We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kim Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kim Hotel
Ranked #112 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Small and Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Located in a side lane just off the main road in the heart of the backpacker area is this small hotel. Rooms are basic but clean and have all items required for travellers. Fridge, air con, tv, toiletries (soap/toothbrush/toothpaste) and a shower always with hot water. There is also a lift and a roof terrace.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a small balcony. Some rooms do not have a window. Hotel not located in a noisy area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubbles48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    69
    25
    10
    4
See reviews for
14
70
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I originally came back to Kim 2 hotel for my return from the Mekong delta trip, Unfortunately, Kim 2 ran out of room so they asked me if I would like to stay in Kim 1. Friendly and helpful staff especially the owner, Mrs. Kim. The amenities are in perfect condition. I love the bed since I woke up in the morning without backache. A/C and hot water work well. I took the room on the 7th floor and enjoyed the fantastic view on the terrace. I will come back to this hotel when I get a chance to come back to Saigon

Room Tip: Balcony room has bathtub. Other rooms have showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arianna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

A reasonable option in the heart of pham lau area. Pros are friendly staff, great location and about average price. Cons rockhard bed, no power points apart from terribly located in the bathroom, poor quality linen, no kettle in room. I would probably search for other options next time.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasialover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were greeted right off of our flight by lovely English speaking staff, even though it was 11pm. The room was SUPER clean (which is a big deal for budget hotels in Vietnam) and there is even a lift. AC worked perfectly, shower was awesome with long lasting hot water and it actually didn't get the entire bathroom soaked when we used it.

All in all this is a great little hotel with awesome staff. One of the best stays we had in 2 months here. Breakfast, though not included was really nice and plentiful. The location is just perfect.

You can't beat it for $16 a night in Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kabryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. We met the owner once and they were very accommodating and got us into our room very early, long before check-in! They were also very helpful in booking our bus to Phnom Penh!

The bed was very uncomfortable though! And we are very used to hostel style hard mattresses but wow! Ha! We stayed up most of the night watching the lord of the rings because we couldn't sleep!

The location was good, right in the middle of all of the backpacker restaurants, but we tended to wander elsewhere as we enjoyed the local and cheaper stuff more!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Flyindandelion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you're on a budget but still want a place that's safe, clean and centrally located, Kim Hotel 1 is a great option. The family that runs it is super helpful and cares for their guests safety and well-being. The hotel has excellent wifi and there's a lot of awesome street food nearby. I'd come back here next time I visit HCMC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NinjaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed at Kim Hotel for 1 night from Cambodia. There were three of us and we got the room for only $18 - the extra bed was free. Although the room was small, it was clean with a/c, hot shower, TV, and ref. The hotel also comes with an elevator which makes it convenient to go up and down. However, the receptionist is quite disrespectful and unfriendly.

Room Tip: You can actually get a discount, like we did, if you try harder to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gen Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#124 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#85 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#62 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seventy Hotel
Seventy Hotel
#93 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thao Nhi Hotel
Thao Nhi Hotel
#143 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#89 of 423 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kim Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kim Hotel

Property: Kim Hotel
Address: 18 40, Bui Vien Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 423 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kim Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kim Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing