room smelled of smoke periodically. overall a nice stay in ho chi minh city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cootfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

My friend and I arrived at Thien Thao shortly after midnight. Regardless of the ungodly hour, the lady at the reception still wore a smile and warmly welcomed us. The hotel itself is just a 10-minute walk away from the center and is very unassuming. It instantly won points for its cleanliness and friendliness of staff. Plus all of them--from the waiters to housekeeping--spoke good English. Our room did not disappoint and had everything we expected--from the cold A/C, strong shower with hot water, crisp bed linen and LCD TV. Included in the room rate was breakfast which offered delicious Vietnamese favorites as well as various Western dishes. WiFi in the lobby and in our room was incredibly fast. Perhaps the nicest touch was the helpfulness and attentiveness of the front desk staff who made arrangements for our onward journey to Cambodia--we just gave them the dates and they took care of the rest! Overall a very quaint hotel with a personal touch at fantastic value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 205 faces the back street and is very quiet; only one small stained glass window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jose Maria L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed at Thien Thao Hotel after re entering Ho Chi Minh City after a side trip to Bangkok. As we previously stayed in District 1 we thought we would stay in a different area.
Our front room was very spacious with a king size bed, TV, wifi, small fridge plus a generous seating area. The bathroom was large clean with toiletries supplied. Breakfast is included in the room rate.The staff were very pleasant and spoke good English.
Although we did not stay long, our room size in Thien Thao Hotel would be an excellent base for an extended stay in Ho Chi Minh City.
A great attraction of this hotel is the room rate, extremely reasonable for its features and location. Although, not in District 1 there is a bus stop close by with bus number 2 bus going the short distance to Ben Thanh Market and the centre of the city ( cost approx. 20c ).Taxi is also available at the door.

Room Tip: Room 601 was very spacious and although at the front of the Hotel the noise was not a problem. Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidays70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

We paid 70 USD a night for interconnecting rooms (actually 2 rooms behind a third door, though this was fine). This was great value for the space we had. The hotel was professionally run and managed our pick up successfully (a task that most other places we stayed in Vietnam and Cambodia had failed with).

But it's still a budget place so there were a couple of things that wren't brilliant. Breakfast was a bit basic and we had a unfortunate near-coffee-spitting-out moment when we realized that this was brewed cold and then left to warm up. Trainee baristas anyone?

The only other criticism would be the location. My Ho Chi Minh geography is a bit basic but I think this is more District 3 than District 1. Fine if you don't mind a few cab rides, but perhaps it distorts the price a bit...

Room Tip: The connecting rooms were 401 and 402.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkey-and-Sprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 mi away
Sen Viet Hotel
Sen Viet Hotel
#218 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hong Vina Hotel
Hong Vina Hotel
#142 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
162 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#59 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
Asian Ruby Central Hotel
#175 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
227 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hong Vy 1 Hotel
Hong Vy 1 Hotel
#124 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
62 reviews
3.4 mi away
Crown Diamond Hotel
Crown Diamond Hotel
#179 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City

Property: Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City
Address: 89 Cao Thang | Ward 3, District 3, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thien Thao Hotel is located between Saigon City Center and China Town, two busy areas with full of entertainment, shopping and business centers.More than 40 rooms with our fully luxury amenities and modern design, Thien Thao Hotel is the right place for your both business and leisure purpose.Come to us, you not only enjoy the comfortable and convenience services but also have a feeling of "feel like home" by our friendly and experience staffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Thien Thao Hotel Ho Chi Minh City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing