We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Beautiful Room, Very Nice and Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Northern Hotel Saigon
Ranked #103 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location, Beautiful Room, Very Nice and Friendly Staff”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Northern Hotel is a 3.5 stars rated quality hotel in a great location, just a few minutes away from the Opera house, all the big 5 stars hotels like the Sheraton, and the famous Park Hyatt. I would even give it 4+ stars. I had booked a Northern Suite at about $100 per night during New Years, and asked upfront for a quiet room. The suite was a nice big room in a quiet location, I was very pleased. Staff was professional, friendly and helping, always with a happy smile. Breakfast was included, but I only tried once, it was ok, great baguettes and all kinds of buffet items. However, I preferred to walk to some of the local coffee shops for breakfast like Highlands or L'Usine all 5 minutes walk away. If you are spoiled with 5 star hotels around the world this might not be your place, try the much higher priced 5 star hotels near by. I would definitely stay here again. Thank you :) !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyTraveller213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear HappyTraveller213,

Xin chao!

Thank you very much for selecting the Northern Hotel Saigon as a place of resident for your recent trip to Ho Chi Minh City, it is highly appreciated!

I am very pleased to hear that the Hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our staffs, good location, room facilities and breakfast, it is surely our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.

Your review has already been translated and posted on our staff notice board and I am sure that this will serve as an encouragement to all of us.

We would be more than happy to welcome you back here when you visit Ho Chi Minh City next time.

Once again, we have to give you great thanks for recommending us to your friends and fellow travelers on TripAdvisor.

Wishes you and family a healthy and prosperous year 2013!

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    233
    108
    23
    5
See reviews for
45
169
38
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

If this hotel wants to charge western prices it should have a western service. Better off staying in a local, cheap hotel where the staff, are friendly, smiley and wanting to help and you are benefiting local individuals.
It needs to read its small print and make sure it complies as we were promised a fresh fruit platter and fresh flowers - nothing.
Breakfasts were disppointing and not western - unlike the prices.
Their understanding of the English language could be improved upon. We asked for a quiet room, but got one to begin with, overlookng a Karaoke roof top bar! Not ideal, we were moved.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Juliet D,

warmest greetings from Northern Hotel Saigon!

First and foremost, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments on the TripAdvisor review. We are delighted to see that you had given us the opportunity to improve our services by given the comment on each points. As well as your kind words will be passed to our Front Office and Restaurant team for their friendliness and professionalize services (we have also mentioned this matter with your friend – RobYoung99 in the previous responded email).

We are working towards improving our operation and your views are a valued source of information. Indeed your comments will be again discuss on our next operation meeting in order to review and provide an appropriate training to our staff to keep up their standard.

I hope that you will give us another chance next time you are visiting Ho Chi Minh City and please do not hesitate to let me know if I can assist in anyway.

Wishes you and family a Merry Christmas & Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We spent a long time trying to find a reasonably priced hotel and eventually chose the Northern based on location and reviews.

We had booked one of the Northern Suits and were shown to one on the 11th Floor. Just as we were settling in we heard what turned out to be the Karaoke Bar striking up on the roof of one of the neighbouring hotels. As we had requested a quiet room we were moved to a lower floor on the opposite side of the hotel. The hotel staff seemed to be unaware of the Karaoke, since we had requested a “Quiet” room.

The suits are spacious, but nothing extraordinary, in fact you could say they were rather dated. The mattress was firm and comfortable, but only foam pillows which I find do not give a good support.

Breakfast was not what you would expect in a country with such a reputation for excellent food. Again rather dated and not a great choice for non-meat eaters. Also the fruit juice was from concentrate, not fresh.

Don’t use the Hotel airport pick-up service, as they charge US$30, one way. Use the service at the airport where you prepay US$10. Our return to the airport was only around US$8 and we used Vinasun, as recommended elsewhere on Tripadvisor.

Room Tip: Beware of the Karaoke Bar on the roof of a nearby hotel. We move to room 804 which faced away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobYoung99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear RobYoung99,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Northern Hotel Saigon. I am delighted to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and so pleased that you took time to share this with Tripadvisor’s readers.

My valued guest, I apologize for your comments regarding to noise might cause you inconvenience, I will certainly investigate further to ensure rooms are not noisy anymore, due to our Legend Bar just play music in a gently sound for guests to enjoy the Saigon panoramic view, and we have not any karaoke type in Hotel of course.

For breakfast, our well trained chef will take action to increase more vegetable in the daily buffet. For your information, beside the variety of fruit juice reserved in every morning, the Hotel has complemented more option such as pineapple, passion fruit…etc to help guest to enjoy real tropical fruit in Vietnam.

Once again, I thank you very much for staying with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you back here when you visit Ho Chi Minh City in the near future.

Wishes you and family a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed here for three nights and loved it! The hotel is in a great location, only 20-25 mins from the airport, and within easy walking distance of many of the city centre attractions. The staff were really friendly and despite a small mix up with the room on their part, everything went smoothly. They didnt have any problems confirming our trips we had pre-booked with Viator, or calling us a meter-taxi, which seemed to be a popular scam whilst we were in Vietnam and Thailand, where hotels would only offer a set price to/from the airport with a chosen provider (at roughly double the cost of a meter-taxi) and woudn't call a different one for you. The staff here were more than happy to call whoever we wanted to use however.

Breakfast was good with a huge selection of fresh vietnamese and western foods. We stayed in one of the suites, with jacuzzi and super-king bed, which was definately worth the extra £7-8 per night over the standard rooms. Would definately reccomend to anyone who wants a comfortable place to stay after a long day sightseeing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_soc85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Chris_soc85,

Xin chao!

My Team joins me in thanking you for staying the Northern Hotel for your recent holiday in Ho Chi Minh City.

I am very pleased to hear that the hotel looked after your needs well, and your comments in regards to our staffs, good location, room facilities and breakfast, it is surely our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a relaxing and memorable stay with us.

Whenever you travel to Saigon, we would like you to consider returning stay at Northern Hotel. We look forward to seeing you here again in the near future.

With warmest regards,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Northern Hotel for 4 nights recently and had no problems to mention. The rooms were large, very clean, and well appointed. The staff were friendly, very helpful and keen to please, and of course appreciative of any tips. Breakfast was plentiful, both Western and Asian fare available. The location was good and central to shops and eating places and a 15 minute walk to the market, and attractions. At night the street is a little dark but felt quite safe. We would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Jenny F,

Xin chao!

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback and tips regarding your recent stayed at Northern Hotel Saigon on TripAdvisor, it is highly appreciated!

We are glad to know that you satisfied with our room, location and services standard from our staffs.

Should you visit Ho Chi Minh City again in the coming time, we are more than happy to welcome you back to Northern once again

Wishes you and family a health and happiness!

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We were attending an Army reunion and spent two separate stays in this Hotel. On both occasions, the rooms were very good with an in-room safe, wifi, Refrigerator, mini bar, and the toiletries in the bathroom were excellent and replaced as we used them. There are two restaurants and two bars, one a roof top type. There is a tour desk, gymnasium, currency exchange and room service available with computer access in the foyer. The staff were excellent, going out of their way to be polite, helpful and pleasant on all occasions. It is a short walk from many of the major sights in the City, and we would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear Graham074,

First of all, thank you very much for selecting the Northern Hotel Saigon as your choice of accommodation while visiting Ho Chi Minh City. Thanks a lot for sharing such a nice review to support all those good reviews on TripAdvisor website.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and satisfied with our room, in-room amenities, restaurant, location, and of course – the services from our staffs.

I appreciate you sharing your concerns and your positive comments on your experience and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel was in district 1 in the centre of Ho Chi Minh City. It was within walking distance of most tourist attractions. The hotel was clean. Our room was spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david_judymynott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tan-Northern, Director of Business Development at Northern Hotel Saigon, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear David_judymynott,

Xin chao!

My Team joins me in thanking you for choosing the Northern Hotel for your recent trip in Saigon

We are happy to note that you appreciated our facilities and services. It is our endeavor to ensure each Guest has a comfortable and memorable stay with us.

Thank you again for sharing your experience with us here on TripAdvisor and should you have any plans to return to Saigon, please do let me know if there is anything I can assist with.

Yours sincerely,

Tan
Tran Duong Tan Mr.
Director of Business Development
dobd@northernhotel.com.vn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
Silverland Jolie Hotel & Spa
#24 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
823 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aquari Hotel
Aquari Hotel
#110 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nhat Ha3
Nhat Ha3
#118 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Millennium Boutique Hotel
Millennium Boutique Hotel
#41 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paragon Saigon Hotel
Paragon Saigon Hotel
#60 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
727 reviews
0.4 mi away
Norfolk Hotel Saigon
Norfolk Hotel Saigon
#39 of 458 in Ho Chi Minh City
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Hotel Saigon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Hotel Saigon

Property: Northern Hotel Saigon
Address: 11A Thi Sach Street | District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 00848, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #103 of 458 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Northern Hotel Saigon 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
...peaceful in saigon center With 99 rooms fully equipped at 3 star international standard, 100% room with nice view and large window, proposed in Superior, Deluxe and Suite categories, Northern Hotel is designed to provide comfort and style with personalized service and convenient amenities, you can enjoy simple comforts and stellar convenience at the best place in Ho Chi Minh City Located in Saigon’s central business district, we are just a short walk from the major entertainment and shopping districts including Opera House, War Remnants, Reunification Palace, Notre Dame Cathedral, Central Post Office… Take a stroll and explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Northern Hotel Saigon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing