We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dumplings outside of China !”
Review of Dong Bac Dumplings

Dong Bac Dumplings
Ranked #339 of 4,992 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range: $2 - $9
Description: We welcome you for our handmade dumpling variations. Our specialties are cooked by original recipe of North China. Various vegetarian options available.
Restaurant details
Description: We welcome you for our handmade dumpling variations. Our specialties are cooked by original recipe of North China. Various vegetarian options available.
Reviewed February 21, 2018

very good Dumplings and other authentic Chinese Dishes

No egg rolls or chicken fried rice here !! :)

service is a but off but they are trying !!

food is fantastic , try the fish in Chili oil !!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tawloon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 121 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2018 via mobile

Myself and my husband and our friend ate here on our most recent trip to HCMC and it was absolutely a 10/10! The food was amazing and the beers were cold! My husband and I frequently travel to HCMC and I can't believe we haven't eaten here before, it will most definitely be on our list of places to eat at again! Would highly recommend the Schezwan Tofu or the fried eggplant. The dumplings were also exceptional! Thanks!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank tiny_delicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2018 via mobile

We ordered 3 dishes, received 2 of the dishes we requested and 1 that we didn’t. This was due to an error on someone’s part in reading the number associated to the meal in question. The dish we ordered was numbered 305, but the dish that came out was 505. I can see how this was an error as the reader had mistaken the “3” for a “5”. Whilst we tried to attract the attention of the waiter, we were not successful as he was not noticing us. We were later told that we had to pay for the meal that we did not request nor consume and was informed that notification should have been made earlier, which we most certainly did try. Overall, we were made to pay an additional 140.000 dong.

This was the fault of the restaurant and therefore the amount should not have been included in the customers bill.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here on our second last night of a 3 week stint in Asia (eating out 3 times a day) and this was the best meal of the whole trip!!!! Took us forever to order because we wanted everything and needed to make tough cuts to our order list, and promised we would come back. Amaaaazzing flavour, fast service, sweet staff, a must try!!!!

Date of visit: January 2018
1  Thank hbkrtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2018

My husband is a Chinese American. We are from San Francisco so, we eat lots of great food when we are home. We have been traveling for 3 years now from South America to Central America and to Southeast Asia. And, these folks are the best, most authentic restaurant we have been to yet. We love that they greet you with fresh slices of watermelon and hand wipes to set the mood for your dining experience. We have been three times now and this never gets old. The restaurant is known for its fresh dumplings which, a woman is making in the windowed dumpling room, all day long. The have pork or vegetable or vegetable AND pork dumplings. And, there is even black vinegar on the table for your dumplings! You can have your dumplings steamed or, steamed and friend.
And, they will also add your dumplings to a bowl of chicken brother for 10,000 dong more. They also have CHOW MEIN noodles. This is the one thing we have never been able to find. The noodles are chewy and delicious. They are tacky and chewy. We get them with pork and vegetables. They have terrific bok choy, which is also difficult to find. And, we loved the string beans in a spicy black bean sauce. There is a selection of all kinds of meat and seafood too. DO NOT MISS THIS TINY GEM. It reallly is a hidden hole in the wall at the end of Bui Vien. If you aren't a young backpacker you might not find this terrific place. But, DO FIND IT. You will be so happy you did.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank erinsf2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dong Bac Dumplings also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Dong Bac Dumplings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing