We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply fantastic!!”

The First Steakhouse
Order Online
Ranked #155 of 4,973 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Having a cozy design mixed with European modern traits, The First brings a very unique style to its diners. We attach special importance to every detail of quality and arragement to deliver a flavorful experience. As for us, excellent food, great taste and affordable price is our top priority.
Restaurant details
Description: Having a cozy design mixed with European modern traits, The First brings a very unique style to its diners. We attach special importance to every detail of quality and arragement to deliver a flavorful experience. As for us, excellent food, great taste and affordable price is our top priority.
Reviewed April 22, 2019 via mobile

After over 2 weeks travelling across Vietnam we had our fill of Vietnamese food and decided on The First Steakhouse as our destination. To say it was a good choice really doesn’t do it justice! I

Incredible quality of food at really impressive prices. The pasta was as good as anything we have had in Italy (which we have been to dozens of times) and the ribs just fell off the bone.

Jasper looked after us with style and couldn’t do more to make sure we had a 5* experience.

Give this place a go if you are in Saigon it won’t let you down.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank 745laras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDzuy, Owner at The First Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2019

Dear 745laras! Thank you for giving us a shot after 2 weeks of traveling in Vietnam. We're so glad we had the opportunity to serve and offer you with great food and service. As one of the leading steakhouses in Saigon, we make sure that every dish we serve is the best quality, and try our best every day to deliver the best service as well. We will let Jasper know he did a great job. Safe travels and we hope to see you soon next time you're in Vietnam!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 122 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2019 via mobile

We were on 2 week trip to Vietnam and to be honest l wanted a change from noodles!
We were not disappointed
- sharing platter consisted of
Pumpkin soup
Garlic bread
Tenderloin & Beefsteak with veg (green crunchy veg HEAVEN!)
2 x glasses of local wine

We just caught happy hour and the G&T was such a welcome change from beer!

Deserts panocotta & creme brûlée and a Vietnamese coffee to finish!

This wasn’t cheap by local standards but by western prices it was very good value for the quality of food 3 courses and alcohol

My only point to raise - the local red gets served cold, it tastes so much better at room temperature, so let it heat up!!!

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank heatherrC5499NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDzuy, Owner at The First Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2019

Dear heatherrC5499NB,

Thank you so much for coming to The First. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed our offerings, and that we brought you a nice change from the local everyday Vietnamese (which we hope you also enjoyed). At The First Steakhouse, we always try to bring customers the best food and drinks quality at the most affordable price point (all of our meats are imported and delivered fresh to the restaurant daily). We're happy that customers could see and appreciate that. We have noted your remarks regarding the house wine, and will make sure our waiters double-check with customers whether they prefer theirs chilled or at room temperature. Thank you and we hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

We found this restaurant down a small arcade in district 1 whilst looking for another restaurant. Delighted we came across it. There was a good selection of food (spoilt for choice) which was excellent. Husband happy with the choices of beer. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank DeborahC242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDzuy, Owner at The First Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Dear DeborahC242! We're so glad too, that you came across our restaurant and decided to walk in to try our food. As you stated, we do have an extensive menu with many selections for food and drinks, and we'd love to welcome you back again to try more of our offerings. Thank you again and we hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019

Steak doesn’t need fancy drinks to pair with I think. I really I loved the steak and beer combo here. I was surprised to see so many different options of craft and locally sourced beers. The portion here was huge. Good music, some kind of instrumental remix with The Bay hiphop influence. I’m a simple man. That’s all men need right?

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank danielbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDzuy, Owner at The First Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Dear danielbert! Thank you for visiting. We're glad to hear you enjoyed both the steak and local craft beer on tap at the restaurant. We created The First as a relaxing, chilled atmosphere for where we ourselves would enjoy the food – and we're glad that customers appreciate that. We hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2019 via mobile

I had the burger and my wife had the spare ribs.
The burger was very good in fact really good flavours well presented and tasty.
Wife reports ribs good but she should have had a side as it came as just ribs.
Beer great try the tap wheat really nice beer.
Overall a good experience nice staff well worth a visit.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank 536keithl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DannyDzuy, Owner at The First Steakhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2019

Dear 536keithl! Thank you for visiting The First Steakhouse. We're glad that you and your wife enjoyed our burger and spare ribs, as well as our drinks and service. We do have an extensive menu with many selections for steak (our signature) as well. We hope to see you again, and maybe this time you'd love to try more items on the menu?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The First Steakhouse also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to The First Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing