We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, efficent and clean!”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #81 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Queensland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, efficent and clean!”
Reviewed January 15, 2010

Booked after reading the reviews on TA. Duc confirmed very quickly, no problems with check in. Just the dodgy taxi we got from the airport trying to save a few dollars and not getting the hotel transfer. Recomend if it's your first stop in Vietnam get the transfer for $12.

Rooms a big, clean and safe. Close to a lot of bars, shopping, restraunts etc. Staff are very friendly and efficent. Breakfast is basic but good, your in Vietnam and will be snacking all day anyway, so who cares.

The think that really stands out with this hotel is unlike most places in Asia where you feel like you are constantly being scammed one way or another, this place feels like you are getting value for money. They tell you which cabs to catch, how much you should pay for just about anything, the best place to change money etc. It's a good change.

Would definatly recomend this place to anyone looking for budget rooms in Saigon.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanAndKirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    267
    69
    27
    28
See reviews for
96
326
112
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2010

We picked this hotel based on other reviews on the TA webiste. We wanted somewhere to stay that was clean and where we would feel safe coming back at night from our sightseeing. The staff at the hotel in particular Nang are great, very helpful and gave us advise on what taxis to use etc. The pickup at the airport was fine with the driver waiting for us at the right time and we had a nice clean large room. There was a window but what we really wanted was somewhere to put our heads down each night as we didn't spend much time in the room. The bathroom was a wet room, clean and good value for a basic hotel.
We booked 2 trips through the hote a one day trip to the Mekong and a half day trip to the Chu Chi tunnels, both were well organised. I would recommend this hotel, it is basic good value for money with lovely helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2010

Our double room was basic but impeccably clean. The hotel is family run, and the service was friendly and helpful - from our efficient airport pick-up to laundry service. The breakfast was a lovely homemade Pho with fresh fruits. It was served on their quaint roof terrace, which we also used one evening to relax and enjoy some self-catered drinks.

This hotel is around the corner from the main backpacker strip, and so is slightly quieter as a result.

This is a great budget option. Clean, with excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathpod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2010

You get very good value for your money at the Xuan Mai. However, it is truly a budget hotel - so don't expect anything but a very basic room. The staff were all friendly and the it is located near lots of bars. If you are not interested in being in the middle of all of the craziness of Saigon - then maybe find a more conservative area to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinginasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We booked the Xuan Mai Hotel based on the TA reviews and would like to thank all who left such good reviews of this hotel. Its nothing to look at but it worked so well for us that we would happily go back. We booked a large room for one week and ended up leaving our luggage while we travelled to Mui Ne, after which we returned to the Xuan Mai for another week. Ok its noisy but you are staying in the backpacker district and the noise is part of the atmosphere. If you have any particular food choices they will accommodate these and all for $38 a night. Laundry also taken care of and returned the same day for a really good price. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank whistlestop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Just came back from HCMC after a 5D4N stay. Spent 4N in Xuan Mai hotel. Comments about this hotel:

Airport transfer
Paid US$12 for the airport transfer. The taxi driver held a board that displayed my name at the arrival area. The taxi used to pick us up was rather disappointing when compared to those bigger ones.

Check-in
Reached the hotel at 10am and the check-in is very smooth. We were shown to our room immediately after the efficient check-in.

Room
Room is rather basic. But how can I complain when I only paid US$26 for the standard room. The room is very clean and toilet is alright as well. Small TV and a mini fridge is also available in the room. The channels shown on the TV is fantastic. A good selection of English channels like HBO, Star movies, Animal planet and my favourite Fashion TV. Room is always neatly cleaned up every day.

Noise level
HCMC is a busy city and definitely a very noisy one. The drivers horn all the time. We can hear much of the traffic from our room as it is facing inwards. Maybe those rooms that are facing the road might be affected. But the traffic is usually very little past 11pm. The hotel is near to a club, you can hear the loud bass at times.

Breakfast
You have a choice between Vietnamese and American breakfast. We had American breakfast throughout our stay. Nice baguette, eggs, sausage and ham were served.

Venue
Xuan Mai is around the backpacker alley, thus you can find different variety of food, shops and bars around the corner.

Personally, I feel that Xuan Mai is not too close to the places of interest BUT Taxi is very cheap in HCMC and you can easily get a cab and move on to your destination. Get the receptionist to call a cab for you. Waiting time is less than 5min.

We had a bit of problem on our last night at HCMC getting back to the hotel. It was the night when Vietnam beat Malaysia in a soccer match. The whole city was so excited that people started to jam and hang out in the street. We were shopping near Bến Thành market and we tried to flag a cab to the hotel. All the cab refused to pick us as the traffic was terrible near the hotel. A taxi driver even extorted 100, 000Dong for the 13, 000Dong trip back to the hotel. In the end, we decided to take a stroll back to the hotel. It was less than 15 min walk.

Others
Day trip can be easily arranged through the hotel. Went for the half day Chu Chi Tunnel (US$5) and 1 day Mekong Delta (US$14). I preferred the Chu Chi Tunnel trip more. The trip to Mekong Delta is too long, 7 hours in total. Hate the long bus ride.

The service provided by Xuan Mai is commendable. I didn't get her name but I believe is "Nang". The old lady who is at the reception from morning to evening. She is ever ready to answer every single questions that we asked. Be it where can we get good food, where can we get good coffee, where can we buy this and that.. and the questions go on and on. Nang is always there to answer all our rubbish with a kind and gentle smile. The staffs at Xuan Mai are always putting on their best smile to greet us and they really make us feel at home.

Thank you all at Xuan Mai.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank syann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2009

Stayed here in November and found the service to be superb. I had to fax a document and the Manager, Ms. Le Thi Nang, walked with me to the post office to translate for me and make sure I didn't get ripped off. She bargained down the price, made sure the fax went through, and then, when I only had too large a denomination of money to pay for it, she paid it for me and then I paid her back later! This was such a huge help to me since I had an important fax and didn't want to waste too much vacation time on getting it done. The hotel was very clean, safe, and breakfast was good. Also airport pickup was very reliable, which was something we really valuged.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#30 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,181 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
353 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#64 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
529 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#93 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#109 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Property: Elegant Inn
Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing