We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 day Mekong Delta Bike Tour”
Review of Vietnam Bike Tours

Vietnam Bike Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
and up
5-Day Vietnam Central Coast Bike Tour from Hue to...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Vietnam Bike Tours® - a family-run company Climate change. Ride a bike. In 2010 company founder Ngo Trong Huy started Vietnam Bike Tours in Ho Chi Minh City with just three secondhand bikes and a determination to build a first class cycling tour company in Southeast Asia. Now more than one thousand cyclists each year ride with Vietnam Bike Tours on cycling holidays in Vietnam, Cambodia, Thailand, Laos, Malaysia and Singapore. With a passion for cycling across Southeast Asia, in Sep, 2017, Ngo Trong Huy, moved his family to Yangon, Myanmar. Huy’s move to Myanmar is the next step in building Vietnam Bike Tours and offering cyclists yet one more amazing Asia destination. Ride with us in exotic Myanmar (Burma).
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We really think this is the best way to see a country, and this tour did not disappoint. Granted it was HOT riding, but it was really interesting and our guide, Tien Truong was great, knowledgeable and willing to answer questions about plants, culture, etc. We didn't realize when we booked that it would be a private tour, so it was just myself and my husband. I think we would have enjoyed going with other travelers. We chose to do the "home stay" for two nights; which is really more like a family run guesthouse; no frills but adequate. Meals were local food and good! We got more than our money's worth of personal attention. Bikes were good. All in all a trip we will remember with pleasure.

3  Thank MajaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
All reviews
"support van"
in 14 reviews
"mekong delta"
in 138 reviews
"day tour"
in 47 reviews
"cycling experience"
in 7 reviews
"small villages"
in 19 reviews
"back roads"
in 18 reviews
"rice paddies"
in 19 reviews
"great cycling"
in 5 reviews
"guide phuc"
in 8 reviews
"cycle trip"
in 7 reviews
"home stay"
in 17 reviews
"angkor wat"
in 9 reviews
"dragon fruit"
in 8 reviews
"nha trang"
in 13 reviews
"rubber trees"
in 5 reviews
"great guide"
in 18 reviews
"great trip"
in 15 reviews

365 - 369 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I completed the 4 day bicycle ride in the Mekong Delta with Vietnam Bike Tours in June 2013. The tour guide was Tan who was always entertaining, knowledgeable and professional in the way the tour was conducted and in the future would like to have him as my guide. He was considerate of the people in the group and each day provided options as to the route we would take and the distance we would complete.

The route was very interesting and varied travelling mostly along paths and back roads. This enabled us to see the real countryside and interact with the people who lived there. The people were extremely friendly and you were greeted with a 'hullo' many times each day. We stopped at a variety of small family businesses which were interesting and provided us with an understanding of the way of life in the Mekong. I would recommend this cycling tour as it was one of the best I have done.
Richard Kelly

2  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

it was our first visit in vietnam - started with a bike-tour through the Mekong Delta (19.5.2013 - 23.5.2013).
it was GREAT : the mountain-bikes are up-to-date, fantastic landscape, very good hotels, professional guide (Hai), comfortable escort-car with a good driver, balanced trips (50km / 80km / 45km / 85km), meals in local bars/restaurants are good (also for me - I don´t eat fish), the wheater was very hot with a high air humidity (but it was known)
we will come back for another tour through vietnam - sure :-)
thanks a lot for this adventure
Jupp & Trude from Niedernhausen, Germany

1  Thank jupp_jansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Myself and 3 friends organised a private 4 day tour from Hue to Hoi Ann, stopping in Danang half way. We picked Vietnam Bike Tours after reviewing a few cycle operators on the web. The bikes looked good and they were which was very importantto us, Trek 26inch hard tails, reasonably new. It is always difficult to get comfortable on a strange bike, so I would thoroughly recommend taking your own accesories to ensure you are not uncomfortable eg, helmut, bike seat. Our guide was called 'Vu" and he was very nice and welcoming. We probably could have stopped more and been given more explanations arounds sites, at times it felt he wanted to rush to the next location to meet a schedule when we wanted to stop and explore, but in general, we had a great time with Vu and learnt alot about him and his home life and in particular his home town Hoi An where we spent 2 days, was wonderful with great beaches and great food. The accom offered by the tour was very good (3 nights), probably too nice, we tended to enjoy the cheaper, backpacker style of accom rather than 3 star western style hotels which Vietnam Bike Tours use, but the package we booked was the most basic accom they had, I think most people would find it better than average. Highlights were stopping for sugar cane juice or a chilled vietnamese coffee roadside to get some respite from the heat. We had read that June was too hot for cycling and we found that...it was! Often 36 degrees, but as long as it was flat, we were fine. One day did involve a 1.5 hour mountain climb which we struggled with, but we did do it after lunch where we drank beer - probably didnt help, but we were reasonably fit, if you want to go in Summer, my advice is train or you will really not enjoy yourself if you cannot cope with excercising + extreme heat and humidity. All in all, a great experience and I would recommend Vietnam Bike Tours, our 4 days with Vu was great, we saw wonderful sites, waved to hundreds of children who were excited to see us and stopped in many places you would never see on a bus, cycling is the way to go in Vietnam and you get used to dealing with the traffic very quickly as these guys keep you off main roads. I suggest paying more for a private trip like we did, if you get stuck in a group with different skill levels and different wants and needs, I think it could be a miserable experience, safer by far to create your own group and enjoy it together. Oh, and the food was awesome, our guide typically listened to what we liked which was authentic Vietnamese, we had some wonderful meals as a result, although we did get stuck one night when we wanted to go to a night market to eat, our guide Vu explained he had paid for dinner at our hotel as part of the tour. Other than some small complications like this where we were forced to maintain the tour schedule - we had a great time and really enjoyed the adventure of it. Thanks Vu, see you next time, maybe we can do Hanoi in the North

2  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Second visits using the same company can always be a little concerning, and you aske yourself is it going to be as good as the first trip or will i be disappointed but this certainly was not the case, we had a ball. Thang and our driver were great and Sapa was lovely we wished we had stayed longer. As per our first visit the people of Vietnam were warm, inviting and curious not sure they had seen too many Australians in some of the towns but at all times we felt very safe and never threatened. Thank you once again and we would definitely use you guys next time we visit. only comment bikes were a little beat up but they still worked okay

1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vietnam Bike Tours also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam

Been to Vietnam Bike Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing