We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Huong Lai

Huong Lai
Ranked #20 of 3,139 Restaurants in Ho Chi Minh City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful haven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This restaurant is excellent with friendly staff and good food. It was lovely cool and quiet and we went after reading the Lonely Planet and recommend it highly.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    442
    251
    68
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Good service but the food is tasteless.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

They got good service here. But the food was very tasteless. If you like food with lots flavor then this aint the place to visit. The price was very high. For the same amount we paid you could get 2 dinners at other places.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TPaul86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I discovered this place from the Lonely Planet and we are so glad we did! The service here was AMAZING!!! Nothing was too much bother and everything was done with a big smile on their face. For the first time in Vietnam I tried vietnamese coffee and the waistress kindly explained to me how to go about drinking it. I have never seen a waitress smile so much in my life.

The food was yum and although the portions were small it was enough for my hubby and I to leave comfortablly full.

The added bonus of this place is that thr money goes towards a worthwhile cause.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahandMarkW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostschweiz
Level Contributor
85 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Outstanding food for a good cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

As previously noted this restaurant is staffed almost entirely by orphans whom the owner mentors for a career in the food and beverage industry. The service is great and the food is outstanding. Ho Chi Minh is a city that has almost universally good food so the fact that this restaurant appears near the top of the list is really a testament to what they've accomplished. You can't go wrong with anything in the menu!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank R993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worthy concept”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This restaurant helps orphans and street children by training them in the restaurant business so that they can go on to gain employment elsewhere and so care for themselves. Good food, reasonable prices and pleasant surroundings

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank grannybananas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Huong Lai also viewed

Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
 

Been to Huong Lai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing