We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great little hotel”
Review of Seventy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Seventy Hotel
Ranked #173 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Kandy, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great little hotel”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Great stay here, good location in district 1 of Ho Chi Minh City. Delicious welcome drink on arrival, very friendly helpful staff. We had a couple of minor things wrong with our room and someone was up to fix them within 5 minutes. Good breakfast selection. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    124
    51
    17
    14
See reviews for
40
142
81
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

We arrived in HCMC and, tired and irked by greedy taxi drivers, we walked into 70's sister hotel. From
that first moment until leaving for the train we have nothing but sheer praise for this company. Initially we were booked at their sister hotel but our last minute online booking meant there was no room at that place. So they booked us into 70 and organised our transfer (all 3 blocks of it) to 70. The staff are the friendliest, most helpful and most professional we have encountered in our travels through all of SE Asia and Sri Lanka. They really do go the extra mile.

The room was very well presented, gleaming and peaceful (a miracle on that street).

It has a tour desk full of helpful chaps who organised everything we needed.

Breakfast was included and was lovely.

Like other places, they were happy to have us leave our bags in the reception after checking out, unlike other places they also offered us a free towel and shower before heading to the train station for the night sleeper north.

They are bang in the middle of the tourist area but seem like a haven from the madness outside.

We paid $22 per night for an air-conditioned double + breakfast and compared to what we've stayed in for not much less, 70 represents excellent value for money.

If we return, we will definitely book here again.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank robwaugh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here or 2 nights, but wished we had booked more. We did try but it was fully booked.
Our room was comfy and very clean. The bed was amazing! We had the best nights sleep!
The service matched. They were very helpful and the hotel had a lovely atmosphere. We found the young man on the night shift to have impeccable service!
We would deffinately recommend this hotel. We have looked round most hotels in this price range in this area and this was our favourite.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller10205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2014

Seventy Hotel is run by the nicest group of people. Despite some staff speaking little English they were still all great. The rooms are average, especially the bathrooms, but it's good value for money and for the backpackers district the rooms are above average. The staff and location make the hotel what it is, which we found to be great. The notables:

We decided to extend our time in Ho Chi Minh so we extended our stay at their hotel. We had to change rooms (upgrade) because of our extension, which was fine! They helped us move our bags and everything, was very stress free and easily done. Request room 501

My boyfriend got quite sick from street food and they helped us so much, kept checking on him and bringing Tea and bread for him. They made it feel like home which is all you need when your sick!

Great restaurant recommendations given to us

Breakfast you order on demand in the morning (not the night before as some reviewers have stated). It's great because you can order what you feel like and nothing goes to waste like it would a buffet. They have plain options, hot breaky options, Asian cuisine options, everything. You choose and it comes out quick.

The travel desk:

They organized our sleeper buses and trains all the way from Ho Chi Minh to Hanoi, stopping everywhere along the way. So far the tickets have all been legitimate and well arranged. It has been very hassle free and well priced. They gave us all our tickets for the south of the country and we need to collect the northern tickets up from Hoi An at their office there. They made sure we could locate the office in Hoi An easily and have given us their direct mobile numbers and contact details incase anything goes wrong in collecting the tickets. This is pretty common for travel companies as distribution of tickets for the north is hard to do from the south and viseversa, most companies have offices in both I have gathered.

They organized our Cu Chi tunnels half day tour and our Mekong Delta tour with the Delta Tour Company. Both great value, the company was really well organized. The travel desk called us before each tour to confirm and the tour company collected us from the hotel which was very convenient.

Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grace-MayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and found the staff extremely helpful with all our requests, including adding 3 extra nights. It's in a great location, very clean, and reasonably priced.
My only issue occurred on our last day/night when the room across the very short hall was having some (very loud) construction work done. They started at 7am, which didn't really bug us, but they then didn't stop until midnight! We complained several times about the noise, because we had to be up before 6am to catch our bus, and each time they said the man will be done shortly. When my partner went to complain around midnight, they told him the construction man will be finished any minute now because he is tired (not because it was too loud for their guests to sleep!). However, after he stopped construction, the man decided to watch the TV in the room with the sound full blast and the door open for about an hour. It was an awful night and the way they handled the situation was very unprofessional.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back and try to ignore the loud rooster
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked this accommodation for my trip to HCM with my wife. We were very well looked after by the entire staff and Ms Hang who is very helpful. The accommodation is very central, clean and very reasonable. I will definitely be staying here again when I'm back. Altaf

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jeedi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for almost 3 days it was almost perfect! the location was great in the middle fun and exciting sceneries. The hotel place was perfectly safe coz the police station,(i guess) was just beside the hotel. Has a 24/7 mini stop and groceries, spa, bars, resto. I would like to commend the receptionist Huynh Van Binh for welcoming us warmly providing us what our request and needs, greeting us politely and letting us know and reminded us that it was our departure flight back to Manila haha! Over all staffs are friendly and accomodating. We almost forgot that its our time to go back home because we felt that we're home in Ho Chi Minh and the hotel.
Will surely go back and stay to this hotel the next time will visit Ho Chi Minh.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wheng G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.2 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#106 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
782 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#82 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#29 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#74 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
350 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
Beautiful Saigon Hotel
#81 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,072 reviews
0.7 mi away
LeBlanc Saigon
LeBlanc Saigon
#89 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seventy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seventy Hotel

Property: Seventy Hotel
Address: 70 Bui Vien St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Phan Lan Hotel)
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #173 of 457 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seventy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to Saigon alone, with your family, for a holiday or for business, Seventy Hotel is the place to stay. We welcome you to a relaxed and friendly environment and are happy to answer any questions you may have. Please contact us if you have any questions.Seventy Hotel (formerly Phan Lan Hotel) is located in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City and pack backage area. There are many tourists attractive nearby : Ben Thanh market, Sai Gon river, Notre Dame, Post Office, Reunification Palace, War Museum, Banks (ATM), Booking Offices, Bars and Coffee shops and Shopping centers.Seventy Hotel has 18 cozy rooms with well and modern facilities including.Our Partner:The Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel is our partner which is located in 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao Str, Dist 1, HCM City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Seventy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
70 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing