We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elegant Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elegant Inn
Ranked #23 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel! Stayed here one night by chance as the relative hotel - Hello Hotel experience a technical issue with our online booking. The hotel is clean, centrally located (a stone throw from main backpacker road) and has a great breakfast. It's easy to find and we had a great experience, start to finish. Would definitely stay here on return to HCMC!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katealana9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    249
    58
    17
    13
See reviews for
94
299
100
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Clean rooms, AC, and very close to the tourist drag. No safe in the room. We were met with tea and fruit on our first day. Very helpful staff. Bring your earplugs if you are sensitive to noise (there seems to be a rooster nearby).

We left our bags here on our final day while taking a tour. We didn't actually pick them up until almost midnight. They didn't seem to mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dashonice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Given all the good reviews about this place, I was very disappointed when I stayed there in January this year. There must be new owners. One very annoying thing was that on booking.com it said you could pay with Visa, but they would only take cash.

The room was nice and clean. The location is OK, but there was a lot of noise from the road.

I wouldn't say it was as good as the old reviews said.

Room Tip: Had a deluxe room Very noisy at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 32Gloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I also booked this hotel with seeing previous reviews and found out it was under new management
not that was a problem all the staff were friendly & helpful. the room was clean and had hot water and the tea/coffee was great was not used to that from other places we had stayed in in Thailand.
Breakfast was fine even though you had to tell them what you wanted the day before. We had friends staying around the corner who were paying less than us. but they had to knock them up on
a evening to get back in where we had a night porter on till everyone returned.the elevator was great as we were on the 5th floor and heard so many other places you only had the steps.would stay there again if i was on the same budget.great bakery across the road fresh pastries & pies yummy. Lots of nightlife and restaurants close by all within walking distance just watch out for them scooters!! 5 million of them

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed at Elegant Inn for our first couple of nights in Saigon. While it wasn't a bad place to stay, in the end we were glad to move to a cheaper guesthouse around the corner.

Many of the earlier reviews speak highly of the staff, but it looks like the hotel is now under new management. Staff were friendly enough but the prices for the tours they offer are very expensive, even allowing for the hotel's commission (we thought at first they must be small group tours, but no, they're big tour buses), and we ended up going through a tour company directly - paying roughly the same price for a less than 8 person group as we would have for a big tour bus through our hotel.

On the plus side, staff let us leave our bags there on our final day while we looked for somewhere else to stay for the next few nights; they did have a room available but it was out of our price range, and they didn't seem to hold against us the fact that we chose to look elsewhere.

The room was spacious and mostly clean. In terms of facilities the room was well-equipped: fridge, TV, coffee/tea facilities, lockable cabinet. The hotel had an elevator which was a first for us in SE Asia, and useful as we were staying on the fifth floor!

What stops me from giving this hotel a higher rating is that there were stains on the sheets and my boyfriend ended up sleeping without a pillowcase as his pillowcase was stained. We also had a lot of noise in the room - some of it is obviously due to the area but our next guesthouse was just around the corner and much quieter. Mostly just standard road/nightlife noise, but a rooster started crowing each night we were there at about 1am and did not let up for hours!

The free breakfast was tasty and appreciated, especially the pho and the fruit, but as another reviewer mentioned food is very cheap in the area so it's not a make or break thing.

Overall, the stay was decent, but not worth ~US$50 for two nights for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chocmilk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
199 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed 1 night here and had a great nights sleep due to the comfortable bed and nice bed linens.
The room was very spacious and clean. There was a full size fridge and tea making facilities which came in very handy.
Breakfast was delicious - we couldnt believe we got a cooked breakfast and room for $26 for 2 of us.
We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MultiTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

This was a very disappointing stay - particularly compared to the guesthouse I stayed in when I arrived in Saigon.
Room appeared to have an acceptable level of cleanliness but there was a large hair in my bed, and I felt some sort of bugs/bites the whole night. Bathroom smelled like someone had vomited in it recently. Location - close to a nightclub ("High"?) - I could hear the thump of music until 1am.
Breakfast - nice that it's included but all of the meat in my dish was cold. Given how cheap it is to eat around the area, I wouldn't base my hotel choice on breakfast inclusion.
Staff - friendly but I was a bit surprised that the guy on the front desk tried to sell me a service in the following way at 11pm:
"Do you want a massage?"
Me "maybe, it depends how much and I just want a regular massage"
His face drops and he says "oh, you don't want special massage".
I found the interaction funny but also surprising ... This place feels like a 2* place, nothing more or less.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwinus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
1.5 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#19 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 380 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#20 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,036 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#25 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#62 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cat Huy Hotel
Cat Huy Hotel
#34 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#16 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant Inn

Property: Elegant Inn
Address: 140 Cong Quynh | Pham Ngu Lao ward, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Xuan Mai Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#14 Family Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#31 Romantic Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
#40 Business Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Elegant Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet backpacker's area, Elegant Inn Saigon offers air-conditioned guestrooms with free Wi-Fi. It is 15-minute walk from City Hall in Ho Chi Minh City. Room service is available 24 hours. All guestrooms come with cable TV, free bottled water and tea/coffee making facilities. En suite bathrooms are equipped with a shower or bathtub. Some rooms offer city views. Elegant Inn is 1 km from Ben Thanh Market. Airport transfers and motorbike rentals can be arranged at an extra charge. On-site parking is free. Day trips can be arranged at the tour desk. The inn also provides foreign currency exchange, photo processing services and a 24-hour front desk. A daily breakfast is available from 06:30 - 09:30 at the hotel's restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Elegant Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Xuan Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing