We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Thuy Tien Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thuy Tien Hotel
Ranked #253 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Ajijic Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2014

This hotel is well located to where the action is for the younger crowd. Being in the backpacker area everything is very close by. You are just a stones-throw away from the infamous market. The rooms are nothing to write home about. Cleaning is done on "as requested basis. The staff are young and have very incandescent personalities. They are always willing to help. The price is reasonable given the proximity to all the things you need. Yet there are some seedy characters in this area, selling anything from drugs to women.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    22
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
6
19
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

Probably the best price/quality in HoChiminh in the backpacker district
Well located in Pham Ngu Lao St, close to all the commodities, eating and partying stuff
Staff very friendly and helpful
Price very decent and dorm very good !
Really the best choice compare to others same prices and low quality
Just go for it I would say
Highly recommended

Room Tip: Any kind of room is good and very clean, just make your choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julito p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arequipa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

A great hotel, at the right price, not huge rooms but enough space for two people to move around. Staff were exceedingly helpful in all matters. Highly recommend if you want to stay in backpacker area (district 1).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Waisbrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

The place was decent to stay in for the price we paid. There is AC, fan and a fridge in the room which only turns on with the key fob in the doorway. The staff is nice, one of them spoke better English than the others. The shower is next to the toilet and there was a bit of mold in the ceiling but nothing too bad.

Two complaints though:
1) our 3 nights there we experienced 3 cockroaches. The first was in the shower/bathroom. The second was right outside our doorway, and the third was on the small coffee table in our room, which we eventually had to shake out of my jacket. (AHHHH) If you let the staff know, they kill them and clean them for you without fear, which is good, I guess.
2) They lock the gate to the hotel off-hours. The first night we were locked out, and a local helped us call the number and bang on the door to get in after 15 minutes. And every morning we left early to explore, and the staff (usually sleeping on the benches in the lobby) had to wake up and unlock the gate for us.

Overall a decent place to stay with cordial staff and OK living conditions. The location is great, though, walking distance from Ben Thanh market, a lot of nightlife and restaurants just a couple blocks away, and grocers set up their daily spread of vegetables and goods right on the sidewalk outside. Booking online will save you some money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for four nights. The rooms were clean and everyday there was a cleaning service. Unfortunally there were black spots in the bathroom, so i think it was a fungus. It was room 108. And the room was noisy. Maybe you can have a room on a hogher floor. But the hotel is very safe. You can lock things at the reception. The position is also very good and they organize nice trips. Also there are a lot of young guests so the atmosphere is nice. Bit the best was that the abc bakery is not far away and there the baguettes especially the german bread sandwich is delicious.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank JanandAnni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a really good stay at Thuy Tien Hotel for 4 nights. Spacious 2 bed room which was very clean. Excellent service from the front desk. The staff were really with good english speach and helped us book trips and buses all the time. :)

Room Tip: good value for a good double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 800chevy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here by bus from Phnom Penh and we were dropped off only minutes from this hotel. The hotel is centrally located with plenty of restaurants, parks and pubs. We booked a Deluxe suit which was clean, comfortable and affordable. The customer service we received was warm, helpful and genuine. I would definitely recommend this to couples and travellers of all ages.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy_t11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.4 mi away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#153 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#110 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ha Vy Hotel
Ha Vy Hotel
#237 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#91 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thuan Duc
Thuan Duc
#210 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.5 mi away
Thien Vu Hotel
Thien Vu Hotel
#125 of 447 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thuy Tien Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thuy Tien Hotel

Property: Thuy Tien Hotel
Address: 359 Pham Ngu Lao, District 1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #253 of 447 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thuy Tien Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed for both business and leisure travel, Thuy Tien Hotel is ideally situated in District 1 - Pham Ngu Lao / Tay Balo; one of the city's most popular locales. Only 1 Km from the city center, the hotel's strategic location ensures that guests can quickly and easily reach many local points of interest. Also within easy reach are Sinhbalo Adventures, Nha Tho Huyen Sy, Galaxy Cinema.At Thuy Tien Hotel, every effort is made to make guests feel comfortable. To do so, the hotel provides the best in services and amenities. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy airport transfer, concierge, elevator, tours, laundry service/dry cleaning.The ambiance of Thuy Tien Hotel is reflected in every guestroom. coffee/tea maker, fan, non smoking rooms, bathtub, air conditioning are just some of the facilities at your disposal. Besides, the hotel's host of recreational offerings ensures you have plenty to do during your stay. Superb facilities and an excellent location make the Thuy Tien Hotel the perfect base from which to enjoy your stay in Ho Chi Minh City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thuy Tien Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing