We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roseland Point Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roseland Point Hotel
Ranked #103 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
adelaide australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Small hotel with good staff ,beds hard but typical in Asia, good pillows, breakfast ok , good eating down the road with locals, very good traditional Vietnamese restaurant a couple of doors down the other way large market place 10_15 minutes walk

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kellamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    180
    50
    14
    19
See reviews for
30
117
43
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We found this little place after we went to the sky view. Its one of the "skinny" boutique hotels but surprisingly roomy inside. We paid about $60usd per night and it included wifi water and breakfast. The breakfast was pretty much vietnamese cuisine and I really enjoyed it. This side of town has all the big shopping centres but isnt far from markets museums etc. The proximity to the river helped cool us a bit. No pool but spas in bathrooms. Bathrooms also has exhaust fans and we loved exploring the local shops and sights.

Room Tip: Opt for a suite as you get a bigger room and we had one with a street view. Is a bit noisy but nothi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff were very nice. It s located very close to bitexco building which has many activities for you to join like food, shopping, movies, coffee,.... plus it s easy to walk from here to other fun places like Ben Thanh market, vincom shooping center,......

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Le D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I loved this place! they where very helpful,friendly and the service was outstanding,from the mananger,to the people serving at the desk,to the young men opening the doors,they where amazing,My dad & I even got upgraded for free! :) The location was great also.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorena p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel - I have stayed here 5 times now and still as good. Clean rooms, fast internet, good breakfast and friendly staff.
Always get help from the reception (Thuy An & Hong Anh) with booking any events. I asked for special arrangements to romance my wife and they helped set up the surprise in reception, excellent service - Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Boxx2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh T, Manager at Roseland Point Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Iorena P,

Thank you for your good comment on recent stay.
It is our pleasure when giving you comfortable accommodation during your stay.
I am very glad to know that our services make you satisfied with the hotel staff, breakfast, rooms and location.I expect to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Tran Huu Anh
Manager
Silverland Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

First time Vietnam travellers and absolutely loved this city.
Tan Hai Long Hotel 3 was located right opposite the tallest building in the city which made for a great landmark..we never lost our way!!
The hotel room was small but comfortable and clean. The staff were amazing, helpful and happy.
Booking tours was so easy and the service was great.
Buffet breakfast each morning...the Pho was fantastic!
We loved our stay here and cannot wait to return

Room Tip: Some rooms DONT HAVE ANY WINDOWS so if this bothers you make sure you ask for a room with a window
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leesl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anh T, Manager at Roseland Point Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Leesl S,

Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to know that you have had great experience with our hotel's location and buffet breakfast,staff.

I am really appreciated your compliments
We looking forward to welcome you back.
Sincerely,
Tran Huu Anh
Manager
Silverland Boutique Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shiki, Japan
Level Contributor
136 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

I could rant on and on about my experience at this hotel but I will attempt to be as brief as possible.

After being disappointed by a 4 star hotel the previous year in HCMC, I and my wife decided to book a less expensive hotel and book its largest room, so we decided to book a grand suite in Tan Hai Long 3.

We booked and prepaid for our room 3 months before our trip - a Grand Suite for 4 nights for 3 people (I, my wife and her sister).

After reading some reviews on Tripadvisor where guests experienced being downgraded, we started to worry. I sent an email to the hotel’s sales department on 3 separate occasions to confirm the booking and, also, to make it clear that we were worried about being downgraded and requested a guarantee from the sales department that we would not be downgraded. We also checked that we would not have to pay for having an extra bed in our room.

Our booking was confirmed. I was told that there would be no charge for the extra bed. I was also told the following:

“I would like to ensure that you will have the Grand Suite Room with balcony (no.801) on the arrival date and there will be no downgrade.”

On arrival, the receptionist informed us that the room we had booked was under maintenance so she would have to downgrade us to a suite. She claimed the ceiling was broken and water was leaking into the room.

We didn’t believe a word of it. We demanded to see the maintenance before discussing a different room. She said she could not show us the room because it was locked and ‘blocked off’. She said the workman that were fixing the room had stepped out to buy some supplies and they had the key. We asked to see the manager. We waited and waited.

About 40-50 minutes after arriving at the hotel the receptionist admitted she had lied to us and the room was not under maintenance. Someone else had been given the room we had pre-booked and paid for.

We were all quite irate and a fair amount of explosive behavior erupted in the hotel lobby. Next we were offered a suite room. The deal the hotel offered was that, as we would have a smaller/cheaper room, she would not charge us for the 3rd (extra) bed in the room. But we had an email from the sales department stating that we would not have to pay for the 3rd bed as it was included in the price. She attempted to revise her offer twice more - a 12 dollar refund per night, and then a 20 dollar discount per night.

We persisted in asking to talk to the manager but she maintained that the manager was away on family business and could not speak English anyway. We were not satisfied with the refund she had offered. She told us we could compare the current price of the suite and grand suite on the internet, using hotels.com - the site we had booked through - so that we could confirm that the price she was offering was more than fair.

We checked the price of the two rooms on the internet:

The grand suite was advertised at $85 dollars per night.
The suite was advertised at $50 per night.
(These prices were for 3 people.)
The receptionist was offering us a $20 refund per night while the difference was clearly $35.

In addition to this, she also offered us a late check out (16:00) and a free taxi to the airport (worth $5). That was appreciated but it still did not make it a fair deal in our opinion. No amount of discussion would persuade her that the difference we were owed was more than $20 per night.

Take a moment to consider 2 other points:

1] The grand suite room was still being advertised as available on the internet, even though, clearly it was not.
2] The receptionist actually told us to compare the prices online and so had no idea at what price these rooms were actually being advertised at.

She argued that we had paid for the grand suite 3 months ago when it was cheaper, so we actually had not paid $85 dollars for it. She claimed we had paid less. I checked this.

3 months earlier, we had paid 35,346 Japanese Yen for 3 people for 4 nights in a grand suite.

When we booked the room on May 19, 2013, the exchange rate was 103 yen for 1 dollar.

35,346 divided by 103 = $343
Therefore (dividing by 4), one night = $85.75

We had paid $85.75 dollars per night. She was offering a room advertised at $50 per night so the offer of $20 per night refund was clearly an attempt to short change us.

She offered a full refund, but we decided to take the suite room than be without anywhere to stay and be left to the mercy of her maths. How could we believe a full refund would be based on reality?

The receptionist just could not accept the simple mathematical proof with which we provided her. We had all the documentation showing what we had paid. Yet they were unable to show us any mathematical proof of how they came to their number. The receptionist simply kept saying that she was ‘sure’ about it.

So, the deal we got was a refund of $20 per night, a free taxi to the airport (worth about $5) and a late check out at 16:00. We pushed for a later checkout, but she wouldn’t give it to us unless we paid for an extra day’s stay.

We had wasted 2 hours at check in. This is not an exaggeration.

The following day the manager of the hotel - Jessica - came to our room to talk to us. She was extremely professional and managed to resolve the situation as well as was probably possible at that time. We did not ask for it, but she gave us a later checkout time - 21:00, which was perfect as our plane was at about 23:30. We believe this finally gave us a reasonable deal as we effectively stayed an extra day at the hotel for free. I would like to thank Jessica for taking the time to come and talk to us and resolve the issue.

My wife’s sister asked the manager that the receptionist apologise to us for lying. The apology was offered by telephone.

When in HCMC, either book at a hotel with a reputation that precedes it, or book the most basic room in any other kind of hotel to avoid being downgraded.

At least at the Tan Hai Long 3, it felt to me like the hotel had messed up, but, at least on the day we checked in, were not willing to offer fair compensation. Thankfully, the manager there is someone who understands how the service industry should work. Sadly, the hotel does seem to have adopted a policy of always offering every type of room, even if it is not available.

Although I cannot speak for my wife and her sister, personally, I felt the manager was able to resolve the matter. However, the fact that we were downgraded, lied to, ripped off and delayed at check in still rankles, thus I feel unable to rate my experience as terrible rather than just poor.

If you are going to stay here, book the cheapest room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Mr.Ashwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Au Lac II Hotel
Au Lac II Hotel
#130 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
Tan Hoang Long Hotel
#54 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
0.5 mi away
Roseland Corp Hotel
Roseland Corp Hotel
#80 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Signature Saigon Hotel
Signature Saigon Hotel
#81 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
Ben Thanh Boutique Hotel
#63 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
GK Central Hotel
GK Central Hotel
#51 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseland Point Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseland Point Hotel

Property: Roseland Point Hotel
Address: 65 Ho Tung Mau St, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam (Formerly Tan Hai Long Hotel 3)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Roseland Point Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of the business and financial centers, surrounded by lots of eateries and restaurants, travel agents, tickets offices, shopping mall…, Roseland Point boasts a most convenience location for any discerned business travelers. The Hotel offers 45 rooms and suites, all of which are modern equipped and enjoy nice city view, especially visitors can enjoy a private balcony and s ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Roseland Point Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing