We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #75 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2013. At first when you walk in the place it is not that impressive. But once you check in the rooms they are quilt nice. Rooms are large with good air, clean, and good beds. It has an elevator. Rare in this area for the price. Make sure get the rooms on the upper flrs. In the back of building. 2 rooms on lower frs are not that nice, a bit small. The location is just right. Surrounded with restaurants and bars. Walking distance from western supermarkets on Cong Quynh. Around the corner is backpackers alley on Bui Vien street. Tons of bars here. Close enough to all the attractions that they could be walked.
The breakfast is good. The service is great without the staff too imposing. They put the extra effort to help.
Overall great experience. For the price and location I would return.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors in the back are quieter. Although there is a rooster that is located behind th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanderer969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Wanderer969 ,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a nice review here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read that you had such a great experience while staying with us at Elegant inn !
P/s : I dont like the rooster as well .... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    265
    68
    27
    27
See reviews for
96
322
111
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This place is really well located within close walking distance to good bars etc. the rooms were clean and well maintained... A decent free breakfast menu is available... The customer service was 5star and they would do anything for you. Very well priced at about 22 US dollars a night

The only downside is that there are no safes in the rooms however they do safety deposits in the lobby which is adequate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Thomas ,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for spent your time to write such a lovely review here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read that you had such a great experience while staying with us at Elegant inn !
Iam sorry for inconvenience that there is no safe box in the room . I will talk to my boos and let see what we would do to fix that issue .
Cheer !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Me and my Aunt enjoyed staying here for a few nights in June 2013 and I have to say that it was a great experience. It was our first time to visit HCMC and this place gave us an idea of how the Vietnamese people are hospitable, warm and friendly. It has all the basic amenities that we needed with a really good location. The breakfast--most especially the coffee--was sooo good. Everything about this place exceeded my expectations. We had a tour outside of HCMC and the travel company didn't drop us off at the hotel as promised and the staff extended their apologies...even their manager called us up at our room to apologize. This place really gives real value to the word "customer service" and it's truly amazing how the people at Elegant Inn seems as if they had been your friends for a long time. I will definitely recommend this to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Red_Velvet_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you very much for kindly supporting our hotel and spending time to write this lovely review
We hope to have another chance to welcome you and maybe your friend in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Wonderful hotel with equally wonderfull and welcoming staff. Solid breakfast. Huge, spotless rooms. We are in the double with a single and this would be more than enough space for three people. Very quiet (for Vietnam). All in a very central location with heaps of restaurants near by.After a total of  six trips to Vietnam all agree this is the best value/accommodation experience in Ho Chi Minh. Manager Ha and all the staff are terrific. 

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caseym87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ms.Casey

I would like to thank you and your family for supporting our hotel and spending time writing this lovely review. We are really appreciate it. How are your father, your aunt and you doing lately? I hope you guys had a safe flight home and still doing well. We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful time staying at our hotel. We try to arrange everything from the room to breakfast to the line of perfection to make sure your family and other travelers feel like at home while staying at our hotel.
I would like to send my best wishes to your father, your aunt and you and hope to have chances to welcome you again in your seventh trip to Vietnam.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My wife, grandson, and I booked this hotel for three days to recover from the 30 hour trip from Pittsburgh, PA, USA. Since we were arriving late (after midnight), we requested a pick-up at the airport. Everything went as planned and cost of the pick-up service was substantially cheaper than regular taxi service. The staff was extremely helpful and the roof-top breakfast area was quaint but clean. God-Mothers restaurant just down the street has some very good and I recommend it. There's a Circle K store across the street where you can buy snacks and drinks. An area where many tourists go in the evening is only about three blocks away. I had a problem unrelated to the hotel, and the staff went far out of their way to assist me. Excellent service for the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFGump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Jessi Gump ,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for writing such a lovely review here on TripAdvisor! We are delighted to read that you had such a great experience while staying with us at Elegant inn ! We do hope to welcome you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel in the centre of HCMC as part of a tour and was so impressed with the service that we came back later in the holiday. The rooms are clean and well kept with good air conditioning and very quiet rooms given the central location. The breakfast was exceptionally tasty and provided a perfect start to the day on the top floor restaurant.

Most memorable of all though was the way the staff went out of their way to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We had a tour booked outside of the city on our last day but on returning they made a shower available for us and gave us use of the restaurant to eat in at our leisure with the staff bringing us more of the vietnamese coffee we'd come to love.

If you're looking for a five star hotel where you can make use of the spa facilities then this is not the hotel for you but if you want a friendly and very well kept hotel in a great location while you visit the rest of the city then you couldn't go far wrong with the Elegant Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for kindly supporting our hotel and spending time to write this lovely review
We hope to have another chance to welcome you and maybe your friend in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Witha party of six, booked three rooms for a couple of nights in June 2013. This is not the Hilton or anything near that but we were glad not to be paying Hilton prices either. Basic accommodation in a central location. Clean, good breakfast and quiet. However all in the group came out bragging about the kindness and attention paid by all the staff. Everyone from the front desk to the kitchen staff was very hospitable and helpful. There was a power failure in the neighborhood in the morning (luckily we were awake already and had our breakfast, and even then, they were very apologetic (even though it wasn't their fault) and attempted to make our lives as easy as they could. One of the front desk guys even walked to each floor where we were staying to offer us a glass of iced water. If you want value, book this one blindly...

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Orlando I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MichealPham, Manager at Elegant Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Orlando ,

Thank you very much for kindly support us , also appreciated your understanding for the power failure .
Serving you is our honors .
We do hope to have chance to welcome you back in the future !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#31 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#106 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#49 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#91 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Property: Elegant Inn
Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing