We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Indian/Pakistan!”

Mumtaz Indian Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 3,136 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: We are the very first Indian restaurant in Ho Chi Minh City. Saving most authentic Indian dishes from north and south of India, cooked by experienced native Indian cooks. We also offer a range of vegetarian dishes in our house.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Outstanding Indian/Pakistan!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I've traveled and lived extensively throughout North America, Europe, Middle East and Asia, and this is by far the best Indian/Pakistan food I've ever had. Nothing fancy, it's a hole in the wall. But the food is just awesome, and the prices very very reasonable! Lamb curry, spicy lamb, chicken tikki, all excellent!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    133
    52
    32
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
544 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
“Still a Good Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

I've eaten here several times on several visits over the last six years and never been disappointed. Today I went back for the first time since early 2010, had the chicken do piaza (chicken with onions) and was pleased once again. Staff were pleasant and helpful.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BallardBeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First-class Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

There are lots of Indian restaurants in Saigon - I'm sure at least twenty-five, maybe close to one hundred. This is a perennial favorite of the expat community. Just good, good, food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BillTuckerUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Literally inedible - even the waiter admitted it.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Fancied a good curry and got the name and address of Mumtaz out of lonely planet.

To summarise:

Highpoints

The pakoras were excellent
The service was reasonably fast
We weren`t charged for the food that tasted like vomit
The food was reasonably priced

Lowpoints

The popadoms were tiny, greasy and unpleasant
Two out of the three sauces that went with them and the pakoras were bad
When our Korma and Jalfrezi arrived they were identical
The chef came out of the kitchen to verbally abuse us when we asked for a Korma that tasted like the description in the menu (honestly, we were really polite about it)
When the korma was redone it was returned tasting like vomit (chef's revenge I guess)
The waiter said that the korma had probably been made with off coconut milk (ugh)

In conclusion:

Don't go here.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disaster - Lonely Planet gets it wrong... Again”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We sat ourselves down and we got our poppadums (which he claimed were fresh, but had the texture of stale packaged ones) fairly quickly.

That was the high point. We were then informed there were "no starters just main curries" by the grumpy waiter. 

So we just ordered mains. Mistake. 50 minutes (and 3 requests later) a cold, microwaved bland chicken curry and dry biryani arrived. No apologies by the grunting owner.

Took ages in the intervening period to order drinks (expensive as well) because we were ignored.

Told waiter we were leaving and just paying for drinks. He muttered something about only having one chef.

So we left hungry, and had to pay for 100,000d worth of drinks.

Other customers were also waiting ages or had complained about the quality of the food.

Avoid - go to Coriander for delicious Thai - the best food we had in Vietnam.  Just over the road.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank swimwithtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mumtaz Indian Restaurant also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Mumtaz Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing