We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huong Lai Restaurant for Wholesome Regular Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Huong Lai

Huong Lai
Ranked #20 of 3,139 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Huong Lai Restaurant for Wholesome Regular Meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I had several delicious Vietnamese meals at this restaurant. The food and service are great and I like the fact that we are helping those who work here to get an education. The food is not lavish but rather wholesome and hearty and you get real value for your money. The place is very clean and the atmosphere welcoming. Staff are friendly and attentive. The prices are affordable. This is a great place to have regular meals if you are close enough.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jiya X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    251
    68
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place and great idea and great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a quaint small restaurant,very friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. Many locals were eating there the night we went. We chose the set meal which we couldn't fault. We were served by well trained hospitality students that were happy and relaxed and couldn't do more for us, despite their previous circumstances. It is not an expensive place at all so can only think the previous reviewer got mixed up with the dong conversion.
A great place to support while getting a very well cooked and served meal!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jndSouthCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good service, good food, nice cause, but VERY overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We came here because of the story and the reviews on TA.
Servers obviously try very hard and do a good job.
We had the standard set menu and thought it was tasty, but very overpriced. We don't mind paying a bit more for a good cause, but this was too much for us.
I would only recommend to those wanting to donate to the good cause that it is.
Good luck to them though. They're doing great job and trying to better themselves.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oponz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great food at a restaurant doing great work!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

After reading other reviews I'm sorry we couldn't try more of the delicious things on the menu!! We had the taster plate with the spring rolls and lotus salad which was fresh and extremely tasty. For the main course we had prawns and broccoli and Satay beef which certainly had a chili bite to it but both were extremely fresh and delicious. Unfortunately we couldn't fit in dessert but the lotus tea was very enjoyable. The staff were very friendly, helpful and proficient in learning their skills while their teacher watched their work. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cookie1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must visit for lunch or diner. Love this place and concept of training disadvantaged youth.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Small quaint restaurant. Food is good. I had purple sweet potato soup, lemongrass squid, grilled eggplant, long an homemade ice cream and jasmine tea.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toni B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huong Lai also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Huong Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing