We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy and good”
Review of Huong Lai

Huong Lai
Ranked #23 of 3,288 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Busy and good”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A good restaurant with tasty food and for a great cause. The service was helpful and enthusiastic. There was nothing to fault at this restaurant and it was busy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    457
    258
    70
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brugge, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Because we like to support an enterprise that helps formerly disadvantaged youth, we went an evening to Huong Lai for diner. The resto is very nice, in a beautiful old building and everything is very clean. It was busy and as we had no reservation, we were happy to have a table. We took a menu. It was not bad, but while travelling through Vietnam and Laos, we found much better places to eat. For what you get there, you pay too much. Portions are not so big too. But it is clean and friendly and you do a good job by eating there. So, that is the most important thing!.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank liesenluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

What a splendid experience! The food was just excellent, the service so friendly, and for such a good cause, I wish this place was in where I lived, I would go all the time! Highly recommend it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You had better make a reservation”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Another fantastic place to eat, staff great, food fantastic, cost what price for well presented tasty food like this.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank 71david_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and fantastic food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

This is a great little place. I got there early at 6pm and it was empty. But it was soon packed. The staff were very welcoming and efficient. The menu looked great but as we were feeling lazy, the set menu seemed easier. There were 2 choices - light (vegetarian), meat and seafood. We ordered one meat and one seafood and shared everything and were stuffed at the end. The food was great, brought out quickly and dips and dishes explained. It was a great meal and I would highly recommend this restaurant. Very reasonably priced too - the set menu are about $12-13 each.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank absinythe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huong Lai also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Huong Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing