We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly”
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #88 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Really good hotel, rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is simple but very good. Around the corner from the hotell are lot of eating and drinking places, also, that district is very fun and interesting, lot to do and see.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kadri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Katsikee ,

Thank you very much for satying with us also spent time to write such a lovely review on tripadvisor for our hotel .
On behalf of all Elegant inn staffs i would like to say thanks again and really looking forward to have chance to serve you in the future .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (837)
There are newer reviews for Elegant Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

450 - 456 of 836 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2014

Right in the middle of the backpacker district. Not quiet, but good for going out and having fun. Many places to eat and drink, easy to get to, clean rooms, helpful staff.

A good place to stay if you're in HCMC.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Michelle ,

Thank you very much for kindly staying with us also spent time to write such a nice comments ...
We wish the best to you and your family ,
Looking forward to serve you again Michelle !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Centrally located in Ho Chi Minh City, you will not get a better bang for your buck. Keep in mind that this hotel is located in the backpacker's district, catered to tourists. Located around the corner from Bui Vien (the street that doesn't sleep), you have plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from for the entire day, but at the same time you have a quieter street to rest at.

It is in such close distance to all of the major attractions, including Ben Thanh Market, Independence Palace, and the War Remnants museum. I chose to take a taxi to the War Remnants Museum and walked my way backwards, stopping at all of the stops. It was extremely easy to navigate with the maps the hotel provided.

Do not hesitate to ask the staff for anything! They were extremely accommodating. I decided to extend my stay, but they were booked for the night so they arranged accommodation elsewhere temporarily until they had a free room. This is an example of the lengths the staff here are willing to go for their clients.

For the price of this hotel, you will not get anything better. Even if it costed more, this is still the place to stay for travelers who want to explore the city and for those who are ready to have fun late nights!

This is definitely my choice to stay in Ho Chi Minh City. I will be back!

Room Tip: Street noise is louder on the first floor (obviously).
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear yayaya16 ,

Thank you for kindly supported us and spent time writing for us such a lovely review. I'm glad that you are satisfied with our staff and our service and to be considered your second home, it's such an honor to us. On behalf of Elegant Inn's staff, I would like to thank you for your kindness
Have great day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful and the location in the backpacker area of Saigon was absolutely perfect (for us).

That same location might not be ideal for everyone. The bakery across the street played loud rave music late into the night - welcome to the backpacker district! We were thankful for our earplugs.

The breakfasts were incredible. Fresh french-style bread that was so soft and fluffy it just melted in your mouth. If you see "jam sandwich" on the breakfast options don't hesitate... it's not sliced bread, it's a mouth-watering personal sized loaf of french bread.

One thing to note, though, is that the tours offered from the hotel, while affordable, are not necessarily that great. They resell for a company that resells for another company that runs large, uncomfortable buses packed full. We were the last to be picked up and so the three of us were all split up on the bus for the whole day. If you're traveling solo and are no taller than Yoda, that may not be an issue for you. :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gordos64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear gordos64 ,

Warnmest greeting from Elegant inn Saigon ,
Thank you very much for kindly stay and support our hotel and spent time to have such a nice review on tripadvisor .
The good new we got here is the bakery croos the street is closed down at night so that no more loud music ... we are so happy with that .
Thanks again and have good day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We were surprised by very nice rooms for a decent price just a few steps from the travelers most popular streets in Saigon. We had a very warm welcome and a green ice tea for the beginning. Room on the 5th floor was big enough with nice view to the street life and rooftops around. The bathroom was comfortable and water really hot which I always appretiate. We were leaving for the train station in the evening and the employes were nice and stored our luggage till the evening. Even more, we were offered to take a shower before we left! And they also flagged a safe taxi for us, which might be quite important in this big cities where some taxi drivers try top overcharge forigners.
We didnt have brekfast so I cant say anything about the food and the restaurant...

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank izi f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Ljubljana ,

Thank you very much for kindly choosing our services and enjoying it , also your comments on trip is so lovely , we are appreciated your time ...
We wish to serve you again soon ...
Cheer !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The staff here were absolutely amazing and helpful when answering our questions from the minute we arrived. They gave us plenty of city maps and drew out the routes for us, called taxis for us if required, had first aid equipment when requested, recommended places for us to eat and stored our luggage before our late flight. Every night when we came back they would be waiting with the breakfast menu for us to order for the next day (which was included in our room price), and even packed the breakfast for us on the days we needed to leave early. Anytime we were waiting in the lobby for a tour bus to pick us up they would bring us ice tea. Can't have asked for better service.
The room itself was good (very spacious, complimentary water everyday, fridge, tv, aircon, fan etc). Our only problem with this hotel was that the water in the bathroom smelt of metal, which made it unpleasant to shower in (as well as the fact that there was no curtain between the shower and toilet so the toilet got soaked everytime). Housekeeping however did an excellent job of cleaning.
The location was also good. Close to bars/restaurants/convenience stores but about a 20 minute walk to the museums. There wasn't much noise from the bars however a bakery across the street was, surprisingly, quite loud at night.
I would recommend the Elegant Inn to anyone coming to Ho Chi Minh. Thanks again for a great stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirstin1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Kristin1993 ,

On behalf of Elegant inn staffs i would like to send you the best thanks for staying with us and we are glab that you enjoying your stay .
I already check the water system and dont find anythings worng with itself . i will check it again with the water supply company to fix the water problem . Thanks to let us know that so that we could present better services .
Have great day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is great! It is within walking distance of most tourist attractions with many bars & restaurants at your doorstep. Staff are professional & friendly. The rooms are new(ish) & clean. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hayley_r000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2014

Dear Heyley_r000

Thank you very much for kindly support our hotel during the time you stayed in Saigon , also spent time to write such a nice comments on Trip .
We wish that we have chance to welcome you again in the future .
Wish you have great day !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#31 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,192 reviews
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#35 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#67 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
533 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#97 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
800 reviews
0.6 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#82 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range: $16 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing