We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value - Friendly staff - Homely stay”
Review of Phan Lan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Phan Lan Hotel
Ranked #17 of 913 Ho Chi Minh City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good value - Friendly staff - Homely stay”
Reviewed January 12, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment. Room was large and clean. Situated in a side street of Pham Ngu Lao, it was quiet in the morning. Breakfast is included in the price, nothing fancy but nonetheless provides a good start for the day.But what really impressed us was the friendliness and desire to help from the staff. They answered every question we made and recommended us a good bus operator to Phnom Penh.

Will stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DannieandYianni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    99
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
23
75
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

new, clean rooms in quiet dead end. still in the heart of the backpackers' area. friendly and helpful staff. well worth a stay if u come to HCMC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fralmsch12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is located in the backpackers' area in HCMC which makes it superbly accessible (walking distance!) to what a backpacker simply needs: active bars at night (literally in front your hotel but noise is still minimized once you get into your rooms), convenient stores (theres' ministop 20 steps away from hotel), books and clothing stores, etc.

1. the hotel has an STA travel agency office located in its lobby, which makes it convenient to book cheap tours within or outside the HCMC
2. most of the buses that will bring you to tours are walking distance from the hotel
3. Good wifi connection down to your room whichever your room is
4. Really nice staff, you'll feel the Asian hospitality in this place (they'll get you cabs, reserve resto's,etc-->I know these are expected of hostels but the people here do it sincerely and with a smile!)
5. Rooms are clean and the space is good enough for what you pay for, they change bath towels DAILY.

p.s. we stayed there during NYE and would you believe they were kind enough to serve NYE dinner with some drinks!

Its my 2nd time to HCMC when i went here during the holidays (Dec 29-31). If i'm gonna be back on a backpacking mode to HCMC, this place tops my list!

Room Tip: Rooms are good and comfy, but you may want to avoid the rooms on the 1st floor as mornings could be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agentblue101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in room 401 in early December. Woke up with those damn blood suckers all over us and the bed. Were way too tired and it was way too late to change for a new room.

Staff were friendly enough, breakfast was good too and little rooftop patio is a nice bonus.

But the bedbugs killed it for us. And thinking back to it, when we were shown that room, we definitely smelled some sort of bug spray but just thought nothing of it. So the staff probably knew, although seemed genuinely sorry when we told them the next morning.

Without bedbugs, I give it a 4; with them, an itchy, welt covered 2.

PS: skip an extended stay in Saigon and explore the Mekong river delta instead.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCleanshirts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 7, 2011

nice size and comfortable rooms, friendly and welcoming staff. would definitely stay here again next time i am in saigon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Newz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed here for 4 days the first week of Nov 2011, then again the mid of Nov. Perfect location, very clean room, good breakfast, super great host !! Will be returning in Mar 2012 and will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwalker014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

Arrived in Saigon and initially planned to stay at the hotel next door but were fully booked and stayed here. We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms as it was quite large. The staff were very friendly and the room included a/c, tv and a fridge. However, my boyfriend and I had the bed right next to the bathroom and were surprised by an infestation of ants that decided to enter into my newly opened sprite bottle. We were also woken up in the morning by the construction that was going on.
As we were booking our tickets for Phu Quoc, the receptionist and our little group had a miscommunication and she booked us plane tickets for there and back when we specifically said we would go and eat and then confirm with her, but i truly believe this was a simple miscommunication error. For future, if booking with them ensure you double check before they book! Cheers

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.0 mi away
Bich Duyen Hotel
Bich Duyen Hotel
#28 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
1,185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#105 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Duc Vuong Hotel
Duc Vuong Hotel
#36 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Minh Chau Hotel
Minh Chau Hotel
#34 of 457 in Ho Chi Minh City
506 reviews
0.3 mi away
Town House 50 Saigon
Town House 50 Saigon
#3 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Saigon Inn Hotel
Saigon Inn Hotel
#4 of 913 in Ho Chi Minh City
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phan Lan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phan Lan Hotel

Property: Phan Lan Hotel
Address: 6 283, Pham Ngu Lao Street | Pham Ngu Lao Ward, Dist 1, Ho Chi Minh City 700000, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 913 B&Bs / Inns in Ho Chi Minh City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Phan Lan Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your Phan Lan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing